View RSS Feed

RainCityJenna

WKRF Questions - April 9/16

Rate this Entry
1- Based on this ruling, could you please explain the difference in abilities between Loki and Dwarf Wizard:

http://win.wizkids.com/bb/viewtopic....37957a5#p20380

If there are multiple dice of the same character in play that this ability is used on, does only that one die lose its abilities? If only one die loses its ability, would this leave that characters global to be used, unlike when there was only one die in play that Loki's ability was used on?
Loki’s ability text specifically references a “character die,” unlike other cards such as Magneto – Magnetic Monster and Prismatic Spray – Lesser Spell, both of simply reference “character.” This distinction dictates the answers to both of your questions.
This ruling specifically states that because Loki's text references a "character die" that it does not blank the card, but only the die and as such the global remains.

However, with Dwarf Wizard, the global ability is being removed and being treated as a card wiping ability, much like Zombie Magneto, Spray and Constantine, however, Dwarf Wizard's wording specifically states several times "character die" and am unsure how they are different.

When fielded, target a character die. While Dwarf Wizard is active, copies of that character die in the Field Zone have no text. If you field another Dwarf Wizard die, target a new die, cancelling all previous choices.



2- Do abilities that target a die such as Relentless, Giant Spider, Phoenix, etc. apply an ability to the character card they are targeting and can these abilities be removed by card wiping effects such as Spray or Zombie Magneto?

More specifically, if my opponent has a Zombie Magneto in the field, and all my characters of purchase cost 3 or lower are considered blank and cannot retain abilities such as overcrush or applied effects from Lanter Ring - Powered Only By Imagination, will my opponent be able to force any of those blanked characters to attack.

Similarly, would an effect from Falcon - Recon be considered an applied ability to the sidekick dice that are attacking.

(Relevant card text)

Relentless - Basic Action Card: Global: Pay [1 Mask]. Target character cannot block.
Giant Spider - Greater Beast: Global: Pay [1 Shield]. Target character must block this turn.
Phoenix - Redd: Global: Pay [1 Bolt] . Target character must attack.
Magneto - Magnetic Monster: When fielded, KO all non-[Zombie] Magnetos. While active, opposing characters with Purchase Cost 3 or lower lose their abilities. Professor X can't be fielded.

Thank you for your time




3- Does Silver Sable - Hero for Hire apply an effect to a character card that it is targeting and is that effect retained if the card is blanked?

Specifically, if I have Magneto - Magnetic Monster in the field, and it is blanking my opponents characters with a purchase cost of 3 or lower, and my opponent sacrifices Silver Sable to make one of those 3 or lower cost characters unblockable, would they be able to retain that ability and be unblockable.

Silver Sable: You may sacrifice Silver Sable during your Main Step. If you do, target character die is unblockable this turn.
Magneto - Magnetic Monster: When fielded, KO all non-[Zombie] Magnetos. While active, opposing characters with Purchase Cost 3 or lower lose their abilities. Professor X can't be fielded.

Thank you for any clarification!




4- Are the die stat modification that are applied by the Bard during the attack step considered an applied ability and something that can be removed with card blanking abilities such as Magneto - Magnetic Monster for characters that cost 3 or less to purchase? Or are die stat modifications not abilities that are applied to characters and thus have no way to have them removed?

Half-Elf Bard - Master Lords' Alliance: When Half-Elf Bard attacks, each attacking character die gets +1A and +1D for each of your other different character dice.
Magneto - Magnetic Monster: When fielded, KO all non-[Zombie] Magnetos. While active, opposing characters with Purchase Cost 3 or lower lose their abilities. Professor X can't be fielded.
Thank you!
Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

  1. pk2317's Avatar
    Regarding #4:

    http://win.wizkids.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8509

    Treat additional abilities from action dice as abilities on those characters. Those abilities can be ignored, prevented, and modified as if they were character abilities. If an effect would give a character die +2A and Overcrush, but that character die’s abilities are being ignored, it couldn’t use Overcrush but would still get +2A. The attack bonus isn’t an ability.
    For the rest of them, I hope we do get an answer on whether "can't attack" / "must attack" / "can't block" / "must block" are considered "abilities" added to cards/dice.
  2. RainCityJenna's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pk2317
    Regarding #4:

    http://win.wizkids.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8509



    For the rest of them, I hope we do get an answer on whether "can't attack" / "must attack" / "can't block" / "must block" are considered "abilities" added to cards/dice.
    Totes agree, it's how I rule it, but had someone that wanted an official answer for bard.

    As for the others, it's not how people play it currently, but I feel like it's how it should be played.
  3. The0retico's Avatar
    Oh I wish ZMag stopped Bard.
  4. bahamut7's Avatar
    From what i gathered on the Bard and global wiping is that the die itself has no globals but the card is not wiped. This distinction was most likely made for characters such as Bizarro that has abilities that react to attackers or blockers with global abilities. If the die itself has no card text, then Bizarro's abilities do not trigger. This would make the most sense as free to field abilities and fabricate are not affected by the Dwarf Wizard.