• Presenting the Black Lanterns!

    Black Hand, enemy of the Green Lantern Corps, had visions.

    He saw a dead planet and a mysterious black power battery, much like the batteries that power the lanterns. He roamed through the desert, hearing the call of death instructing him to gather the souls of deceased heroes.

    Driven mad, he murdered those closest to him and then ended his own life. A fallen Guardian of Oa known as "Scar" comes onto the scene, sees the sacrifice of Black Hand, and deems it appropriate. She conjures the first Black Power Ring, which promptly chooses and reanimates Black Hand. He is now the embodiment of Death, just as Parallax is the embodiment of Fear and Ion the embodiment of Willpower.

    The Black Lantern Corps was born, and so began the Blackest Night. Black Hand, in concert with Scar and Nekron, begins reanimating dead heroes, who will now fight for the death of the entire universe.


    The Black Lanterns in Dice Masters

    DC and WizKids bring us four Black Lanterns for our playing delight. These cards represent four of the many deceased heroes that were resurrected to do Black Hand's bidding: Batman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, and Superman.

    Not only are these four of the most iconic heroes in the DC Universe, their reveal as Black Lanterns in the comics was very much anticipated.

    In all cases, these Black Lanterns knock out all other versions of the hero upon being fielded. Further, all of their abilities have to do with destroying other heroes in combination with the loss of life. This is thematically appropriate, as the Black Lanterns recharge their rings by consuming the living.

    We're talking all about these in Episode 65 of The Reserve Pool, but we'd like to take the opportunity to reveal the cards and abilities to you now - so that you can begin scheming the ways that your Black Lanterns will make things difficult for your opponent.


    Black Lantern Batman: Blackest Knight

    Batman provides a unique, nonstandard fielding cost - 0/1/3 - and some very powerful stats. This card (as well as another that we'll be revealing momentarily) also provides a first for this game: A global ability that has no cost, but rather requires players to attain a specific game state in order to trigger. With all of the ramp globals that we have available, it wouldn't be too hard to take advantage of this. People who enjoy using abilities that allow for rolling every die in their bag on turn three will delight in the extra energy that this card can provide.

    That, along with new actions like Big Entrance, will give combo players some fun new toys to play with.

    The ability is rather interesting too, and warrants finding a way to purchase and get him out quickly - a challenge to be sure, but if attained, it could pay dividends. We have plenty of ways to tax players, some in this set (such as the uncommon Lyssa Drax). If you want one way to drive your opponent mad, find a way to penalize them for doing all the things that they need to do to play the game.

    But be warned - in a theme that we'll see with every Black Lantern, this ability can just as easily sting you as well as your opponent.


    Black Lantern Superman: Krypton's Fall

    It is not the well-known Superman that appears as a Black Lantern, but rather the older Superman from Earth Two (who was instrumental in triggering the events of the Infinite Crisis). Superman continues the trend of Black Lanterns bringing us heavy-hitting stats and has a standard total fielding cost of six.

    He also provides the second instance of the no-cost global, in this case the exact same one that Black Lantern Batman brings to the table.

    The ability, which is just as dangerous to the controlling player as well as their opponent, forces players to lose life based upon the most powerful characters that they have in the field.

    As they sport the same global, these cards will undoubtedly be compared. It's up to one's playstyle as to which they prefer to use. Some players will simply want the global, in which case it doesn't matter. For my part, I feel that it's easier to take advantage of Superman's ability if level-spinning globals are included. Batman could too easily come out at a point when there aren't many purchases left to make and therefore not impact the game too much.


    Black Lantern Wonder Woman: Undead Warrior

    Players have been asking for Wonder Woman for stats that match her comic-book levels of power for some time. Their requests have been heard, it would seem, as the Black Lantern version tops out at a hefty 8/8. Wonder Woman gets a lot of love in this set, as we also have a non-Black Lantern Super Rare version of Diana Prince.

    We see Wonder Woman affiliated with two corps in this set. For those wondering how that can be possible, Wonder Woman was indeed converted to a Black Lantern, raised by Nekron in issue five of the event. Before everything ended, however, a Star Sapphire ring attached itself to Wonder Woman, resurrecting her and turning her into a member of the Star Sapphire Corps.

    Her ability forces fielded characters to the used pile with a penalty of losing life if they cannot.

    With new dice rolled every turn, it could be a difficult ability to actually take advantage of. That said, it also really screws with the board state, as the card doesn't specify which player the dice must belong to. IT certainly puts the game on a clock!

    Also note that it says that the die is moved, getting around some defensive abilities.


    Black Lantern Aquaman: From the Depths

    Aquaman died at the hands of Black Manta and was buried on land, in accordance with his wishes. A Black Lantern ring found him, commanded him to rise... and rise he did, wreaking havoc in the Blackest Night event.

    While Aquaman is just as expensive as his Black Lantern counterparts, his fielding cost is a consistent 1/1/1. His stats are slightly diminished as a result, but this is a fair trade-off.

    Only one other time have we seen an ability that could un-purchase a die. As in the case of Wonder Woman, this card doesn't specify which player's die will get returned, meaning that you can choose one of your opponent's! Of course, that also means that they can choose one of yours. There is not life loss penalty if a die cannot be returned. This only impacts dice in the used pile, so unless a player is using a trick like Polymorph or Villainous Pact to get a die out of used and into the bag immediately, that big bruiser that they just purchased could go right back to the card - wasting their turn.

    Used well, this could be incredibly fun and devastating, but expect it to take some mastery to determine how to best use it. The potential that it has to waste an opponent's entire turn makes this card dangerous.


    In Blackest Night...

    The Black Lanterns add an exciting new dimension to DC Dice Masters. Hear about more cards from the War of Light Dice Masters set on The Reserve Pool Podcast #65, and read about more right here!

    Roll on!
    Comments 44 Comments
    1. OddballNarwhal's Avatar
      OddballNarwhal -
      Wow. I mean... wow.
    1. fun4willis's Avatar
      fun4willis -
      These cards are so sweet looking!
    1. alleyviper's Avatar
      alleyviper -
      I'm not so sure about Aquaman and Wonder Woman having free reign to target any character, considering they reference "the Used Pile" and not "it's owners Used Pile" or "that player's Used Pile" the way something like Polymorph does.
    1. Necromanticer's Avatar
      Necromanticer -
      I love everything on display here:

      We now have access to 10 energy on turn two.
      Losing life circumvents counter burn making these characters legitimately useful. (Jinzo/Black Lantern Batman, anyone?)
      Absolutely fantastic stats.
      Silly and fun utility.
      Multiple ™'s.

      They've got it all! Black Lanterns for (un)life!
    1. OddballNarwhal's Avatar
      OddballNarwhal -
      So, since the names on the cards are Black Lantern X, does that mean we can have the regular AND Black Lantern versions on the same team? I realize that it would be wacky, but I know of at least two people who could build a team around that ability alone.
    1. KennedyHawk's Avatar
      KennedyHawk -
      Quote Originally Posted by OddballNarwhal View Post
      So, since the names on the cards are Black Lantern X, does that mean we can have the regular AND Black Lantern versions on the same team? I realize that it would be wacky, but I know of at least two people who could build a team around that ability alone.
      Seems like you could. It turns into free ramp as they get KO'd not moved to use. The Aquaman and WW ones seem to make a lot of sense there.
    1. Green Knight's Avatar
      Green Knight -
      Nice! Thank you for spoiling these cards for us, I've wanted to see these since I heard about them. I love that we have a BL for each energy type as well and cannot wait to get my hands on them.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      Quote Originally Posted by alleyviper View Post
      I'm not so sure about Aquaman and Wonder Woman having free reign to target any character, considering they reference "the Used Pile" and not "it's owners Used Pile" or "that player's Used Pile" the way something like Polymorph does.
      I'm not sure if you are agreeing that they can "target" a die in my opponents used, or disagreeing.
    1. OddballNarwhal's Avatar
      OddballNarwhal -
      I want to combo Batmobile with BL Batman in the worst way. I want a Zombie Batman to creep up in a fly hoopty (and cost 2 less to purchase). This is now item # 1 on my Dice Masters Bucket List.
    1. Indy Mon's Avatar
      Indy Mon -
      No need to pick between Batman and Superman. Use both and get twice the energy
    1. Jthomash2's Avatar
      Jthomash2 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Necromanticer View Post
      I love everything on display here:

      We now have access to 10 energy on turn two.
      Losing life circumvents counter burn making these characters legitimately useful. (Jinzo/Black Lantern Batman, anyone?)
      Absolutely fantastic stats.
      Silly and fun utility.
      Multiple 's.

      They've got it all! Black Lanterns for (un)life!
      11 I think. 13 if both players bring both.
    1. Necromanticer's Avatar
      Necromanticer -
      Quote Originally Posted by Jthomash2 View Post
      11 I think. 13 if both players bring both.
      It makes me sad to think we're 1 energy away from being able to purchase both of them on turn 2...
    1. pishposh's Avatar
      pishposh -
      "one of each energy type"

      Does this have to be the four energy types
      Can you use a in place

      War of Light Rule Book page 7
      There are four types of energy:
      Fist
      Bolt
      Mask
      Shield
      In addition, some other die faces provide energy:
      Wildcard (  ) may be used as any type of energy.
      Generic (  ) provides two energy, but of no particular type. Doubles some faces will provide two Fists, two Masks, etc. by
      showing two of that symbol.
    1. Indy Mon's Avatar
      Indy Mon -
      Wilds don't count. See ruling at bottom.

      http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...lit=Pyro#p6348
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      There are only 4 types of Energy.

      There are two other ways to get energy, Wilds and Generic.

      Wilds are ANY type and Generic is NO type, but there are still only 4 types.
    1. Necromanticer's Avatar
      Necromanticer -
      Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
      There are only 4 types of Energy.

      There are two other ways to get energy, Wilds and Generic.

      Wilds are ANY type and Generic is NO type, but there are still only 4 types.
      Just a nitpick, Wilds are not "ANY type", they can be used to pay for costs instead of any type of energy. They ARE Wilds and that's why they don't count towards the types of energy for the purposes of this effect or the other energy requisite effects in WoL.
    1. KennedyHawk's Avatar
      KennedyHawk -
      Quote Originally Posted by Necromanticer View Post
      I love everything on display here:

      We now have access to 10 energy on turn two.
      Losing life circumvents counter burn making these characters legitimately useful. (Jinzo/Black Lantern Batman, anyone?)
      Absolutely fantastic stats.
      Silly and fun utility.
      Multiple 's.

      They've got it all! Black Lanterns for (un)life!
      How does one get ten energy on turn 2.

      I feel like I'm missing something.

      a) Prep 1 with Villainous pact.
      b) Spend 2 on something
      c) PXG those 2 sidekicks to prep
      d) Draw 4 dice (3 sidekicks and oh there it is a 50/50 shot at a side kick and new dice 2 cost die you purchased).
      e) Roll 7 dice, get 6 energy on all the side kicks and 2 energy on the 2 cost character dice you purchased.
      f) Have 1 of each type tog et 2 energy from BLSupes and BLBats

      Figured it out as I typed it out
    1. Necromanticer's Avatar
      Necromanticer -
      Quote Originally Posted by KennedyHawk View Post
      How does one get ten energy on turn 2.

      I feel like I'm missing something.

      a) Prep 1 with Villainous pact.
      b) Spend 2 on something
      c) PXG those 2 sidekicks to prep
      d) Draw 4 dice (3 sidekicks and oh there it is a 50/50 shot at a side kick and new dice 2 cost die you purchased).
      e) Roll 7 dice, get 6 energy on all the side kicks and 2 energy on the 2 cost character dice you purchased.
      f) Have 1 of each type tog et 2 energy from BLSupes and BLBats

      Figured it out as I typed it out
      I was only using one of their globals so that we still have slots left over for useful characters. If you use both, you can hit 11 on your own and as @Jthomash2 Pointed out, you can hit 13 if both you and your opponent bring them.

      Prep 2 dice with a combination of Villainous Pact, Resurrection, and Silver Surfer.
      Use PXG twice, leaving 1 die in used and 2 dice in your bag.
      Turn 2 you draw 3 dice, lose 1 life and gain 1 generic energy since you couldn't draw 4, and add the 5 prepped dice to your roll.
      If they all come up different energy, you now have 9 energy and can use the Black Lantern globals.
      Using two of your own, you rack up 11 energy on turn two as the new maximum that you can bring to the table.
    1. Green Knight's Avatar
      Green Knight -
      Or this to get the 13 energy on turn two:

      a) Prep 1 with Resurrection/Villainous pact/Silver Surfer
      b) Spend 2 on two Kobolds/Morphing Jars
      c) PXG those 2 sidekicks to prep
      d) Draw 4 dice (2 sidekicks 2 Kobolds/Morphing Jars you purchased).
      e) Roll 7 dice; get 5 energy (four different kinds) on all the sidekicks and 2 energy on each of the Kobolds/Morphing Jars dice you purchased.
      f) Have 1 of each type to get 2 energy from your BLSupes and BLBats
      g) Have 1 of each type to get 2 energy from your opponents BLSupes and BLBats
    1. Jthomash2's Avatar
      Jthomash2 -
      Quote Originally Posted by Green Knight View Post
      Or this to get the 13 energy on turn two:

      a) Prep 1 with Resurrection/Villainous pact/Silver Surfer
      b) Spend 2 on two Kobolds/Morphing Jars
      c) PXG those 2 sidekicks to prep
      d) Draw 4 dice (2 sidekicks 2 Kobolds/Morphing Jars you purchased).
      e) Roll 7 dice; get 5 energy (four different kinds) on all the sidekicks and 2 energy on each of the Kobolds/Morphing Jars dice you purchased.
      f) Have 1 of each type to get 2 energy from your BLSupes and BLBats
      g) Have 1 of each type to get 2 energy from your opponents BLSupes and BLBats
      If you only prep one die from the bag, you have a 50% chance to draw one kobold or morphing jar and a zero % chance to draw both. Right?