View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #64 - Motorcycle: Vroom!

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Sorry about not having this up last week - I totally forgot to post it here. Today, we're going to take a look at Motorcycle: Vroom! from the Marvel Deadpool set. I get lots of questions about when a player can use an Action die, so I chose one of the newer Non-Basic Actions for this week's CCW. This is also the only card with a Global Ability on it in the entire Deadpool set.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2 Motorcycle, Vroom.jpg 
Views:	177 
Size:	346.7 KB 
ID:	6487

Ruling - Ability

Motorcycle will give a blocked character that you control +1A and +1D. This bonus will last until the end of turn.

The only time you can use an Action die is during your turn in the Main Step or after blockers have been assigned in the Attack Step. The timing for this die is specific. You must have a blocked character to be able to use this Action die. You can only use this die during the Attack Step, after blockers have been assigned.

You can only target your blocked character with this die. This ability does not allow you to target an opponent's character. If you were to take control of an opponent's character die, it would then be a legal target.

Action dice that are not used during the turn will go to the Used Pile during the Clean Up Step. If the Action dice are on an energy face, they stay in the Reserve Pool.

Ruling - Global

The Global Ability says that you can pay a Fist energy to remove a blocked character die from the Attack Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone.

If you do not have a legal target for this Global, you cannot pay the cost for no effect. There must be a blocked attacker in the Attack Zone. The target can be either yours or your opponent's.

Affiliations and Types

Motorcycle: Vroom! is a Fist Non-Basic Action and does not have an affiliation. This card also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Regular use of the Action ability.


~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step - Actions/Globals) I decide to use my Motorcycle Action and target my blocked Sidekick die, giving it a +1A and +1D. I pass priority to my opponent so that they can use Globals if they can or want to do so. They do not use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step - Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals two damage to the blocking Sidekick's one defense and the blocking Sidekick deals one damage to my Sidekick's two defense.
~ (Attack Step - Assign/Resolve Damage) My opponent's Sidekick took enough damage for it to be KO'd and it is sent to the Prep Area.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Sidekick did not take enough damage to get KO'd and will move back into the Field Zone. All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).


Example Two:
No legal targets for the Action.


~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Blockers) My opponent does not assign any blockers.
~ (Attack Step - Actions/Globals) I cannot use my Motorcycle because I do not have a blocked character to target. I do not use any Globals and neither does my opponent.
~ (Attack Step - Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals one damage to my opponent's life total and is moved Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Motorcycle die is moved to the Used Pile. All dice that are Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).


Example Three:
Turn player using Global.


~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step - Actions/Globals) I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my Sidekick. My Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my opponent. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO'd. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).


Example Four:
Non-Turn player using Global.


~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Blockers) I assign a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step - Actions/Globals) My opponent has a chance to use Actions. They don't use any. They now can use Globals, but choose not to and pass priority to me. I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my opponent's Sidekick. Their Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step - Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my life total. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO'd. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).


Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

You can find the ruling about using a Global for no effect, here.

The picture below is the Turn Order Summary from the back of the Civil War Rulebook.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Turn Order.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	454.3 KB 
ID:	6486

Clean Up Step detailed on page 11-12 of the Civil War Rulebook.

Competitive Play Rating

This card seems to be pretty terrible for competitive play. One might think the Global would make it worthwhile, but even the Global seems poor. We have Distraction and Blink - Transmutation which are much better versions of the Motorcycle Global because they don't require the character to be blocked in order for you to pull them back. The ability on the card isn't particularly useful. Unless we have a rotation that includes sets all the way up to Faerūn Under Siege, I don't see this card making it onto any serious competitive team.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a competitive play rating of zero out of five stars.
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	0 Stars.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	10.1 KB 
ID:	6485

Casual Play Rating

Motorcycle may not have the most useful ability or Global for the competitive scene, but I could see someone trying to use it on a casual team with the Deadly Keyword. This is great teaching tool for timing, but I can't recommend this card for a beginner. A player with a better understanding of the turn order could probably find a fun use for this card. I still don't feel like the card itself is particularly useful with other cards that do similar things or have better versions of the abilities.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2 Stars.png 
Views:	30 
Size:	16.8 KB 
ID:	6484

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!
You can also find my articles on WordPress!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.


Roll on, Dice Masters!
Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments