• TRP Podcast 65: War of Light Favorites

    We're thoroughly excited for the War of Light set! And we're even more thoroughly excited to bring you information about a host of cards, including all eight super rares! You can read all about the Black Lanterns here

    RJ moderates a discussion with Dave, Pat, and JT about the super rare cards - what's good? What's bad? And in what order do we rank them?

    Next, JT bows out and the remaining trio talk about The Reserve Pool's top ten cards that you'll find in the War of Light booster packs. We all rated these and you'll get our aggregate top ten and a few honorable mentions!

    Check out the podcast post on TheReservePool.com to share thoughts and to see images of all the cards that we're spoiling! And, as always, share your thoughts in the comments, on the forums, on twitter @TheReservePool and mailbag@thereservepool.com

    iTunes | RSS Feed

    Here are the cards that we discuss in part two of this episode. Thanks to WizKids for the previews!


    Comments 32 Comments
    1. Nazulleptra's Avatar
      Nazulleptra -
      On Wonder Woman, the shields aren't wasted if they redirect anything. Even if they don't move, they were used for the effect. If it helps, think of using them to redirect combat damage as using a global to redirect it. That said, I'm not sure how I feel about the card. No, it doesn't help you actively win, but every collectible game's had good cards that do nothing to actively help you win. The question is efficiency, and I'm really not sure if a 5 purchase cost that redirects 1 from each source for a shield is enough to justify using the card.
    1. Ressless's Avatar
      Ressless -
      This Fatality is with Iceman Too Cool for Words, a mini Gobby for 1 Bolt energy. I see her also as another way to deal early damage as Cheetah and Gobby. Sure the SRs are still better i think just to buy them and field or attack with Gobby and Tsarina, but they are SRs and the day i will get GObby and Tsarina is, when i am old, very old!
    1. Necromanticer's Avatar
      Necromanticer -
      Wait a minute... What happened to Guy Gardner - Blinding Rage? He didn't make top of WoL? What madness is this!?
    1. Dave's Avatar
      Dave -
      This was foil packs only, not starter cards.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      Quote Originally Posted by Ressless View Post
      This Fatality is with Iceman Too Cool for Words, a mini Gobby for 1 Bolt energy. I see her also as another way to deal early damage as Cheetah and Gobby. Sure the SRs are still better i think just to buy them and field or attack with Gobby and Tsarina, but they are SRs and the day i will get GObby and Tsarina is, when i am old, very old!
      there's nothing MINI abut her Gobbiness. With one bolt she does a reliable 3 damage, more than one could say for a gobby. With one Ant-man fist, she gets a more reliable attack stat than Gobby, and her TFC and purchase cost are exactly the same. Heck she's even a Villain just like he is.
    1. Razorback's Avatar
      Razorback -
      Re: Guy Gardner-Heated

      Can you use Infiltrate BAC to give another character the Black Lantern affiliation, or are the lantern colors/corps not the same as team affiliations like Avengers or Villains?
    1. Basementcuts's Avatar
      Basementcuts -
      With Lyssa Drak could you name sidekick as the character? It pertains to fielding a character and once rolled on the character side they would count if fielded right?
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      Sidekicks don't have cards, thus don't have names, thus can't be named.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      Quote Originally Posted by Razorback View Post
      Re: Guy Gardner-Heated

      Can you use Infiltrate BAC to give another character the Black Lantern affiliation, or are the lantern colors/corps not the same as team affiliations like Avengers or Villains?
      Lantern affiliations ARE affiliations, and can be given by Infiltrate.
    1. Basementcuts's Avatar
      Basementcuts -
      Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
      Sidekicks don't have cards, thus don't have names, thus can't be named.
      There is an interesting argument to be made here. At the time of the naming one could say that they are sidekick dice per the third die type ruling, but at the time the effect requires payment they are characters per the same ruling. I think the deadman ruling takes the card out of the equation, but here's a thought. I have Lyssa fielded and my opponent has Johnny Storm and a sidekick fielded. That sidekick being a character in the field means that it exists in a character state. Can I now name sidekick as a character and have both the naming and effect timing work together for logic checks on the ability?
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      Quote Originally Posted by Basementcuts View Post
      There is an interesting argument to be made here. At the time of the naming one could say that they are sidekick dice per the third die type ruling, but at the time the effect requires payment they are characters per the same ruling. I think the deadman ruling takes the card out of the equation, but here's a thought. I have Lyssa fielded and my opponent has Johnny Storm and a sidekick fielded. That sidekick being a character in the field means that it exists in a character state. Can I now name sidekick as a character and have both the naming and effect timing work together for logic checks on the ability?
      There are multiple cards and ruling stating that you can't "name" sidekicks. Only Character dice have names. Not sidekick dice that are characters, but dice that are character dice.
    1. Basementcuts's Avatar
      Basementcuts -
      Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
      There are multiple cards and ruling stating that you can't "name" sidekicks. Only Character dice have names. Not sidekick dice that are characters, but dice that are character dice.
      I am searching the forum first on name from the ability then on sidekicks and finding nothing that suggests a ruling on naming character dice for an effect of this nature. Naming didn't take place till later than AVX so I assume it's not in the FAQ. I don't disagree with you but submitted a forum question anyways.
    1. pishposh's Avatar
      pishposh -
      In a ruling for Constantine: Hellblazer, WizKids mentions that you cannot name Sidekick for his ability.

      http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5359

      As a sidenote, your opponent may not name Sidekick for Constantine.

      -The Dice Masters Rules Team
    1. Basementcuts's Avatar
      Basementcuts -
      Quote Originally Posted by pishposh View Post
      In a ruling for Constantine: Hellblazer, WizKids mentions that you cannot name Sidekick for his ability.

      http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5359
      Perfect! Thanks for the link. On a side note, very sad that my search of the forums didn't return this result since both keywords I used are right there "name" and "sidekick". WTh? Lol
    1. Dylan Watkins's Avatar
      Dylan Watkins -
      I love this game so much. A brilliant super rare become nullified by a 4 cost common starter card I feel like you wouldn't see that in a lot of other games. Captain america the first avenger is perfect counter for SR lantern construct. Not saying I'm not gonna run that card but I am gonna say cap probably will become staple on most teams due to as dave said "taxing to do just about everything in the game"

      Nevermind just listened to it again pay life. What a world we live in where paying taking dmg are incredibly relevant
    1. OddballNarwhal's Avatar
      OddballNarwhal -
      I'm only halfway thru the internet radio program, but I believe Dave DID say Starfire.
    1. ninjahonor's Avatar
      ninjahonor -
      Quote Originally Posted by Razorback View Post
      Re: Guy Gardner-Heated

      Can you use Infiltrate BAC to give another character the Black Lantern affiliation, or are the lantern colors/corps not the same as team affiliations like Avengers or Villains?
      Based on the ruling of Phoenix force, I would wager yes. However, I have a hard time thining it would be useful. Guy would be a 9/9 max, but +3D on a character would likely only get you one or two damage if overcrush was involved.

      He would be a very effective beatstick for large blockers though. Especially if a force block global was to be used.

      Just my opinion of course.
    1. Ressless's Avatar
      Ressless -
      Is it me or getting the words bigger and bigger. The less there is to say in text form, the more is speak form hurray! I cant wait for it now. I bought yesterday the WOL Comics and still thinking which i should get too. I want my Red Lanterns slaughter all with the help of Love Star Sapphires!
    1. OddballNarwhal's Avatar
      OddballNarwhal -
      So, with the Wonder Girl that was discussed on the episode by Shadowmeld: Can you use the BEWD Global on her, then redirect it to an opponent's character? For a 1 Bolt KO?
    1. Green Knight's Avatar
      Green Knight -
      Omg @OddballNarwhal that is exactly how it reads. I am loving this set.