• FAQ Talk: The Print Edition


    EDIT: It seems that WizKids is retracting a LOT of the recent rulings that went out. So take any of this with a grain of salt. It seems that nothing will be official until the 2.0 version of the FAQ comes out. That said, we'll leave this post up for posterity - and then perhaps we can compare notes once the true rulings have been revealed!

    Usually we save FAQTalk for the audio podcast. Strangely, as you'll find on Thursday, we didn't include one this week - and it turns out that was a good idea, because we have new information!

    WizKids has loosened their lips and clued us in on a few different contentious issues.

    The have also revealed an email -dicemastersrules@necaonline.com - that you can use to contact them with questions. They say that this is going to be THE official source moving forward for items that have not yet made it to the FAQ.

    Let's take a look at what we know now:


    <h3>ALL combat damage is simultaneous, whether it is hitting a character or player</h3>

    This one exploded on multiple threads over on Board Game Geek. The crux of the argument dealt with the fact that WizKids seemed to indicate in the rules that damage to players happened last. The other side pointed out that the paragraph starts with "all damage is simultaneous" and then went on to describe all of the cases that they thought to be relevant within that.


    WizKids has confirmed that it all does happen at the same time:
    "All damage assigned during the Assign Damage portion of the Attack Step is assigned simultaneously, whether it is assigned to a character or a player."
    To me, this makes sense. If I'm adding four ingredients to a mixing bowl and then beating them, it doesn't matter which order I put them in, it just matters that they're all there. Still, the recipe is going to list them in steps because it's a limitation of that medium.


    <h3>Resolving Invulnerability does not constitute fielding</h3>

    There was a longish thread about this one too, where some players argued that since KO'd dice go to the prep area, resolving invulnerability means that they're fielded anew. WizKids responds:


    "Characters returned via the Invulnerability basic action are not fielded. "When fielded", as described in the rulebook's lexicon, takes place when you pay a character's fielding cost"
    This also would likely indicate that Rally will not trigger any "when you field a character" abilities, since even the special cases noted in the FAQ still resolve moving the die from the reserve pool.

    I think this one is sensible as well. Invulnerability never lets dice move out of the field and, as I indicated in a previous post, simply replaces "KO'd dice move to prep" with "KO'd dice return to the field."


    <h3>Mr. Fantastic's common gets KO'd </h3>

    On the one hand, this saves his rare from irrelevancy, but also means that I don't see any reason for bringing the common beyond the global ability. This one was posted on another fan site, DiceMastersRules.com.


    "Correct. Mr Fantastic Brilliant Scientist would lose his bonuses as soon as he is returned to the field and be KO’ed."
    Though I've lobbied for the other interpretation, I do understand the logic. What I don't get is the point of the card.


    <h3>When To Stack</h3>

    This came up in a small way when I did the Nick Fury preview. I initially thought that his WW2 Veteran iteration could give a stacking bonus. Then I didn't, and others agreed, and I corrected the post. However, WizKids has spoken!


    "If there is a limit to stacking, it will be pointed out on the card. If the card doesn't specifically state a limit, there isn't one. For example, three Nick Furys would provide +3/+3 to all other Avengers."
    This makes me want to play around with that one - I usually use "Mr. Anger" on Avengers teams, but I'll have to give WWII Veteran a go now.


    * * *


    These are just a few responses that are out there, and we're awaiting a few of our own. Have you heard from this WizKids account? Let us know in the comments!
    This article was originally published in blog: FAQ Talk: The Print Edition started by Dave