View RSS Feed

DiceDiceKitty

Confusing Card of the Week #89 - Hellcat: It's Patsy!

Rate this Entry
Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week's confusing card of the week article, we're going to take a look at Hellcat: It's Patsy! from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	07 Hellcat, It's Patsy.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	415.6 KB 
ID:	7115

Ruling - Ability

Hellcat has two different types of abilities on her card. One is a When Fielded ability and the other is a While Active ability.

Hellcat's When Fielded Ability

A When Fielded ability only triggers when the character die is placed into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool by paying it's fielding cost, or by a card ability that specifically says to 'field' the character die and not move or place the character die.

Hellcat's When Fielded ability says that you must name a target opposing non-Sidekick character when you field her die, which will replace any previous choices. Hellcat can only target an opposing non-Sidekick character die that's in the Field Zone for her ability.

A character with the Ally Keyword can not be targeted by Hellcat because Ally means that the dice is considered a Sidekick while in the Field Zone.

If you field a second Hellcat die while one is still active, you can name the same target opposing character. For example: I field Hellcat and name Batman. In the same turn, I field a second Hellcat and name Batman again.

Hellcat's When Fielded ability is not optional and must be used if there is a legal target.

Hellcat's While Active Ability

The second ability on Hellcat is her While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the characterís dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light Ė itís either on, or itís off.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	While Active Light.png 
Views:	17 
Size:	100.3 KB 
ID:	7116

Hellcat's While Active ability says that your opponent is dealt two damage the first time that they field the named character die. Your opponent will take that two damage each turn, but only the first time they field the character that Hellcat targeted with her When Fielded ability.

Hellcat's While Active ability is not optional. If Hellcat is active and your opponent fields the named character, they must take two damage. The damage can be redirected, reduced, etc with other game effects or abilities.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellcat is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #7 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:
Using Hellcat.


Game State
~ I have a level one Hellcat die and a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has an Alfred die and a level one Batman: Speedy Recovery die in the Field Zone.
~ It's during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend my one Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Hellcat's fielding cost.
~ I move Hellcat to the Field Zone and activate her When Fielded ability.
~ There is only one legal target for her ability, which is Batman. I can't target Alfred because he's an Ally and considered a Sidekick.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ I decide not to attack, so the Attack Step is bypassed and we proceed into the Clean Up Step.
(Clean Up Step)
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Now my opponent begins their turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ My opponent moves leftover dice from their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile.
~ My opponent draws four dice; two Sidekicks and two Batman dice.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ My opponent rolls their dice and they get two level one Batman characters, a Fist on a Sidekick die, and a Mask on a Sidekick die.
~ They choose to not reroll any of their dice.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays a Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for one of the Batman's fielding costs.
~ They field the Batman die and Hellcat's While Active ability triggers.
~ My opponent takes two damage, which will trigger Batman's Vengeance ability - "Whenever you take damage, KO a Batman die and return it to the Field Zone at level 2."
~ My opponent chooses to KO the Batman die they just fielded and then return him to the Field Zone at level two.
~ My opponent pays a Mask energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for the other Batman's fielding cost.
~ They field the Batman die on his level one side. Hellcat's ability will not trigger again because my opponent has already fielded a Batman this turn.

As long as Hellcat remains active with Batman as her target, my opponent will take two damage the first time they field a Batman die - every turn.

Official Sources

You can find a ruling about this card here, on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF).

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Opinion

I was very confused about Hellcat's While Active ability and took it to WORF - adding in a few other questions about her that the locals were asking too. I'm so glad they returned with an answer as quick as they did. Thanks WizKids!

I do not like her anywhere near as much as Lyssa Drak and as long as Lyssa is in Modern, I don't see any good reason to use this Hellcat. She'll likely be the Lyssa replacement when War of Light eventually rotates from Modern. As for Prime, I'm not sure if she's worth playing or not. She's worth testing out for Prime, and it will likely come down to the individual's style of play.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can read more articles on my WordPress site.

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Comments