View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #47 - Beholder, Lesser Aberration

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today, we're going to take a look at Beholder, Lesser Aberration from the Dungeons and Dragons Faerūn Under Siege Set.

"Beauty is in the eyestalks of the Beholder..."
~ Said by at least one D&D character on almost every D&D table.


Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Beholder, Lesser Aberration.jpg 
Views:	172 
Size:	246.8 KB 
ID:	5671

Ruling - Ability

When you field a Beholder die, you can use up to two different Global Abilities without paying their cost.

There are cards out there that have or add additional costs besides paying energy or even add additional energy costs (Jinzo, Trap Destroyer; Oracle, Master Investigator; Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Monstrous Dragon). Beholder will cover those costs as well as the regular costs. A card such as Polymorph, Basic Action Card, does not make you spin the character down as part of the cost. The cost on Polymorph is simply a Mask Energy for the effect of spinning characters.

Each card with a Global Ability counts as a different Global Ability, even if the card or effect is identical. When a Beholder die is fielded, you could use the Global on your Blue-Eyes card as well as the Global on your opponent's Blue-Eyes card.

Ruling - Global

This Global ability allows you to move a Spell die on an Action face from your Reserve Pool and place it on the Beholder's card. When you start your next Roll and Reroll Step, you take that Spell die and place it in the Reserve Pool on the same side.

Since this Global places the Spell in the Reserve Pool, it is my belief that you do not get to roll or reroll that die. Your Roll and Reroll Step specifies that you roll the dice you drew and the dice from your Prep Area. I have submitted this question to WORF so that we have an official reference.

There is a very important clarification that I feel should be made about this Global. The term Spell refers to only a few very specific cards.

~ Limited Wish
~ Prismatic Spray
~ Potion


These are currently the only Spell cards in the game. I was using the Global to store Polymorph Action Dice during a casual game last night until my opponent asked if they could use the Global as well. We then discovered that Polymorph is not considered a Spell. If it doesn't say Spell in the name or sub-name, it not an eligible target for this Global. (I blame my background in D&D for this misinterpretation.)

When used properly, it allows you to save an Spell die that you may not want to use on one turn, and potentially use it later. If you still aren't able to use it or want to save it, you only need to pay the Global and store the Spell again. Either player may use this Global and may store a Spell die, but only if they have one to place on the Beholder's card.

Official Sources

Here is the official Ruling on Beholder's ability.
You can also find information about using the same Global on two different cards in the FAQ, but there is also a Ruling on WORF.
You can find a ruling relevant to the Global here.

Competitive Play Rating

Beholder is a great way to bypass that tax that Oracle and Jinzo add to your Globals. Not only is the ability amazing, but Beholder is great Blue-Eyes food and even better for Fabricate. I know this card has seen major meta play and I wouldn't be surprised if it sees even more in the future. He's an inexpensive Mask character and he's got beefy stats for his fielding costs too. This card is just great overall and it just gets better if you're using one of the three Spells.

Beholder, Lesser Aberration gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 Stars.png 
Views:	55 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	5672

Casual Play Rating

This card makes for some interesting casual play! I used him on a team with Two-Face last night and he almost out-shined Two-Face! My strategy for Two-Face quickly became my strategy for the Beholder, but he didn't do the job quite as well as Two-Face. For a beginner, this card may be a little too confusing at first and would require some practice to figure out how to properly use his Global. Most of the time, this card is used exclusively for his ability. That in itself is odd, since most cards with Globals are picked because of their Globals. I still think this card is great for casual play, even with its slightly confusing Global. His stats and fielding costs are way too good and his ability makes him really good!

Beholder, Lesser Aberration gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 Stars.png 
Views:	55 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	5672


Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!
You can also find my articles on WordPress!


Roll on, Dice Masters!

Updated 08-03-2016 at 10:27 AM by DiceDiceKitty

Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

  1. pk2317's Avatar
    Super-solid card, from the stats to the ability to the Global. And it's a common! So great. Annoying that it shares the exact title/subtitle as BFF, but that's what you get when you use a strict naming convention for D&D

    Speaking of naming conventions, my personal thought is that the BACs should have followed the D&D naming conventions and been called "Polymorph: Basic Action Spell" or "Flaming Sword: Basic Action Gear". But barring an errata, we're stuck with what we have currently
  2. DiceDiceKitty's Avatar
    Oh how I wish they would have named the D&D Basic Actions in that manner... I would be able to stash Polymorph then! lol

    I love the D&D sets, and they're probably my second favorites (behind TMNT of course). :3
  3. agentj's Avatar
    So they did make a ruling for beholder and Jinzo? And beholder and Oracle?
  4. DiceDiceKitty's Avatar
    There isn't a WORF ruling, but they did rule at Nats/Worlds that 'free is free'. I can see both sides, but I have always been on the free is free side and I would honestly be surprised if they ruled it differently. I posted a while back on the rule forum about that and they still haven't chosen to answer it.
  5. SarkhanMad's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dicedicekitty
    Either player may use this Global and may store a Spell die, but only if they have one to place on the Beholder's card.
    You sure about that?
  6. DiceDiceKitty's Avatar
    As far as my understanding - you can't do a Global for no effect.

    Ex: You can't PXG for 0 Sidekicks.
  7. SarkhanMad's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DiceDiceKitty
    As far as my understanding - you can't do a Global for no effect.

    Ex: You can't PXG for 0 Sidekicks.

    I was referencing the "either player" usage. The card text references a character name. We've already had lengthy discussions about how that is handled, I believe it also applies here.
    As in, your opponent can't use this global if they don't have Beholder, because the default for character names is to only mean "your" characters unless it specifies "your opponents".
  8. DiceDiceKitty's Avatar
    It was recently discussed in the group on FB and the general consensus was that the opponent could use it as well. I see both ways, but I'm not with the consensus on this one.