View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #88 - Luke Cage: Harlem Raised

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!


For this week's confusing card of the week article, we're going to take a look at Luke Cage: Harlem Raised from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	22 Luke Cage, Harlem Raised.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	424.4 KB 
ID:	6991

Ruling - Ability

Luke Cage's ability triggers only when he is blocked. When he's blocked, you may reroll him and if he rerolls into a character face, he gains Overcrush. If he rerolls into energy, you put him on his level one face and place him into the Field Zone and he will no longer be attacking.

Luke Cage's ability says that you may reroll him if he's blocked. This ability is optional, meaning if he's blocked, you aren't required to reroll him. If he's blocked and you decide to reroll him, he will remain on the character face that you rerolled him on and gain Overcrush.

If you choose to reroll a blocked Luke Cage die and it lands on an energy face, you will have to place his die back into the Field Zone at level one. This will remove him from the Attack Zone and he will no longer be considered attacking. Characters that blocked him will not take damage from him and he will not take damage from the blocking character dice.

It's worth noting that the normal rules for rerolling a character from the Field/Attack Zone into energy, would move that die to the Reserve Pool. Luke Cage has a special part to his ability that allows him to be placed on his level one side in the Field Zone instead.

Ruling - Overcrush

Overcrush is an ability that allows a blocked attacking character to deal damage to the defending player, so long as it's attack value is higher than the blocking character's defense value. If an attacking character has an attack of five and the blocking character has a defense of three, the defending player would take damage equal to the difference. In this example, the defending player would take two damage.

A character with Overcrush that's blocked can deal damage to the defending player only if all of their blockers are KO'd or REMOVED as blockers by other means. An example of removing the blocker would be the attacking player using an Imprisoned die on blocking characters during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

If a blocking character is removed or KO'd before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, the attacking character with Overcrush would deal their full attack value to the defending player.

Another important aspect about Overcrush that needs to be noted is how the damage is assigned and resolved. The blocking character is assigned the attacker's full attack value. Overcrush is a special ability that allows the excess damage, the amount greater than the blockers defense, to be dealt to the opponent. For example: I'm attacking with a character that has a seven attack and Overcrush. My opponent blocks with a Sidekick that only has one defense. The Sidekick is assigned seven damage, but Overcrush will allow me to deal six of that to my opponent.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Luke Cage is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Defenders affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #22 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on a character face.


Game State
- I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
- We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step - Assign Attackers)
- I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step - Assign Blockers)
- My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
- Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
- He lands on his level two character face and now has Overcrush.
- He is still attacking and still blocked by the two Sidekicks because he never left the Field Zone.
(Attack Step - Actions and Globals)
- I do not use any Actions or Globals.
- My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step - Assign and Resolve Damage)
- Luke Cage must KO all of his blockers in order to deal damage to my opponent.
- Luke Cage assigns one damage to one Sidekick and two damage to the other.
- Both Sidekicks assign their one damage to Luke Cage.
- Both the Sidekicks are KO'd by Luke Cage's combat damage and will go to the Prep Area.
- Because Luke Cage has Overcrush, the excess damage (greater than the Sidekick's defense) will be dealt to the defending player.
- My opponent will take one damage.
- Luke Cage will take two damage total from the blockers, but it's not enough to KO him.
- Luke Cage will return to Field Zone. He does not go Out of Play because he was blocked and not KO'd.

Example Two:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on an energy face.


Game State
- I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
- We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step - Assign Attackers)
- I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step - Assign Blockers)
- My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
- Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
- He lands on the single energy face.
- Luke Cage's die is now placed in the Field Zone on his level face. He is no longer attacking or blocked.
- The two Sidekick dice return the Field Zone as well, because the blocked character is no longer attacking.
(Attack Step - Actions and Globals)
- I do not use any Actions or Globals.
- My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step - Assign and Resolve Damage)
- There isn't any damage to assign or resolve.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Here are all the relevant Overcrush rulings:
Removed Blockers
Assigning Damage and Damage Dealt
Overcrush Clarifications

You can find a relevant rerolling ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Opinion and Strategy

I'm definitely not a fan of this card, but I can see why he appeals some players. There is that possibility of a rolling him onto his level three side with a six attack and Overcrush. But honestly, there are far better characters that just have Overcrush and better level one and level two attack stats. She-Hulk: Sensational is a perfect example. I think Carnage: Sinister and even Hill Giant: Apprentice Giant are better than this Luke Cage. All those example cost the same or less than Luke Cage. Hill Giant is the only one with really low defense but for a purchase cost of three, he's still better in my opinion. Folks have mentioned that you can pump his attack with a Global, or spin him up after the reroll with Mutation's Global, but those are far too unreliable. I think this Luke Cage has a purchase cost that's too high for his stats and ability, when there are characters that are better with the same purchase cost.

The image choice for the die is a little odd. There are plenty of folks out there that had no clue it was a flexing arm - including me. I thought it was a wonky heart or a cracked stone of some kind. While a flexing arm is perfect for Luke Cage, I think it could have been executed a little better. The art choice for this card is so awesome! I like when they occasionally choose art that shows the more casual side of the characters.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!


Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.


Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments