Remember the Turn Order! Sorting out sticky situations
by, 07-22-2015 at 02:36 AM (3304 Views)
It appears that my other blog post made the front page! I find that quite awesome and I'm glad to know others resonate with my thinking. Today I'm going to write on a topic that I still need to master. However, it is something I strongly believe in. Many times when I'm playing this fantastic game, things can get confusing. You have one person buying, fielding, using actions, and using global abilities. The other person then gets priority passed to them, and they have a chance to play some global abilities, but not in reaction to something the active player has done. (More on that later) This is all in the main step. We haven't even gone through the attack step yet!
I'm hoping to have this be a resource for others so they may understand the fundamentals of the turn steps fully. Knowledge of these steps oftentimes leads to the right conclusion when you run into interesting situations regarding abilities, global abilities, and priority. For this post, I will be utilizing the DC Justice League rulebook, as I've misplaced my Age of Ultron rulebook. Without further ado, here are the steps with some practical explanation.
Clear and Draw Step
1. Clear the reserve pool
2. Draw 4 dice from your bag
3. End Step
Step 1 means to move any energy you have remaining in your reserve pool to your used pile. Easy mode, right?
Roll and Re-roll Step
**NOTE** Remember to add any dice from your prep area to your roll in addition to the dice you have drawn in the previous step
1. Roll Dice
2. Reroll Dice - Something of note is that the rules state to re-roll all the dice you wish to re-roll at one time. No re-rolling one or two dice, and then re-rolling another one or two dice.
3. End Step
**NOTE** The actions in the main step can be performed in any order. As an example, I can buy a die, field a die from my reserve pool, use an action, then buy another die if I choose.
1. Field Characters
2. Use Action Dice
3. Purchase Dice
4. Global Abilities (both players)
5. End Step
Steps 1-3 are pretty self explanatory. Step 4 is where things can get hairy. On page 24 of the DC Justice League rulebook, it states that both players can use global abilities in both the main and attack steps. The rules also state that the inactive player can use a global ability after each action taken by the active player. The caveat of this is that it cannot be a reaction to an ability taken by the active player. Using this logic, if the active player fielded Johnny Storm and a sidekick, the inactive player could not use the Vibranium Shield global to prevent the 1 damage from Johnny Storm's ability. On the other hand, this is why each player can use the Professor X Global (PXG) on each other's turn. This global is not a reaction to an action made by the active player.
Another note (thanks to Ressless for pointing this out) is that the active player decides when to pass priority for global usage. As the active player, you decide when you wish to pass priority. However, you must pass priority at some point before the global phase ends. This is most commonly seen with the Professor X Global, but may be seen with other globals as well.
Also explained on page 24 of the DC Justice League rulebook is the concept of what to do if both players wish to use a global at the same time. For example, if the active player is attempting to use a global to deal damage to a character, and the inactive player wants to boost that die's defense, the active player always takes precedence. This is known as passing priority. The active player plays a global, then passes priority to the inactive player who decides if they want to use a global (PXG as an example), then passes priority back. Once this is finished on both sides, the step can end.
1. Assign attackers
2. Assign blockers
3. Use action dice
4. Both players can use global abilities
5. Assign and resolve damage
6. End Step
Most of this is self explanatory. Step 4 is the same concept as explained above with a couple differences. In the global phase of the attack step, inactive players can react to damage abilities. This is how you can stop the Human Torch (or any other ping ability)/Green Goliath combo with the Vibranium Shield global. Here is a detailed example of Human Torch, Green Goliath, Magic Missile, and Vibranium Shield interaction:
Let's say the active player has Human Torch and Green Goliath fielded along with Magic Missile. The active player decides to attack with Green Goliath. The inactive player sets blockers, then the active player uses Magic Missile global on Green Goliath, triggering his ability. The active player has no more globals to play, so priority passes to the inactive player. The inactive player pays the energy required for Vibranium Shield's global which prevents the damage from the magic missile global, cancelling out the damage dealt to Green Goliath.
Because all of this happens before damage is assigned, Green Goliath's ability never effects the field. Now, if the active player were to do this in the main step, then the inactive player would not be able to react to the Magic Missile global due to the rule that reaction abilities cannot be played during the main step.
Back to the steps, steps 1, 2, and 5 are important because certain cards take advantage of this attack step order. For an example, I'd like to point you to Necromanticer's article on Nightcrawler here.
Step 5 is important because it must be noted that damage is assigned at the same time unless otherwise stated (Rare Hawkeye from AvX comes to mind).
Clean Up Step
1. End effects and clear all damage
2. End Step
This step is easy. Resolve all effects as a result of the Attack Step and clear damage to dice. All actions that were unused go to the Used Pile, and all KO'd dice go to the user's Prep Area. Also, all dice that are out of play (aka the transition zone) should be moved to the used pile as well.
Well, there you have it! All of the steps detailed out. Now, you may still have questions, and there are people on this site that are more than willing to help. Feel free to ask questions of me as well, but understand I'm not perfect, and I may not have all the answers. Until next time, keep rollin'!