• BFF Globals Review

    Our next stop while revisiting every global in Dice Masters is D&D Battle for Fearun. This set was so good, and I hear it continually getting praised as “the best stand-alone set.” I agree. There were so many great abilities and mechanics introduced in this set. The globals were good, but very few of them were ground-breaking. Many of them were simply old globals with a twist. Let’s get started.

    Beholder. All of his versions have this global. And up until a few weeks ago, it wasn’t that great, because you were essentially sending an die you got on an action face two turns in to the future to be rerolled and potentially come up energy. However, behold(er), there was a “blink and you missed it” update to the rules. Here’s how it now works. I used the Beholder’s global, to move an action die to my Prep Area. Remember, it said that we won’t roll it. But we’ll do everything else with it. The rulebook says: “Draw four dice from your bag. (…rule about refilling your bag to finish your draw step if you run out of dice…) Place all dice drawn into your Prep Area.” That’s important. Let’s continue. “Roll the dice you drew from the bag as well as all of the dice that were already in your Prep Area (that were placed there in an earlier turn).” Ok, that sounds good; roll everything except for the action die we moved with the Beholder ability. What’s next? “After you have rolled your dice, you may choose to reroll any or all of them. When rerolling, you select all of the dice to reroll at once, and you reroll them as a group. You do not get a second reroll opportunity even with dice that you did not choose for your first reroll.” All of that sounds the same. But check this part out: “Once you have rolled (and possibly re-rolled),place all of your dice from the Prep Area to your Reserve Pool, keeping the same face up.” There’s the change. All previous rulebooks read: “ Once you’ve rolled (and possibly rerolled) all of your dice, place all of the dice you rolled into your Reserve Pool, keeping the same face up.” So when you draw four dice at the start of your turn, those dice go to the Prep Area. Then at the end of Roll and Reroll step, you move everything in your Prep Area to the Reserve Pool. So you would move the action die you placed there earlier, even though you didn’t roll it. Because you then move “all dice” instead of “the dice you rolled”. Suddenly, this global isn’t so bad.

    Human Paladin. I love this global, because I don’t use Gobby. This is a real solid global, on an already decent character (common, Lesser Emerald Enclave). It can work well against some dragons with a strong Breath Weapon. It can work against Black Manta centric Retaliation teams. Even though this is global is a great preventative measure against a couple of different strategies, it doesn’t help you win. It’s totally defensive. It only helps you “not lose”. So to take up a character spot on a global to help you “not lose” that isn’t going to be useful 100% of the time, may be asking a lot. Regardless, I still like this global. The more direct damage abilities we get from characters, the more useful this will be moving forward.

    Carrion Crawler. I have no idea when you would want this global. Seriously. Rare Slifer the Sky Dragon that we discussed last time can do one damage to any character. Not just sidekick exclusive. I’m trying to think of a scenario where you would want to damage Sidekicks, but not other characters, on command. It could work well with the Casualties basic action card from DC Justice League, but then you’re paying two energy, to KO a Sidekick and gain a single point of life. That seems expensive.

    Red Dragon. If I’m ranking my favorite globals, this one is in my Top 5. It effectively makes whatever action you’re purchasing cost one less, and deals one damage to your opponent. I instantly put this on any team that has me wanting to buy an action as part of the win condition. The only downside is that you can only use it once per turn, unlike the Thousand Dragon global we talked about last time. For a time, I was combo-ing this up with Human Torch’s global, from way back in AvX. That allowed me to deal one damage to my opponent with Red Dragon’s global, and add another point of damage to it using Torch’s global. I was paying pull price for my actions, but while taking away 1/10 of my opponen’t health. It’s not perfect by any means, but it’s a solid way to get ahead early while buying some actions you’ll need.

    Treant. This guy’s alright, I suppose. If you’re using a team that is loaded with energy, and you plan on doing all of the damage to your opponent through combat, then this is actually a pretty good choice. It’s a 2:1 trade off, preventing damage for energy. It’s economical. This can help against Gobby, Retaliation, any action dice, and many other things. I think he’s getting better as he ages. More and more people will be including him in the future. Less exciting use for this ability: use it when you field Zombie Electro and not take any damage.

    Tarrasque. Do you remember when I said YGO’s rare Summoned Skull was the most criminally underused global in the game? Sending your opponent’s characters to the Prep Area is a struggle every player faces. “Is it work taking this four damage to send their character to the Used Pile? Or should I block and knock it out, just so they can roll it next turn?” This global changes the key fundamental choice in to a win-win situation. KO their character AND send it to the used pile. Combine it with the rare Toad, Mortimer Toynbee to force an attack without using a global, and this could be a real good combo.

    Cone of Cold. Say hello to Overcrush’s best friend. If this and Hulk Out are your two basic actions, you can turn any character in to an Overcrushing force to be reckoned with. You can also you it to ensure that key KO during combat. The easiest way to ensure s is to use uncommon Kobolds with Swarm. You’ll have more fist energy than you know what to do with most turns. You can play Hulk Out on anything, even one of those Kobolds. Three energy later, that Kobold is Overcrushing with 7A. Not bad.

    Magic Missile. Copied from YGO’s rare Slifer the Sky Dragon: "Say hello to the first rare single I purchased online. I was using Hulk Green Goliath on a regular basis at my local event scene, and this global is just what I needed. This global is great for KOing would-be blocking sidekicks, and triggering the AvX Hulk’s abilities. When combined with Iceman TCFW, this global can wipe out some of the most stout characters. The one thing to keep in mind with this global, is to always keep in mind when you can play globals. If your opponent attacks, and you declare blockers, then you have the opportunity to deal a few points of damage that could ensure the KOs you want." All of this remains true, but now this global is available on a basic action, freeing up a character spot.

    Polymorph. This global can come in very handy. There’s so many characters that work differently on level 3, or need to be on a burst face, or that you just want on a higher level for the stats. The rare Colossus and rare Doomcaliber Knight come to mind. If you have a character that automatically spins up, like Sabretooth or Troll, combined with this global, you will always have a resource to spin other characters up. I’ve even seen it used defensively. The text states that you must spin your own character down, but any character up. I’ve seen players spin up opposing Hulk Green Goliath up, so it was no longer on a burst face. Very sneaky. Very effective.

    Resurrection. Whenever I do a rainbow draft, or am making a brand new team for the first time, and have any doubts about what basic actions to take, I use this. This is the most useful global on a regular basis for me. I love the automatic bag refill when your bag is empty and you use it. At U.S. Nationals earlier this year, this guy was my bread and butter. On either turn two or three, after some aggressive PXG use, I could buy Hulk Green Goliath, use Resurrection, refill my bag with everything in my used pile, which was usually just the Hulk because everything else was still out of play. Then I’d draw a die and place it in my Prep Area for next turn… surprise! It’s Hulk! Most teams can use this global pretty well. I like to put it on just about any team. Remember, this is just like our old friend, Silver Surfer. Except this time we don't have to take damage.

    Next time around, we'll be looking at something more recent: DC Justice League. Until then, leave comments below on what you think. Please let me know is these segments are helpful, and what global you might be looking at differently. And as always, roll on.
    Comments 37 Comments
    1. Scorpion0x17's Avatar
      Scorpion0x17 -
      Regarding Beholder Global...

      The ruling on the rules forum is;

      "The die waits a turn in the Prep Area, unrolled. If you moved a die to the Prep Area with this effect on turn 4, it would get rolled on turn 6."

      Source: http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...t=4814&p=11572
    1. LuigiX's Avatar
      LuigiX -
      this ruling was from Oct '14; I'd be very interested to see what they say now with the change to the rules described above...
    1. Doctor Oetker's Avatar
      Doctor Oetker -
      The Beholder global ruling will be interesting. I can see how this new interpretation is what WK intended, since putting an action die into Prep to be used two turns later is awkward as heck. It always seemed like a very weird mechanic with the current ruling. I guess we'll have to wait and see what WK says on this new interpretation.
    1. Randy's Avatar
      Randy -
      Quote Originally Posted by Scorpion0x17 View Post
      Regarding Beholder Global...

      The ruling on the rules forum is;

      "The die waits a turn in the Prep Area, unrolled. If you moved a die to the Prep Area with this effect on turn 4, it would get rolled on turn 6."

      Source: http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...t=4814&p=11572
      So, I'm not sure what you're saying. Are you saying that you would ignore the new rulebook and continue to use the forum ruling based on an outdated rulebook? Or were you simply posting the forum link to show the change in views over the past few months?
    1. Dave's Avatar
      Dave -
      The argument I see though is that since card supersedes rules, Beholder global would work differently.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      The card hasn't changed, and the way you play the card hasn't changed. But, the way the rulebook changed has changed the result of doing what the card says to do.

      It is the rules forum interpretation that has changed, not the way to actually use the card.

      To walk it through, step by step, the card says pay 1 generic to move an action face to your prep area. Next it says don't roll it next turn. Previously, the rulebook stated that if you don't roll a die you don't move it from prep. Now, the rules say to move the die from prep to the Reserve Pool, without changing their face.

      You still do 100% of what the beholder card tells you to do, it is simply that the rulebook has changed the outcome of what those steps results in.
    1. geneinkc's Avatar
      geneinkc -
      Quote Originally Posted by Randy View Post
      So, I'm not sure what you're saying. Are you saying that you would ignore the new rulebook and continue to use the forum ruling based on an outdated rulebook? Or were you simply posting the forum link to show the change in views over the past few months?
      What good is the rules forum, if we are not to take their rulings seriously?

      They stated, plain as day, how the prepped die is to be treated. Until they rule on it again, this should be all you need.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      The rules forum is not meant to be more important than the rule book. It is meant to answer or clarify questions the players have. As with all resources and reference material, one MUST take the most recent copy of any rule as the most relevant. When that rules forum ruling was made they ruled correctly, as they are simply interpreting card and rulebook interactions. However, when the rulebook is changed, those interactions change.

      The big question here really boils down, which writen text is more important? The rulebook or the forum. This is like saying, which writen text is more important, state law, or case law developed from state law?

      State law can change, and when it does, this can invalidate case law entirely. We as a community need to remember that things can change, and even if a rules forum interpretation is correct at the time, it is possible that some day the rules can change in such a way that the ruling is no longer correct.

      I would also like to point out, the rule book likely changed for a reason. The only card apparently affected by the change is the beholder. A majority of us dislike the ruling from the forums as it makes the global useless. In fact, after having takes to Mike Elliott about this specific topic, he informed me that the intent of the global was to work, not as the rules forum had ruled, but as the rules now indicate the global to work. Perhaps, the rule book is finally catching up with intent, now with the beholder changes and the out of play zone being deliniated.
    1. Ressless's Avatar
      Ressless -
      I think beholder is good, when you dont need the action face, but later and you have an extra energy you couldnt use otherwise.

      But still Lex Luthor: Former President is still better for this job!
    1. Dave's Avatar
      Dave -
      I see it now and agree that the change in the rulebook would make it work differently.
    1. Scorpion0x17's Avatar
      Scorpion0x17 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Randy View Post
      So, I'm not sure what you're saying. Are you saying that you would ignore the new rulebook and continue to use the forum ruling based on an outdated rulebook? Or were you simply posting the forum link to show the change in views over the past few months?
      I am saying that the ruling describes the intended use of Beholder Global.

      This change in the wording of the roll and reroll step doesn't alter that.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      To be honest, that ruling isn't very clear anyway. Am I turn 4, my opponent turn 5 and my turn is 6? The only precedence we have for counting turns is the tie rules, and the 5 turn rule that passes turn numbers back and forth.

      Your interpretation of what the intent is, is thus just as accurate as the interpretation that a player pays 1, doesn't roll on the opponents turn, and then rolls on their next turn.

      Also, the rules forum can declare intent, but if the rules change, shouldn't the ACTUAL rules take precedent over previous intent?
    1. Scorpion0x17's Avatar
      Scorpion0x17 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
      To be honest, that ruling isn't very clear anyway. Am I turn 4, my opponent turn 5 and my turn is 6? The only precedence we have for counting turns is the tie rules, and the 5 turn rule that passes turn numbers back and forth.
      Hmm. Now that is a good point. And I now am not sure what the intended interpretation of the ruling should be.

      Ok, put me firmly in the 'Randy could well be right about this, but we need confirmation and clarification from WizKids to be sure' camp now.
    1. Doctor Oetker's Avatar
      Doctor Oetker -
      If the new interpretation of Beholder is true, so many actions become so much more valuable. Imagine being able to hold a defensive Polymorph for the turn you actually need it, or holding Charm until the turn to take full advantage of what you draw out of your bag. Wow.
    1. Ressless's Avatar
      Ressless -
      I will rule it like the text says on the card, and if something want to argue about it, he must show me a Thread on WKRuleForum and a good explenation for it.

      The Card says, dont roll it next turn, thats all. And the rulebook rules say, add all dice from prep area to your 4 dice from the bad and roll that. So Beholder global just gives this action die the chance not to be rolled and staying as an action face.
    1. Indy Mon's Avatar
      Indy Mon -
      I'm not going to engage in a huge debate here but want to highlight three points:

      (1) The only rule change since the game's inception has been the transition zone. That was done with an announcement. I find it difficult to believe that WizKids would have changed the game rules sub silento here or elsewhere.
      (2) The ruling on the forum plainly does not refer to the hypothetical turn five being your opponents turn. You would not roll your prep area dice on your opponents turn so there is no reason to repeat that fact in a card or in a ruling. The ruling then goes on to say that you will actually roll the relevant die in a later turn.
      (3) The changed language in the rule book could also be an attempt to provide clearer wording about what was already understood to be the case. Personally, that is what I thought when I saw it but I can understand why people might think differently.

      tl;dr WizKids can always change its rulings if it wants to, but disregard the rulings in the forum at your own risk. FWIW, I'm sticking with the original ruling unless and until I hear otherwise. If you plan on this being an issue, ask your TO before your event begins

      EDIT: you can put me in the camp of people who didn't like that ruling by the way; I'd personally love to see the ruling changed. But the ruling is what the ruling is.
    1. alleyviper's Avatar
      alleyviper -
      Gonna have to agree with Indy on the key points here regarding how Beholder works. As to (1), WK have put in several tweaks to the rulebook over time without actually making any point of it, and even if they aren't necessarily world shattering, they're there.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      To address your points sir:
      1) there have been several more minor changes to the rules, including the addition of the caveat about ties, this specific change and of course the out of play zone. There have been other more subtle changes to the rules as well, but most of them have had zero impact other than to incorporate rules forum rulings into unclear portions of the text.
      2) The new rules changed the line that said dice must be rolled to move to the Reserve Pool. The card itself doesn't infact say that the dice must be rolled, only a ruling that was made before the rules were changed. Most current rules should always be taken as more relevant than older rulings.
      3) What portion of the previous rules were unclear? The only portion of the rules that changed was move all rolled dice versus move all dice in the Prep.

      If we ignored the old ruling, the new wording clearly states two effects, moving the die to the prep area and not rolling it next turn. We clearly see how moving the die resolves, in both rulings. However, the aspect of what happens to the die now that even unrolled dice in the Prep area are moved to the Reserve Pool on the next turn is made unclear, only because of the old ruling. If we follow the text of the card, and the text of the new rules, the result is easy to follow. The only change to the standard method of play is moving the die to the prep, and not rolling it next turn. The rules clearly state that we roll everything (global superceded this as a card effect) and then move all dice in the Prep area to the Reserve, keeping the faces as they are.

      Following along these lines, it is the OLD rules that confused the situation, and the old ruling follows those rules to the letter. However, as the rules have changed, the outcome of the ruling has necessitated a second look. While I am positive that this is the new interpretation, and even the original intent of the global, I definitely do not begrudge your skepticism. We will all have to wait and see if they correct their old ruling to match the new rules language. However, I return to my example of State law versus case law. Rules as written, the beholder global now allows you to save an action die. The rules forum interpretation is no longer a valid ruling due to the change in text. When the laws change, some legal precedents are made invalid. We see it frequently on the national level with things like campaign funds, gay marriage and even the Confederate flag rulings. What we have to remember is that the rule book is the source of our rules, the forums are simply a guide to help us interperate that text. When the text changes, interpretations must be reexamined. Sure we could wait for a new court case before being forced to obey a new or changed law, but it is best to examine each case, independent of any previous rulings, and decide for ourselves what the laws mean.

      I'm rambling, so going to cut myself off, but first I will say, I enjoy being a member of a site that can have such a healthy and friendly debate. Know that no one here is trying to say anyone is wrong, only that we beleive and will act according to our beliefs, that the rules read and are interpreted in a particular way.
    1. crambaza's Avatar
      crambaza -
      Reading the Beholder ruling as: Turn 4 (your turn), Turn 5 (opponent's turn), Turn 6 (Your turn) is just wrong. Trying to force that interpretation throws out a lot of information, like: "The die waits a turn in the Prep Area". Are people seriously saying that this line just means the die waits "your opponent's turn" in the Prep Area? If so, why say it. EVERY die will wait a turn in the prep area. It is clear that when they talk about turns, they are talking about YOUR turns, if you read the entire post.

      Having said all that, I was probably the hugest proponent of the global working like this article says it does. But then the beholder ruling happened. As it stands, that's the way to play the ability. It's right there, plain as day.

      This reminds me of something that James Cameron said at the end of a Mythbusters episode. *SPOILERS* At the end of Titanic, Jack says he can't fit on the wood with Rose, and he eventually drowns. Many people, Mythbusters included, have proved that Jack could have survived, as there was enough material to keep him and Rose afloat. To this, James Cameron has replied, "I think you guys are missing the point here. The script says Jack dies, so he has to die. So, maybe we screwed up and the board should have been a little bit smaller, but the dude's going down."

      The official forums have already given us the "script" on how to use this global. Until they delete it, or update it, that's just the way the ability works.
    1. Dave's Avatar
      Dave -
      In this case that script may have been based on what the rule previously stated about only dice that were rolled moving to the reserve pool.