View RSS Feed

archivist

Cards Requiring Further Clarification From the Guardians of the Galaxy Set

Rate this Entry
Now that many of you have played the latest set (hopefully), the following are a list of intent/interaction questions that require some explanation. Solutions and dialogue are welcomed!

Adam Warlock - Being Known As Him (C)
While Adam Warlock is active, your character die's “When fielded” effects trigger twice.

Questions: How does Adam’s ability interact with abilities that roll the fielded die posing two outcomes based on the roll, i.e. interacting with abilities like Catwoman – Femme Fatale? Would the first roll resolve and then the reroll occurs, regardless of the result of the first roll?

Catwoman – Femme Fetale:
When fielded, you may choose to roll this die. If it is a character face, KO target opposing character and leave Catwoman in play on the rolled face. If you roll an energy face, add Catwoman to your Prep Area.
Knowhere - Hive of Scum and Villainy (U)
You may spin all character dice in your Reserve Pool to level 3. You may field level 3 character dice for [1 energy] this turn instead of their printed Fielding Cost.

Question: Is this an "all or nothing" effect, or can I select which dice to spin up?

Knowhere - History Shrouded in Mystery (R)
You may swap any character die in your Used Pile or Field Zone for an unpurchased character die costing 1 more (return the swapped die to its card). Character dice swapped in the Field Zone stay on the same level.

Question: Is this exactly 1 more only or can it be 1 more or greater? {I would say it is exactly 1 more.}

Nova Corps Uniform - One Mind, One Purpose and A Symbol of Order (C) & (R)
(C) When fielded, equip to a character die. That character die gets +2A and +2D. If that character die leaves the Field Zone, send this die to the Used Pile.

(R) When fielded, equip to a character die. When that character die attacks, deal 1 damage to all opposing character dice. If that character die leaves the Field Zone, send this die to the Used Pile.

Question: Can a character die have more than one Nova Corps Uniform equipped to it, and thus these abilities stack? My assumption: even though this ability does not have the “Equip” keyword, to be consistent with the ruling on Magic Sword (27Feb2015), they would not.

The Collector - The Power Primordial (U)
When fielded, you and target opponent each select an unpurchased die. Choose one, and place the selected die in your Used Pile. Remove the other die from the game.

Questions: Does this include Basic Action dice?

The Kyln - 99.99% Mortality Rate (U)
Continuous: Randomly select a character die from each player's Field Zone and place them under The Kyln until The Kyln leaves the Field Zone. When you or a character die you control damage your opponent, send this die to the Used Pile.

Questions: How do you "randomly" select which character dice? Does this mean that the selection of the character die does not target?
Tags: None Add / Edit Tags
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

  1. jigsawhc's Avatar
    Knowhere - Hive of Scum and Villainy (U) -> seems like you have to spin all of them up or not use the action.
  2. pk2317's Avatar
    Adam - I believe based on the "multiple when KO'd effects" ruling, that you would (if desired) roll, resolve, then roll and resolve again (with the second being the final location).

    UC Knowhere - I would agree all or none. You could use the Action, choose 0, and then still choose to Field any/all level 3 to field for alternate cost.

    R Knowhere - exactly 1 more (PC+1), if able. In Golden I would say it cannot be used to turn a Sidekick into a Kobold/Morphing Jar, since Sidekicks cannot be "swapped" to their card.

    NCU - use the Magic Sword ruling linked. May have more than one but no stacking. (Note: this ruling *might* be evidence that Continuous Action Dice in the Field don't stack.)

    UC collector - text actually says "one of YOUR unpurchased dice". I believe any BAC has been ruled to be "one of your" for game purposes since you are able to purchase them.

    Kyln - line them up in a row left to right and use a d20 until you have a valid result for each side (if either player has more than 20 fielded character dice at any given time, you're not playing very well :P ). It is an effect that affects the player, having them "choose", ergo not "targeting" (same as Mr. Sinister Global, only random).
  3. archivist's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pk2317
    Adam - I believe based on the "multiple when KO'd effects" ruling, that you would (if desired) roll, resolve, then roll and resolve again (with the second being the final location).
    What is the citation for this ruling (so I do not have to search for it)? Thanks
  4. pk2317's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by archivist
    What is the citation for this ruling (so I do not have to search for it)? Thanks
    http://win.wizkids.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=12769
  5. UJamggp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pk2317
    Knowhere - History Shrouded in Mystery (R)
    You may swap any character die in your Used Pile or Field Zone for an unpurchased character die costing 1 more (return the swapped die to its card). Character dice swapped in the Field Zone stay on the same level.
    Is it implied that you can only purchase your own character die or ANY unpurchased character die(yours or your opponent)?
  6. pk2317's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by UJamggp
    Is it implied that you can only purchase your own character die or ANY unpurchased character die(yours or your opponent)?
    I believe this card should only allow you to acquire your own unpurchased dice.