Beholder: Master Aberration (Character Card)

IP:
Dungeons & Dragons
Set:
Battle for Faerūn
Collector #:
<< 3 >>
Rarity:
Starter
Character:
Beholder
Card:
<< Master Aberration >>
Cost:
7
Affiliation:
Alignment:
Max:
4
Ability:
If this is the first die assigned to attack this turn, you may immediately use each of the basic action dice abilities, without bursts, once, as if you had rolled those dice.

Global: Pay 1 energy. Move a die showing an action face from your reserve to your prep area. Do not roll it next turn.




[top]Clarifications

  • If you decide to use Beholder: Master Aberration's ability ("you may") when eligible, all four basic actions must be used.[1]
  • As indicated in the card text, Beholder's ability only applies to Basic Actions not, for example, Limited Wish, which is just an Action.[2]
  • Lex Luthor: Former President's ability ("Whenever you use a basic action die, roll it..") would not trigger since no action dice are actually being rolled. However, both Angel: Soaring ("If you used an action this turn...") and The Flash: Speedster ("If you played a basic action this turn...") would trigger.[3]
  • Even if Resurrection is an available Basic Action, Beholder's ability does not allow you to field an NPC outside of your Main Step (the same for other abilities that lack card text explicitly allowing it). However, you could use Beholder to copy the Rally! Basic Action and field Sidekicks.[4]
  • Beholder's ability resolves completely before any blockers are declared. For example, Beholder could attack and use Basic Action Imprisoned, capturing sidekicks before blockers are assigned.[5] Similarly, Beholder could use Imprisoned to capture an opponent's dice and then pay for the Distraction global to pull Beholder back from the Attack Zone, preventing damage to the opponent and keeping the dice captured.[6]
  • The Global Ability allows you to move a die with an action face to your prep area. The die waits a turn in the Prep Area, unrolled. If you moved a die to the Prep Area with this effect on turn 4, it would get rolled on turn 6.[7]


[top]Strategy

[top]Uses

[top]Counters

Ability Nullification
  • Constantine: Hellblazer: While Constantine is active, before your opponent's Clear and Draw Step, you may name a character. If that character is fielded this turn, ignore its text until end of turn and it cannot attack this turn.
  • Loki: Loki Laufeyson: While Loki is active, once per turn you may pay to deal 1 damage to a character die. That character die loses all of its abilities until end of turn. You may use this ability whenever you could use a Global Ability.

Attacker Removal
Capture
  • Deadman: Boston Brand: When fielded, capture an opposing character. This capture lasts until Deadman leaves play.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Apprentice Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Master Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again. Gelatinous Cube may block any number of NPCs.
  • Imprisoned: Basic Action: This die captures any number of opposing characters with a total fielding cost of 2 or less. This effect lasts until canceled or you damage your opponent (return the captured die to the field).
  • Loki: Trickster: When fielded, capture an opposing die of equal or lower level (return it to your opponent's field at the end of the turn).
  • Mind Flayer: Epic Humanoid: When fielded, capture an opposing non- character. This capture lasts until Mind Flayer leaves the field.
  • Minotaur: Paragon Humanoid: When assigned to attack, Minotaur captures one opposing die of a lower level. This die remains captured until the capturing die leaves the field or uses the ability again.

Knock Out
Prevent Fielding
  • The Joker: Clown Prince of Crime: When fielded, choose an opponent's character card, cancelling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while The Joker is active.
  • Loki: Gem-Keeper: When fielded, choose an opponent’s character card, canceling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while Loki is active. This effect lasts until you field another Loki.
  • Umber Hulk: Lesser Beast: When fielded, choose an energy type. Your opponent cannot field characters of that type next turn.

Removal
  • Emma Frost: White Queen: When fielded, you may pay to replace an opposing character with a Sidekick from the opponent's used pile.
  • Polymorph: Basic Action: Swap a fielded character with a non-NPC character from that player's used pile. Spin the character to level 1. This does not trigger "when fielded" effects.
  • Storm: African Priestess: When fielded, reroll a target opposing character. If the result is not a character, place that die in your opponent’s used pile.
  • Storm: Goddess of the Plains: When Storm attacks, reroll each of your opponent's characters. Place any die that does not result in a character in your opponent's prep area.

Usage Penalty
  • Jinzo: Trap Destroyer: While this monster is active, your opponent must pay 2 life to use an action die or global ability.
  • Professor X: Powerful Telepath: While Professor X is active, your opponent cannot use actions or global abilities. He or she can pay 2 life to prevent this effect for the rest of the turn.


[top]References

  1. ^ Beholder - Master Abberation Ability. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015
  2. ^ Beholder - Master Abberation Ability. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015
  3. ^ Beholder Master Aberration valid trigger Question. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-26-2015
  4. ^ Beholder, Master Aberration, Battle for Faerun. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015
  5. ^ Beholder Master Aberration Timing Question. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015
  6. ^ Beholder (Master Aberration) and Imprison w/Distraction. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  7. ^ Beholder - Minion Abberation. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015



Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments