• Breaking News-Dice Masters 1st player rules change!


    Wiz kids has announced a new rule for answering the first turn advantage concerns. Draw 4, roll 3 dice. Read more about it here:

    http://wizkids.com/2016/11/07/dice-m...-announcement/
    Comments 16 Comments
    1. Lordfajubi's Avatar
      Lordfajubi -
      Love this idea, can't wait to see it work. It's good to adjust strats, keeps you on your toes and not relying on net combos.
    1. jevansfp's Avatar
      jevansfp -
      The rule is solid. We have played around with it for a few events at our store and I think it evens things out. I am very disappointed in WizKids about the timing. One round of WKOs has already fired off last weekend under the old rules and the new rules start this weekend with less than a week to playtest and prep for the next round.
    1. TheConductr's Avatar
      TheConductr -
      I understand the concerns, as I'm sure everyone does. I think that the benefit to the greater good in terms of a more interactive and fair game outweighs the cons of the timing. Would last week have been better - of course. And I'm not just saying this since my local WKO was yesterday. I'd feel the same way if mine was this week (and I am attending another one in two weeks). We've all waned this change, and now we have it! Woohoo! Lets push forward and keep growing!
    1. Z_Wangchang's Avatar
      Z_Wangchang -
      I love this change! Thanks Wizkids!
    1. The0retico's Avatar
      The0retico -
      Great to have at least some change. Timing is awkward. Sad that it hurts common T1 opening of Thief + PXG the least.
    1. Stormyknight's Avatar
      Stormyknight -
      So excited about this, this will change so many things for the better. First turn advantage will not longer be a thing for every team unless their first turn buys only take 3 or less energy.
    1. BenSaidScott's Avatar
      BenSaidScott -
      Good change. Stops turn two oracle dead in the water which is fabulous news. But why have they done it in the middle of WKOs. Surely this could of happened in a couple of weeks time?
    1. Yort's Avatar
      Yort -
      I'm not in an official tournament (although we are running a "faux" one this weekend), but keep this in mind if you don't have time to playtest the new rules with your WKO team: according to the statistics, the person going first still has a slight advantage at 59%. However, if you're not comfortable with your team going first under the new rules with only 3 dice, then it may be better to go SECOND and stick to your plan.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      Quote Originally Posted by Yort View Post
      I'm not in an official tournament (although we are running a "faux" one this weekend), but keep this in mind if you don't have time to playtest the new rules with your WKO team: according to the statistics, the person going first still has a slight advantage at 59%. However, if you're not comfortable with your team going first under the new rules with only 3 dice, then it may be better to go SECOND and stick to your plan.
      Yeah, makes the decision to go first for "statistical advantage" or second for "comfortable advantage" an interesting choice.
    1. Basementcuts's Avatar
      Basementcuts -
      Excited about the first turn rule change and looking for a place where you can unload that excitement on 30+ opponents? Pre-register now for WKO Detroit!

      http://www.eternalgamesllc.com/wizki...fall-2016.html
    1. Jwannabe's Avatar
      Jwannabe -
      Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
      Yeah, makes the decision to go first for "statistical advantage" or second for "comfortable advantage" an interesting choice.

      This true. Some teams definitely need 3 energy on turn 1. It would be safer to go 2nd and not stress over a sidekick.
    1. IsaacBV's Avatar
      IsaacBV -
      I love @Basementcuts adding in his PSA ����
    1. Basementcuts's Avatar
      Basementcuts -
      Gotta get the word out.
    1. Carnage67's Avatar
      Carnage67 -
      Just so I understand this correctly if you go first the extra dice will go into your used pile at the start of the second turn?
    1. Lordfajubi's Avatar
      Lordfajubi -
      Quote Originally Posted by Carnage67 View Post
      Just so I understand this correctly if you go first the extra dice will go into your used pile at the start of the second turn?
      I believe at end of turn it should be in used, so beginning of opponents turn. It's just like getting 4 dice turn 1 but you don't get to spend 1 of them.
    1. Carnage67's Avatar
      Carnage67 -
      Ok thanks!