View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #53 - Static, Virgil Hawkins

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today, we're going to take a look at Static, Virgil Hawkins from the DC Green Arrow and The Flash set.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Static, Virgil Hawkins.jpg 
Views:	144 
Size:	89.3 KB 
ID:	5901

Ruling - Ability

Static's ability says that while he's active, whenever your opponent rolls two or more dice at one time, you must deal one damage to a target character die. While Active abilities work regardless of how many of that character's dice are in the Field Zone. I've heard it compared to a light switch - it's either on or it's off.

When your opponent rolls two or more dice at once, a target character is dealt one damage. This ability uses the word target and it targets character dice, so abilities that stop or alter abilities that target character dice could affect this ability. Static's ability will trigger anytime your opponent rolls two or more dice at once. This includes the dice rolled (and rerolled) during the Roll and Reroll Step as well as dice rolled because of character abilities and Globals like Black Cat, Party Hardy's ability or Parallax, Source of Terror's Global.

Static's ability is not optional. His ability will trigger when the conditions are met and you must target a character die. You can target any character die in the Field Zone. You are not required to target an opponent's character die. You can target your own character dice if you choose to. If your opponent doesn't have any character dice to target, or you are not able to target the character dice because of a special ability, you must target one of your character dice instead.

Static, Virgil Hawkins has the Teen Titans affiliation.

Examples

Example One:
Static's ability trigger during the Roll and Reroll Step - targeting my opponent's characters.


~ I have two Static dice and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Clear and Draw Step) My opponent draws four dice from their bag.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) They roll the four dice they drew, which triggers Static's ability.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) I choose one of my opponent's Sidekick dice and it takes one damage, which KO's it and sends it to the Prep Area. My opponent does not get to roll this die until their next turn.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) My opponent decides to reroll two of their four dice, which triggers Static's ability again.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) I choose my opponent's second Sidekick die to take one damage, which KO's it and sends it to the Prep Area.


Example Two:
Static's ability during the Roll and Reroll Step - targeting my own characters.


~ I have a level one Static die (2A, 1D) and a level two Static (3A, 2D) in the Field Zone. My opponent doesn't have any characters in the Field Zone.
~ (Clear and Draw Step) My opponent draws four dice from their bag.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) They roll the four dice they drew, which triggers Static's ability.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) I must choose one of my Static dice to take one damage. If I choose the level one Static, he will be KO'd and go to the Prep Area. If I choose the level two Static, he will not be KO'd. I choose the level two Static to take one damage and both Static dice remain in the Field Zone.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) My opponent decides to reroll two of their dice, which triggers Static's ability again.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) I must choose one of my Static dice to take one damage. Either die would be KO'd because the level one die only has one defense and the level two die already has one damage done to his two defense. I choose the level one Static, which is KO'd and sent to the Prep Area.


Example Three:
Static's ability during the Main Step.


~ I have one Static die and my opponent has four Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent uses Parallax's Global and rerolls three of their Sidekicks from the Field Zone, which triggers Static's ability.
~ I must choose my opponent's Sidekick die or my Static die to take the one damage. I choose my opponent's Sidekick die and it takes one damage, which KO's it and sends it to the Prep Area.
~ My opponent uses Parallax's Global again and rerolls two dice from their Reserve Pool, which triggers Static's ability.
~ Static is the only character in the Field Zone now so I must target his die with his ability. A level one Static would be KO'd and sent to the Prep Area. A level two or three Static wouldn't be KO'd unless more damage would be dealt to that die during the same turn.


Official Sources

There are no official sources specifically for Static, Virgil Hawkins.

You can find Manticore's ruling here, relevant to rolling.

Competitive Play Rating

I see a lot of potential for Static in the competitive meta. I could easily see him on a Hulk variant as a way to damage your own Hulk. He's got a decent purchase cost of three and his fielding costs are great at 0/0/1. His defense is fairly low, which could be a problem if your opponent has a direct damage ability or Global. But other than his defense, I really like this card as a rogue meta card and I can see it possibly turning up on a few variants.

Static, Virgil Hawkins gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3 Stars.png 
Views:	26 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	5902

Casual Play Rating

I love Static for casual play and he's really good in draft too. In a casual setting, you don't have to center a team around him specifically to get the full benefit of his ability. He's great on a Teen Titans team as a way to get characters out the way so your other Teen Titans can attack without fear of being blocked. He's also a great teaching tool because his ability is not an optional trigger, and can be used to teach new players about the benefits of fielding vs not fielding characters. I look forward to building my own casual Teen Titans team and I plan on using this Static over the other versions.

Static, Virgil Hawkins gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 Stars.png 
Views:	24 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	5903


Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!
You can also find my articles on WordPress!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site as well as PK and Travis for all of their help.


Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments