View RSS Feed

SHAZAM!

Anti-Action: A Compendium

Rate this Entry
With the addition of the War of Light set, cards like Lantern Ring and Lantern Battery have brought the topic of "anti-action" to the forefront.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lantern ring limited.jpg 
Views:	771 
Size:	91.7 KB 
ID:	3720Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lantern battery power source.jpg 
Views:	766 
Size:	93.8 KB 
ID:	3721



Continuous actions provide a new threat that might make some older cards like Jinzo and Constantine Antihero even more relevant, but the available options don't stop there. With a Hot Topic being "How to counter the Lantern Ring and Lantern Battery," the TRP community has shed some light on numerous options.

I wanted to make a list of known cards that can either punish the opponent for using actions or potentially remove them. Many of us know of these cards, but some of us ( including myself ) have completely forgotten about some of them or simply overlooked them because actions were not always a prevalent part of the local meta. Some of the following examples would be more ideal for removing continuous actions while others are more suitable against traditional actions/BAC's, but even the latter can at least help damper the blow if it's all you got. So here is a snapshot of cards that can be used to help combat actions...




Removal Options

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a1.png 
Views:	364 
Size:	572.1 KB 
ID:	3714Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a11.jpg 
Views:	373 
Size:	88.9 KB 
ID:	3710Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a4.jpg 
Views:	395 
Size:	68.3 KB 
ID:	3715Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a3.jpg 
Views:	405 
Size:	32.3 KB 
ID:	3716Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a6.jpg 
Views:	401 
Size:	36.1 KB 
ID:	3717Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a7.jpg 
Views:	418 
Size:	35.4 KB 
ID:	3718Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a5.jpg 
Views:	382 
Size:	36.6 KB 
ID:	3719Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a8.jpg 
Views:	374 
Size:	64.5 KB 
ID:	3707Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a9.jpg 
Views:	407 
Size:	80.5 KB 
ID:	3708Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a10.jpg 
Views:	388 
Size:	89.0 KB 
ID:	3709

Damage Reduction & Limited Counter

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a12.jpg 
Views:	357 
Size:	73.3 KB 
ID:	3711Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a13.jpg 
Views:	371 
Size:	31.0 KB 
ID:	3712


And as Osprey pointed out, the Iron Fist promo can also be used against Lantern Ring since the LR applies text to characters.

"While Iron Fist is active, reduce damage from opposing character's abilities by 1. When Iron Fist is KO'd, you may move a die with purchase cost 5 or more from your Used Pile to your Prep Area."



Punishing Options

A nice counter against traditional actions, but in the case of "continuous" actions specifically, it would only trigger when they are fielded.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a2.png 
Views:	400 
Size:	681.2 KB 
ID:	3713





Blog inspired by the following forumite contributions in this discussion
http://www.thereservepool.com/thread...antern-Battery

Updated 11-04-2015 at 12:08 AM by pk2317 (Adding preview break)

Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

  1. koolkat67's Avatar
    How does Atrocitus help with Action Dice? it must have something to do with the symbol in the second part I don't get. But it is also referring to "KO". can you KO an Action Die?
  2. SHAZAM!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by koolkat67
    How does Atrocitus help with Action Dice? it must have something to do with the symbol in the second part I don't get. But it is also referring to "KO". can you KO an Action Die?

    He can remove cards like Lantern Battery and Lantern Ring because those cards have the emotional conduit symbol. He's limited to only emotional conduits, so it's pretty niche. Pretty expensive too, meh
  3. koolkat67's Avatar
    ah ok...I have War of Light and a Gravity on order so I haven't seen the emotional conduit yet. Where do they go when KO'd then? Prep Area? nice blog by the way.
  4. SHAZAM!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by koolkat67
    ah ok...I have War of Light and a Gravity on order so I haven't seen the emotional conduit yet. Where do they go when KO'd then? Prep Area? nice blog by the way.
    Cool! I think you'll like it, it's an interesting set. Used pile, in the case of Larfleeze. Prep, in Atrocitus case. I think EC's are the only actions that can be KO'ed currently, until further cards specify otherwise. Sorry, derped for a minute.
    Updated 10-26-2015 at 03:59 PM by SHAZAM!
  5. hwetzel's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by koolkat67
    ah ok...I have War of Light and a Gravity on order so I haven't seen the emotional conduit yet. Where do they go when KO'd then? Prep Area? nice blog by the way.
    Any action die that is either used or removed from the field goes to the used pile.
  6. SHAZAM!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hwetzel
    Any action die that is either used or removed from the field goes to the used pile.
    That is the normal rule, but the rulebook also says "card text always supersedes basic rule text." So if it says that Atrocitus "KO's" conduits, I take it that means it goes to the prep area like any other die that is knocked out. Plus, Larfleeze specifies that you can further move that die to the used pile, which leads me to believe that without the additional specification like Larfleeze has, when Atrocitus KO's the die it does indeed go to the prep area.

    You may be right, but if that's the case the card needs an errata fix.
  7. GRider10's Avatar
    Doesn't baron zemo only let you reroll your own dice? I don't think you can pay one and roll an opponent's die.
  8. pk2317's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GRider10
    Doesn't baron zemo only let you reroll your own dice? I don't think you can pay one and roll an opponent's die.
    The card doesn't explicitly say "your" dice, and based on the WKRF ruling on the Rare SHIELD Agent, that means it applies to both players.
  9. Osprey's Avatar
    A few quick points:

    Almost all of these counters (with the exception of common doomcal) are immediately made null by prismatic spray. In the case of zemo and constantine, you may very well have been beaten by 20+ damage (depending on how the local judge rules it) by a lantern ring. Blink, in my opinion, is by far the best because it doesn't require a "when fielded" effect that a hellblazer could stop, and it doesn't reroll the die, possibly returning it to the same face.

    Since we know cards like lantern ring apply text to characters, Iron Fist could very well be included in the damage reduction portion.

    Finally, a continuous action (such as ring or battery) is considered used when placed in the field zone, so carnage would only be able to deal 2 damage tops. Due to this, rare Jinzo is likely a better choice for punishment because it also slows down global usage, has a lower TFC and causes them to "lose life" instead of taking damage, so it avoids triggering enemy hulks.

    I think the best counter to Lantern Ring at this point is a ruling or errata from the WKRF that significantly weakens the power of the card. I'd put money down for that option.
  10. SHAZAM!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GRider10
    Doesn't baron zemo only let you reroll your own dice? I don't think you can pay one and roll an opponent's die.
    Like pk2317 mentioned, as read, it should apply to both unless/until it gets some kind of official updated ruling similar to the Parallax global
  11. SHAZAM!'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Osprey
    A few quick points:

    Almost all of these counters (with the exception of common doomcal) are immediately made null by prismatic spray. In the case of zemo and constantine, you may very well have been beaten by 20+ damage (depending on how the local judge rules it) by a lantern ring. Blink, in my opinion, is by far the best because it doesn't require a "when fielded" effect that a hellblazer could stop, and it doesn't reroll the die, possibly returning it to the same face.

    Since we know cards like lantern ring apply text to characters, Iron Fist could very well be included in the damage reduction portion.

    Finally, a continuous action (such as ring or battery) is considered used when placed in the field zone, so carnage would only be able to deal 2 damage tops. Due to this, rare Jinzo is likely a better choice for punishment because it also slows down global usage, has a lower TFC and causes them to "lose life" instead of taking damage, so it avoids triggering enemy hulks.

    I think the best counter to Lantern Ring at this point is a ruling or errata from the WKRF that significantly weakens the power of the card. I'd put money down for that option.

    Thanks for the added points, and for the addition of Iron Fist. Much appreciated. I will amend, just trying to find a good pic of it. Text will do for the meantime
  12. bahamut7's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Osprey
    A few quick points:

    Almost all of these counters (with the exception of common doomcal) are immediately made null by prismatic spray. In the case of zemo and constantine, you may very well have been beaten by 20+ damage (depending on how the local judge rules it) by a lantern ring.
    Your opponent cannot use actions on your turn, so prismatic spray isn't an issue for most of these. Granted, I agree that blink is nice because she doesn't require to be fielded each time and like the others that field, she eliminates the action every time unlike Constantine or Zemo.
  13. Osprey's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bahamut7
    Your opponent cannot use actions on your turn, so prismatic spray isn't an issue for most of these. Granted, I agree that blink is nice because she doesn't require to be fielded each time and like the others that field, she eliminates the action every time unlike Constantine or Zemo.
    Yes but they can use spray on their turn, which is when it counts in this case. Wipe your field of text and then swing triggering lantern ring, which you will not be able to stop. I think you may have misunderstood what I said.
  14. koolkat67's Avatar
    ok so if a Continuous Action is KO'd and it doesn't specify where it goes, where does it go? Prep or Used? I saw both answers here.