• TRP Podcast 62: Gen Con 2015

    It's the triumphant return of the Evan himself, back from vacation and the "Best Four Days in Gaming"! This week, we share the entries for the Haiku Contest winners and runners-up. Then, we examine the whole experience of GenCon, but especially the Dice Masters parts of it. Evan got a healthy dose of Age of Ultron draft, so we're pretty excited to share that with you.

    Elsewhere in the show, Randy examines She-Hulk and Isaac gives another look at the Dice Market.

    Want to correspond? Email Mailbag@TheReservePool.com, follow us on Twitter @TheReservePool, and check out the blogs and forums at www.thereservepool.com.

    iTunes | RSS Feed
    Comments 18 Comments
    1. RJRETRO's Avatar
      RJRETRO -
      Can we do a haiku contest all the time? That was awesome.

      Congrats to all the winners! And welcome back, @Evan!
    1. Ressless's Avatar
      Ressless -
      Ok i was reading the Wiki article about Haiku... really interesting, but still i only understand 50% of it.

      So is this a haiku?

      Oh Solomon Grundy,
      rise and shine!
      The Death awaits you.

      ?

      And this not:

      Oh Solomon Grundy,
      don't be so grumpy!
      Even a buried joke is a joke!
    1. RJRETRO's Avatar
      RJRETRO -
      5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables, @Ressless .

      Solomon Grundy
      Rise and shine -- and down you go.
      Enemy threat gone.
    1. Flexei's Avatar
      Flexei -
      The Loki's Scepter Rare & Baron Zemo Rare interaction you were talking about from the draft. Wouldn't you be "using" the Scepter action when you place it in the field and not when you move it to the Used Pile to KO an enemy? Zemo wouldn't be applicable to action die, right? Like, you'd have to pay the Jinzo tax when put it in the field, not when its activated and moved to the used pile, right?

      Kinda of like Millenium Puzzle vs Jinzo... you pay the life when you put the Millenium Puzzle in the field, not when you sacrifice it, right?
    1. Meatman's Avatar
      Meatman -
      Wooo-Hooo!
    1. Indy Mon's Avatar
      Indy Mon -
      I haven't listened to the podcast yet but @Flexei has correctly stated the rule re when you "use" an action.
    1. Indy Mon's Avatar
      Indy Mon -
      Ok. I listentened. @TRPEvan and @TheDoubleBursts were playing the combo wrong. You basically can't use Zemo with Loki's Scepter. But I've been lucky enough to draft the rare Baron Zemo and he's pretty much the strongest draft card in the set so I am confident it wouldn't have stopped @TRPEvan from getting that one loss
    1. DavidH's Avatar
      DavidH -
      So when is TRP Con?
    1. TheDoubleBursts's Avatar
      TheDoubleBursts -
      Quote Originally Posted by Indy Mon View Post
      Ok. I listentened. @TRPEvan and @TheDoubleBursts were playing the combo wrong. You basically can't use Zemo with Loki's Scepter. But I've been lucky enough to draft the rare Baron Zemo and he's pretty much the strongest draft card in the set so I am confident it wouldn't have stopped @TRPEvan from getting that one loss
      @Indy Mon , the claims of cheating is far from appreciated.

      There were rulings issued for the length of the weekend as temporary rulings issued by Jimmy. These rulings were issued first thing on Thursday. (There was a player in attendance on day one with the combo in their team at the first constructed so we pulled Jimmy over immediately.)
    1. RJRETRO's Avatar
      RJRETRO -
      @TheDoubleBursts You may want to watch how you are coming across in these posts. Let's all be friends, yo.
    1. SethAtreides's Avatar
      SethAtreides -
      In mind of the haiku, a link to a Heroic team I made:

      http://dicemastersdb.com/team-builde...1458-3;1331-3;
    1. SethAtreides's Avatar
      SethAtreides -
      I was just about to comment on buying Pepper Potts when Evan mentioned it. So... you could buy Shield Agent. Also, Evan, you're not the only one who calls Giant-Man Ant-Man.
    1. Flexei's Avatar
      Flexei -
      Quote Originally Posted by TheDoubleBursts View Post
      @Indy Mon , the claims of cheating is far from appreciated.

      There were rulings issued for the length of the weekend as temporary rulings issued by Jimmy. These rulings were issued first thing on Thursday. (There was a player in attendance on day one with the combo in their team at the first constructed so we pulled Jimmy over immediately.)
      I don't see anyone anywhere claiming cheating. Simply based on previous rulings, the Baron Zemo + Loki's Scepter combo didn't sound like it should work, but it's easy to also see why it could. It was then assumed by me and Indy that it was just misplayed. God knows I've misplayed PLENTY of cards thinking there was a word in the text that isn't, or goofed up something stupid (like trying to use Resurrection on my opponent's turn for example). No need to get defensive.

      If that's how the tournament organizer/Jimmy ruled it at the time, then that's how it should have been played at the time. There ~were~ rulings somewhere for precedent set with Jinzo damage or SR Red Dragon's ability when used with Millennium Puzzle... though I'm not 100% sure where those rulings came from. Nothing officially in the RulesForum about it.
    1. Dave's Avatar
      Dave -
      @Flexei , one of those rulings came from a game that I played at Worlds; it was determined that Jinzo deals damage when Millennium Puzzle was placed in the field as that is when you "use" it.
    1. Jthomash2's Avatar
      Jthomash2 -
      *Obligatory owner pays life with Jinzo clarification.
    1. Indy Mon's Avatar
      Indy Mon -
      @Flexei @Dave : the "you use it when it leaves the reserve pool" ruling is on the forums at http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...Strange#p11550. I've trained myself to remember it as the "doctor strange" ruling because it comes up so often.
    1. Flexei's Avatar
      Flexei -
      Quote Originally Posted by Indy Mon View Post
      @Flexei @Dave : the "you use it when it leaves the reserve pool" ruling is on the forums at http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...Strange#p11550. I've trained myself to remember it as the "doctor strange" ruling because it comes up so often.
      Thanks Indy. I was searching for keywords with "Millennium Puzzle" and "Jinzo." One of these days I'll get better at searching the rules forum. .
    1. Indy Mon's Avatar
      Indy Mon -
      The loop had been closed on this.

      http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7426&sid=6cf7bbfb0597a0776f4c 3a141d84476a