View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #65 - Captain Cold's Cold Gun: Frozen "Firearm"

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today, we're going to take a look at Captain Cold's Cold Gun: Frozen "Firearm" from the DC Green Arrow and The Flash set.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Captain Cold's Cold Gun, Frozen Firearm.jpg 
Views:	219 
Size:	442.2 KB 
ID:	6488

Ruling - Continuous and Crossover

Captain Cold's Cold Gun (shortened to Cold Gun) is a Non-Basic Action Die and has the Continuous keyword. Continuous Action Dice stay in the Field Zone after you use the die. The die only leaves the Field Zone when the text on the card says it does or another effect would remove it. Cold Gun specifically says that you need to send it to the Used Pile in order to use the ability. Others work a little different, like the Lantern Rings from the DC War of Light set. Those are also Continuous Action Dice, but they do not leave the Field in order to grant the benefit of their abilities. A card effect would remove those Action Dice, like one on Constantine: Antihero.

When you use the ability on a Cold Gun die, you are not using the Action Die - you are using the ability on the Action Die. Some abilities will check for the use of an Action Die. For a Continuous Action Die, it's only considered to be used when it's placed in the Field Zone. Using the ability on the Action Die is not the same as using the Action Die.

Cold Gun is also a Crossover Action Die. Crossover dice require at least two types of energy to purchase one of the dice. Cold Gun cost three energy, and one must be a Bolt energy and another must be a Fist energy. The third energy can be any type. Wild energy may be used to purchase Crossover dice. If I have a Wild, Fist, and Mask energy, I would be able to purchase a Cold Gun die. If I have a Wild and two Mask energy, I would not be able to purchase a Cold Gun die. You can also reduce the cost of Crossover die, but you must spend the required energy types to purchase the die. If I use the Global on Red Dragon: Lesser Dragon, it reduces the cost of Cold Gun by two energy. Cold Gun only cost a total of three energy, but because it requires a Bolt and Fist, I must spend at least a Bolt and Fist to purchase the die.

Ruling - Ability

Cold Gun's ability says that you can send that die to the Used Pile to deal three damage to a target character. If the die is on any of its burst sides, you can ignore that die's text until the end of turn. You can use this die's ability at any time you could use a Global Ability, during your turn or your opponent's turn. Ignoring the text on one character's die does not ignore it on every copy. If there are multiple copies of a character in the Field Zone, only the targeted die's text will be ignored.

The ability on Cold Gun specifically says that you can use it anytime you could use a Global, so that tells you when your opportunities are. Both players have an opportunity to use Globals during the Main Step and Attack Step. To use the ability on Cold Gun during the Attack Step, you must wait until the Global Window after blockers have been assigned.

Attack Step

  • Assign Attackers
  • Assign Blockers
  • Turn Player can use Actions and Globals
  • Non-Turn Player can use Globals
  • Assign Damage
  • Resolve Damage


Affiliations and Types

Captain Cold's Cold Gun: Frozen "Firearm" is a Bolt and Fist Crossover Action and has no affiliation. This card also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Using a Continuous Action Die and Action Die Ability (Turn Player).


~ My opponent has a level three Scarecrow: Legion of Doom die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) After my Roll and Reroll Step, I have a Sidekick character, one Fist energy, one Mask energy, and a Cold Gun on a burst side in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I place my Sidekick in the Field Zone, but as long as Scarecrow is active, my Sidekick can't attack. I place my Cold Gun die in the Field Zone, which counts as using the Action Die. The Cold Gun ability does not do anything yet.
~ (Main Step) I spend my Fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use the Global on Anger Issues and give my Sidekick +1A.
~ (Main Step) I send my Cold Gun die to the Used Pile and target Scarecrow. This is considered using the Action Die ability. Scarecrow takes three damage and I can ignore his text until end of turn. I can attack with my Sidekick during the Attack Step since Scarecrow's text is ignored.


Example Two:
Using a Continuous Action Die Ability (Non-Turn Player).


~ My opponent has a level three Cheetah: Cursed Archaeologist in the Field Zone. I have a Cold Gun on a burst side in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) My opponent has played their dice and passed me priority. I can now use Globals, so I send my Cold Gun to the Used Pile and target Cheetah.
~ (Main Step) Cheetah takes three damage and I can now ignore her text until end of turn. I pass priority back to my opponent.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns Cheetah as an attacker. Her ability does not trigger because Cold Gun's ability allows me to ignore that die's text until end of turn.
~ (Attack Step - Assign Blockers) I do not assign any blockers.
~ (Attack Step - Assign and Resolve Damage) Cheetah assigns her three damage to me and I take three damage.


Example Three:
Using Cold Gun's Ability with Multiple Copies of a Character Active.


~ My opponent has two level three Scarecrow: Legion of Doom dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) After my Roll and Reroll Step, I have a Sidekick character, one Fist energy, one Mask energy, and a Cold Gun on a burst side in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I place my Sidekick in the Field Zone, but as long as Scarecrow is active, my Sidekick can't attack. I place my Cold Gun die in the Field Zone, which counts as using the Action Die. The Cold Gun ability does not do anything yet.
~ (Main Step) I spend my Fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use the Global on Anger Issues and give my Sidekick +1A.
~ (Main Step) I send my Cold Gun die to the Used Pile and target one of the Scarecrow dice. This is considered using the Action Die ability. The targeted Scarecrow die takes three damage and I can ignore the text on that particular die until the end of turn. I still can't attack with my Sidekick during the Attack Step because the other Scarecrow die's text is not ignored.


Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

You can find Keyword details on the WizKids Dice Masters Keyword Page.

Turn Order Reference - Back Page of the Civil War Rulebook

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Turn Order.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	454.3 KB 
ID:	6489

Competitive Play Rating

This is a potentially powerful card for competitive play. This is one that would go on my team in place of Kryptonite: Green Death and Prismatic Spray: Lesser Spell. If the three damage doesn't KO a character, you potentially get to ignore that particular die's text until end of turn if you roll one of the two burst sides. If I've got an empty slot on a team, this is probably going to be the first card up for consideration and it can find a place on almost any team out there. I know that Spray is sometimes used to get rid of PXG so your opponent can't use it, but I think there are greater benefits with this card. You can place it in the Field Zone and use it on your opponent's turn - neither Spray nor Kryptonite can boast that. Being able to easily damage and/or blank a die on your opponent's turn could turn the tides of a game in your favor.

Captain Cold's Cold Gun: Frozen "Firearm" gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 Stars.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	6490

Casual Play Rating

This is also a really powerful and useful card for casual play too, and I don't think it's too overpowered for a casual scene. It's also a wonderful teaching tool for beginners, and it's not overly confusing. The most confusing part is probably the Continuous Keyword, which can be quickly and easily explained. It might take some time for many beginners to get used to the difference between a regular Action Die and a Continuous Action Die. Each Continuous Action Die has its own ability and Cold Gun's is not overly complex or complicated. Players should pay extra attention to wording here, since it only allows you to ignore the text on a single copy of a character die. Players could easily forget that when there are multiple copies of a character die in the Field Zone, you'd need to zap each of them to ignore them all. This is definitely a good card for players to use and a great teaching tool for TO's to utilize as well.

Captain Cold's Cold Gun: Frozen "Firearm" gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4 Stars.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	15.8 KB 
ID:	6490

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!
You can also find my articles on WordPress!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.


Roll on, Dice Masters!
Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments