View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #49 - The Penguin, Bully

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

I have another request today. We're going to take a look at The Penguin, Bully from the DC World's Finest Set.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	The Penguin, Bully.png 
Views:	223 
Size:	756.6 KB 
ID:	5698

Ruling - Ability

The Penguin has a While Active ability which will work as long as the character has at least one die in the Field Zone. These types of abilities typically do not trigger or activate per dice. Others have compared While Active abilities to the workings of a light switch - the switch is either on or it's off.

The Penguin's ability says that while he's active, anytime a non-Villain affiliated character die is fielded, he will deal one damage to that die. Since this is a While Active ability, it only triggers once for each character die that is fielded, regardless of how many Penguin dice are in the Field Zone.

Example:

~ I have three Penguin dice in my Field Zone.
~ My opponent fields a Sidekick die.
~ Penguin's ability checks the Sidekick die for the Villain affiliation.
~ The Sidekick die is dealt one damage, which would KO the Sidekick die.
~ My opponent then fields a Captain America, Natural Leader die.
~ Penguin's ability checks the Captain America die for the Villain affiliation.
~ He is not a Villain, so he is dealt one damage but is not KO'd.
~ My opponent fields another Sidekick die.
~ Penguin's ability checks the Sidekick die for the Villain affiliation.
~ The Sidekick die is dealt one damage, but is not KO'd.


The reason the second Sidekick die is not KO'd is because Captain America's While Active ability is a static ability. His ability does not need a trigger and is applied to all eligible dice immediately, giving Sidekicks a +1A and +1D. The Penguin's While Active ability is a triggered ability and needs to check the game state before it triggers. So the second Sidekick enters the Field Zone and the buff from Captain America is applied, then Penguin sees the non-Villain die enter and deals it one damage.

The Penguin's ability applies to your characters as well. If you field a non-Villain affiliated character die while the Penguin is active, he will deal one damage to that character die. You can use this to your advantage with certain cards like Hulk, Green Goliath or other characters that have similar abilities.

If you and your opponent each have a Penguin die active (both players using The Penguin, Bully), each time a non-Villain affiliated character die is fielded, that character die will take one damage from each player's Penguin.

Example:

~ My opponent and I each have one Penguin die in the Field Zone.
~ I field a Captain America die.
~ My Penguin's ability checks the Captain America die for the Villain affiliation.
~ My Captain America die takes one damage from my Penguin's ability.
~ My opponent's Penguin's ability checks the Sidekick die for the Villain affiliation.
~ My Captain America die takes one damage from my opponent's Penguin's ability.


*** EDIT ***
Adding additional ruling information - What counts as 'Fielding'?


What counts as 'Fielding'?

When a character is put into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool, it's called fielding. A character can be fielded by card effects as well, like White Tiger, Mystical Amulet's Global. It allows you to field a Sidekick from your Used Pile. Some cards will put a character in the Field Zone, but it won't count as fielding unless the card says Field (character). Polymorph is a card that allows you to swap characters, but they do not count as being fielded for game game effects such as Penguin's.


Official Sources

There aren't any official rulings for this specific card.
You can find a ruling on a similar ability here.
I also did a CCW on Blue Beetle, Jaime Reyes which has similar wording.

Page 21 of the World's Finest and Civil War Rulebooks, under the section Active and Fielded, you can find more details about character abilities similar to Blue Beetle's and The Penguin's.

Competitive Play Rating

I may have several disagree with me on this rating, but I could totally see a few different teams finding a use for this card. Penguin's purchase cost is definitely within the acceptable range for competitive play and fielding costs aren't bad. He's got a decent amount of defense if you needed a blocker against Overcrush. I like this card and I felt he deserved better than just two stars. I gave him a three because I could see several creative players finding a way to squeak him into the rogue status (hint-hint, Travis). The only major issue I see with this card is that it could backfire on you if your opponent is using Poly Hulk or something similar.

- Clarifying my Poly Hulk thought: I sometimes think things that don't translate because you all can't read my mind. I could see someone using Polymorph initially on Hulk, then either attacking with him or using the Parallax Lottery with him and using your Penguin against you. Sorry for the confusion folks. Polymorph does not grant you Penguin's ability! -

The Penguin, Bully gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3 Stars.png 
Views:	43 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	5699

Casual Play Rating

The Penguin is a fantastic card for a casual Villain team. He's also great as a teaching tool for new players because his ability targets your non-Villain characters as well. He's got a great purchase cost and fielding costs for casual play. His ability is very easy to understand and explain. I can easily recommend this card for casual players of all skill levels. The most complicated thing about this card for casual play is trying to decide how to build your team around him, so he would be a great teaching tool for team building as well!

The Penguin, Bully gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 Stars.png 
Views:	39 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	5700

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!
You can also find my articles on WordPress!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and DiceMastersDB for the use of their sites.


Roll on, Dice Masters!

Updated 08-17-2016 at 06:25 AM by DiceDiceKitty

Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

  1. SarkhanMad's Avatar
    Obvious use:


    Can also hit player:


    Interesting. Going to roll him on level 2! Also, can use global to save 1D characters, but still triggers "when dealt effects." Of course, it's a global so your opponent can use it also.
  2. SarkhanMad's Avatar
    For ramp/churn:

  3. DiceDiceKitty's Avatar
    Excellent suggestions! :3