• Super Rares: The Other Four

    Did you think we forgot?

    As the War of Light is upon us today, and we batten down the hatches for the coming storm of emotional constructs and energy beams, we still have hype to give - because there are still four more Super Rares to discuss!

    We already told you all about the Black Lanterns, all four of which bring some really neat abilities. You can read about that here. Now, in celebration of the release of War of Light, we must discuss the four red-stripes that remain: Wonder Woman, the Lantern Battery, Starfire, and Parallax!

    Wonder Woman: Princess Diana of Earth

    Some people were vocal about what they felt was a lackluster appearance by fan-favorite Wonder Woman in the Justice League set. WizKids heard their cries, it would seem, as we have two Wonder Woman super rares in this set.

    This is one of the earliest reveals from the War of Light, appearing on promotional materials as far back as Worlds.

    If you listened to our ranking of the Super Rares, you know that some people are really excited about this one; I was less so. The problem that I have with it is that if you don't need the shields until your opponent deals combat damage, you've just lost your ability to spend them.

    Plus, there are few productive globals that cost shields that you can use during your opponent's turn anyway. An opponent won't attack into a situation where there is a Wonder Woman and a bunch of shields, so you haven't impacted their board, and you haven't improved your position either. But - that's just me! Surely @Shadowmeld will appear in the comments and explain why she's awesome.


    Parallax: Fear

    Parallax is indeed the embodiment of fear, the force of emotion that powers the Yellow Lantern corps. Once trapped in the central power battery of the Green Lanterns, it was he who caused the yellow impurity, which prevented the Green Lanterns from manipulating anything that was yellow with their rings.

    He was also the villain in the unfortunate big screen adaptation of Green Lantern.

    This global ability is phenomenal - even after the errata it creates some really interesting situations where you can change everything based on your reroll. It makes combo teams (like our old High Hopes) far more consistent by getting that one more chance to get exactly what they need for the cost of a single energy. Pretty cool. Also note that this condition can be met at pretty much any step of your turn - it is not limited to taking place only at the end of clear and draw.

    The character ability is pretty solid as well. With ramp globals being what they are, it's certainly not difficult to meet that condition and purchase some basic actions for dirt cheap.


    Starfire: Koriand'r

    I have a confession: I don't actually know much about the Teen Titans. I know some of the characters, but it's not a title that I've ever read or a show that I've watched. That said, this card makes me want to use the Teen Titans in Dice Masters.

    Unlike the Guardians of the Galaxy in the prior set, who could sometimes be too expensive in terms of purchase cost, fielding cost, or both to synergize effectively (or at least efficiently), the Titans have just one character who has a TFC higher than four - and that's Starfire herself. Everyone else is a cheap buy and a cheap field. Further, all their abilities work together pretty well - there may, in fact, be a workable team here.

    Starfire can be the capstone to that team, the damage that gets things rolling. She's a Gobby if Gobby triggered on Titans rather than sidekicks. That means you can expect a little less damage out of her than Gobby, but the Titans bring other tricks that sidekicks don't.

    I'm not saying I expect her to be tier one, but I do think that she'll be fun to play with.


    Lantern Battery: Power Source

    We end this review with a unique snowflake: The only action card super rare to this point in Dice Masters. Six sets and several hundred cards in, it's great to see that there are still new things to try!

    The awesomeness of this card speaks for itself. It's punishing, and it necessitates at least the thought of bringing something that will remove actions - particularly actions with the "continuous" trait.

    The things you could pair this with - Wasp, Ultron Drone, Goblin Attack Force, Jinzo, Punisher - just to tax the heck out of your opponent... if it's fast enough, it could be quite a bit of fun.

    What are you looking forward to? What super rare is your must-get for the set? Share in the comments!

    Comments 19 Comments
    1. DeadInkPen's Avatar
      DeadInkPen -
      You hit the nail on the head about combos for SR Lantern Battery. It stood out to me after I opened everything I had up, and those pairs jumped to mind. I thought I was excited to do some stuff with the Black Lanters, but man this is putting those on the back burner.
    1. nutki's Avatar
      nutki -
      I have too many issues with the wording of the Lantern Battery:
      - Is it one life per character or character die? As it is written it seems like a character, but then do you have to pay for Sidekicks?
      - Do you pay for blocking characters or blocked characters (or, unlikely, both)?
      - How can you have an action die in the Field Zone? (I guess this due to a special conduit or continuous rule).
      - Why is "Dice" randomly capitalized?
    1. Meatman's Avatar
      Meatman -
      Oops
    1. Meatman's Avatar
      Meatman -
      - per die
      - to block = to assign a die to block
      - Continuous, just like Cerebro, Loki's Sceptre, D&D equipment.
      - has no relevance

      Just my take on the card
    1. ONEone78's Avatar
      ONEone78 -
      yeah, let's not get too nitpicky on the poor card. it never did anything to you!
    1. GRider10's Avatar
      GRider10 -
      The lantern battery seems like the best of the bunch. Starfire could be fun to, with the right team. Parralax isn't too bad but there are better cards in constructed to buy actions with.
    1. Shazam's Avatar
      Shazam -
      Quote Originally Posted by ONEone78 View Post
      yeah, let's not get too nitpicky on the poor card. it never did anything to you!
      ...yet. ☺
    1. Joepancreas's Avatar
      Joepancreas -
      Quote Originally Posted by IgwanaRob View Post
      Lantern Battery: Power Source + Spider-Man: Webslinger = wall busting fun
      I wonder how this will affect cards that force blocking, or characters that have to block in general, since you can't be forced to pay a life for anything.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      You can always choose not to "pay" a cost. If the Battery said "take damage for each character that blocks", for e block combos would work, but paying life is an option, always.
    1. TheConductr's Avatar
      TheConductr -
      Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
      You can always choose not to "pay" a cost. If the Battery said "take damage for each character that blocks", for e block combos would work, but paying life is an option, always.
      So are you saying that even if you force block a character they don't have to pay the 1 life? That would seem broken, in the opposite direction of the usual definition...... And take a lot of the fun out of it. Ugh.
    1. geneinkc's Avatar
      geneinkc -
      Quote Originally Posted by TheConductr View Post
      So are you saying that even if you force block a character they don't have to pay the 1 life? That would seem broken, in the opposite direction of the usual definition...... And take a lot of the fun out of it. Ugh.
      Think of it this way... change the wording on Lantern Battery to:

      Continuous: While active, your opponent's characters cannot block, unless they pay 1 life per blocking character (no matter how many Lantern Battery dice you have in the Field Zone).

      You can argue that this is not the intent of the card, but if it is, then force block effects would not force the opponent to pay life.
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      In the same way, that Captain Cold forces your opponent to pay 1 energy to attack, you can't force them to attack.

      Remember, can't beats can, and this situation is effectively, you cant block unless you pay 1 per character.
    1. alleyviper's Avatar
      alleyviper -
      Of course we also need clarification if it's paying per blocking character or per attacking character...
    1. Scenttii's Avatar
      Scenttii -
      Quote Originally Posted by TheConductr View Post
      So are you saying that even if you force block a character they don't have to pay the 1 life? That would seem broken, in the opposite direction of the usual definition...... And take a lot of the fun out of it. Ugh.

      You can never force your opponent to pay for a cost that they have an option, even if it means you force block them and have this out.

      The ruling for that is here and it's probably one of the oldest rulings.

      You can't force a player to pay a cost to be able to accomplish an action. If the player doesn't want to pay the life to attack with the character, they do not have to and the character then is unable to attack so ignores the forced attack ability.

      When a card makes a character/die/player do something, if that character/die/player cannot do that thing, the can't overrides the can. Cable can't force the X-23 that can't block to be able to block for example. Mr. Fantastic or Phoenix couldn't force a character with the text, "This character can't attack," to attack.

      -The Dice Masters Rules Team
      http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb...hp?f=10&t=1647
    1. Jeffincredible's Avatar
      Jeffincredible -
      Quote Originally Posted by Scenttii View Post
      You can never force your opponent to pay for a cost that they have an option, even if it means you force block them and have this out.

      The ruling for that is here and it's probably one of the oldest rulings.



      http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb...hp?f=10&t=1647
      Interesting, my local game store fellow told me that basic card text is superceded by cards and effects you pay for. Is that not the case?
    1. Shadowmeld's Avatar
      Shadowmeld -
      Quote Originally Posted by Jeffincredible View Post
      Interesting, my local game store fellow told me that basic card text is superseded by cards and effects you pay for. Is that not the case?
      The issue here is, unlike most situations, you always get to choose whether or not to pay something. Even if a game effect says you must do something, if another effect says you must also Pay to do that thing, you can choose NOT to pay.

      The way it breaks down is this:

      Rule 1) "Can't > Must."
      Premise 1) You can pay to say character "Must block"
      Premise 2) Your opponent "Must pay" if he blocks"
      Rule 2) Payment is always a choice, and you can always choose either option, even if one of those options creates no effect.
      Premise 3) Not paying means you "can't"
      Premise 4) "Can't Block" > "Must Block"
      Conlusion: If you force an effect, that can be prevented by not paying a cost, that effect can be prevented by not paying the cost.
    1. DeadInkPen's Avatar
      DeadInkPen -
      The way they worded it also seems to include Wasp and Jinzo's effects. That is making a player pay a cost to accomplish an action right? In all legal sense of how they worded it, that is a correct response. The problem with their ruling on forcing an effect with a cost is keeping decent combo's out of the game. Everyone can agree on that cards that say X cannot block or attack should never be forced to do those things. Stuff like their first part of that ruling is making sure that the meta will barely ever change, keeping certain combo's sealed away.
    1. LarsEmilLarsen's Avatar
      LarsEmilLarsen -
      I just pulled a SR Wonder Woman

      .....so I'm really looking forward to Shadowmeld's comments