View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #50 - Black Cat, Party Hardy

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

I have another request today. We're going to take a look at Black Cat, Party Hardy from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Set.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Black Cat, Party Hardy.jpg 
Views:	150 
Size:	221.4 KB 
ID:	5711

Ruling - Ability

Black Cat has the Underdog ability. Underdog is an ability that has different effects depending on which card you use. The one thing that all Underdog abilities have in common is that you need to have less characters in the Field Zone than your opponent in order to gain the benefits of the card's Underdog ability. You will not gain an Underdog ability if you have an equal amount of characters in the Field Zone. Characters that are being fielded will count themselves toward the total number of characters.

Black Cat's Underdog ability says that when she's fielded, your opponent has to reroll all of their characters that are in the Field Zone. If those dice land on a character face, they are returned to the Field Zone. If they land on an energy face, they are placed in the Reserve Pool.

If a character has been dealt damage before Black Cat is fielded and the character is rerolled onto a side with defense equal to or lower than the damage dealt, the character is KO'd.

Examples

Example One:

~ I have one character in the Field Zone and my opponent has two characters.
~ I field Black Cat and nothing happens.


The reason I do not get her Underdog ability in this example is because she will count herself and my other fielded and compare to the number of fielded characters on my opponent's side. I must have less characters - not an equal amount.

Example Two:

~ I don't have any characters in the Field Zone and my opponent has three characters.
~ I field Black Cat and my opponent must reroll all three of their characters.
~ Two of their characters land on an energy face and are placed in their Reserve Pool.
~ One of their characters lands on a higher level character face and stays in the Field Zone.


Example Three:

~ I don't have any characters in the Field Zone and my opponent has two characters. One is a Sidekick and the other is a level two Black Widow die.
~ I pay one Bolt Energy to use Magic Missile's Global to do one damage to my opponent's level two Black Widow, Tsarina die.
~ I field Black Cat and my opponent must reroll both of their character dice.
~ The Sidekick lands on an energy face and is placed in the Reserve Pool.
~ The Black Widow die lands on the level one face and stays in the Field Zone, but since the damage hasn't been cleared yet, the Black Widow die is KO'd and placed in the Prep Area.


Official Sources

There is an Underdog ruling referencing this card. You can find it here.

Page 23 of the Civil War Rulebook under the Rerolling Dice section, explains where dice go when they are rerolled.

Example Three Reference:
At the very top of Page 12 of the Civil War Rulebook under the Clean Up Step section, it states that all damage to all dice remaining in the Field Zone is cleared during this step. A character that has been rerolled but remains in the Field Zone is not considered to have left the Field Zone, therefore damage would not clear until the Clean Up Step.

Competitive Play Rating

As much as I like this card, it's really hard to play her in the current meta. I'm certain that if someone built a team specifically around this card, she could reach a rogue status in the meta. She's not a terrible card at all - I actually think she has the potential to see meta play in a non-Bard meta. I blame a lot of meta problems on Bard, but it really is that big of an issue. Lantern Ring isn't as serious of a problem compared to Bard. The meta needs to be much less aggressive to see a lot of these type of cards find a place. I love control type cards so there is a special place in my heart for this Black Cat.

Black Cat, Party Hardy gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3 Stars.png 
Views:	78 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	5710

Casual Play Rating

Black Cat is a very good card, but the strategy of using her can be difficult for newer players to use or difficult to understand when playing against her. That's just because of all things there are to remember with her ability like how Underdog works, where dice go when they roll certain sides, what happens when they're damaged first, etc. It's a lot to focus on as a beginner when you're trying to learn other rules and basic strategy. She does make for a great teaching tool for more advanced level casual players. I could easily recommend her for advanced level casual players, but I wouldn't recommend her for a beginner's team. Once they show a good understanding of the rules, then I would suggest her as addition to their team.

Black Cat, Party Hardy gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3 Stars.png 
Views:	78 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	5710

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!
You can also find my articles on WordPress!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and DiceMastersDB for the use of their sites.


Roll on, Dice Masters!

Updated 08-24-2016 at 02:25 PM by DiceDiceKitty

Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

  1. Mactavius's Avatar
    How do you know that rerolled dice that end up on their energy side end up in the Reserve Pool? Why not the Used Pile like the uncommon version? They never specifically state on the card, which is why I have been perpetually confused about it.

    Thanks for honoring my request to write about this card.
  2. pk2317's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mactavius
    How do you know that rerolled dice that end up on their energy side end up in the Reserve Pool? Why not the Used Pile like the uncommon version? They never specifically state on the card, which is why I have been perpetually confused about it.

    Thanks for honoring my request to write about this card.
    Dice that are rerolled always stay in the same place they were rerolled in, unless they can't be there, like Energy in the Field Zone. In that case it moves to the Reserve Pool (unless the card explicitly directs otherwise, like the Uncommon version).

    Edit: this is why a fielded character rerolled to a character face isn't re-fielded - it never left the Field Zone.
  3. DiceDiceKitty's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mactavius
    How do you know that rerolled dice that end up on their energy side end up in the Reserve Pool? Why not the Used Pile like the uncommon version? They never specifically state on the card, which is why I have been perpetually confused about it.

    Thanks for honoring my request to write about this card.

    You can find the rule on page 23 of the Civil War Rulebook. I will be sure to add this information into both articles as soon as I get home.