• Opinion: What do YOU think?




    Astute reader Andrew sparked a conversation with an email that he sent, and the three of us couldn't come to a consensus. This issue is not explicitly stated in the rule book or the FAQ so far as we can tell, so let us know in the comments what you think the correct solution is here. Let's have some fun.


    The issue is this: Say you use the Silver Surfer global to pull a die. Your bag is empty, so you refill it with the dice in used.

    Is the shield that you use to pay for Silver Surfer's global among the dice that are placed back in your bag?


    On the one hand...

    In at least one part in the rules, the rules state that when paying for something, you move the die to the used pile and then you activate whatever that something happens to be.

    This is pretty straightforward.


    On the other hand...

    Characters with "when fielded" abilities that target dice can't target dice that paid for them. This is at the bottom of page seven.

    Further, because you resolve basic actions before moving that die into the used pile (found on mid-seven), then odd things like Gearing Up drawing itself from the bag can't happen.

    So why would this be different for actions?


    What do you think?

    I had been playing the latter way - the way that the die is essentially in "limbo" until the ability is resolved, much like the actions are.

    Others are definitely playing the other way.

    Which do you think is correct, and why? Tell us in the comments!
    This article was originally published in blog: Opinion: What do YOU think? started by Dave