Black Manta: Deep Sea Deviant (Character Card)

DC Comics
Justice League
Classic Legion of Doom
Collector #:
<< 78 >>
Black Manta
<< Deep Sea Deviant >>
Retaliation - If one of your Villains is KO'd, deal 1 damage to your opponent for each of your active Villains.
Alternate Art


  • Retaliation triggers for each active character with the ability but only once for each character. So if you had 3 Black Manta dice fielded and a Villain character was knocked out, Retaliation would only deal 1 damage.[1] Retaliation is the equivalent of “If this character is active and a character sharing an affiliation with this character is KO’d, deal 1 damage to an opposing player.” The exception to this is Black Manta: Deep Sea Deviant, who deals 1 damage to the opponent for each other active Villain when triggered, rather than just 1 damage.[2]
  • Retaliation will only trigger while Black Manta is active, i.e., at least one of his dice is in the Field Zone. If he is knocked prior to or during combat, he would no longer be active and his ability could not trigger. This is in contrast with characters whose abilities trigger when taking damage (e.g., Hulk: Green Goliath, Iron Man: Inventor). When these types of characters take lethal damage, they still took damage and fulfill the condition of their ability. When a character such as Black Manta is knocked out, it is no longer active when the condition for the ability is met.[3]




Ability Nullification
  • Constantine: Hellblazer: While Constantine is active, before your opponent's Clear and Draw Step, you may name a character. If that character is fielded this turn, ignore its text until end of turn and it cannot attack this turn.
  • Loki: Loki Laufeyson: While Loki is active, once per turn you may pay to deal 1 damage to a character die. That character die loses all of its abilities until end of turn. You may use this ability whenever you could use a Global Ability.
  • Magneto: Magnetic Monster: Zombie - when fielded, KO all non- Mangetos. While active, opposing characters with Purchase Cost 3 or lower lose their abilities. Professor X can't be fielded.
  • Prismatic Spray: Lesser Spell: All of your opponent's characters lose all their card text until the end of the turn.

  • Deadman: Boston Brand: When fielded, capture an opposing character. This capture lasts until Deadman leaves play.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Apprentice Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Master Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again. Gelatinous Cube may block any number of NPCs.
  • Imprisoned: Basic Action: This die captures any number of opposing characters with a total fielding cost of 2 or less. This effect lasts until canceled or you damage your opponent (return the captured die to the field).
  • Loki: Trickster: When fielded, capture an opposing die of equal or lower level (return it to your opponent's field at the end of the turn).
  • Mind Flayer: Epic Humanoid: When fielded, capture an opposing non- character. This capture lasts until Mind Flayer leaves the field.
  • Minotaur: Paragon Humanoid: When assigned to attack, Minotaur captures one opposing die of a lower level. This die remains captured until the capturing die leaves the field or uses the ability again.
  • Rogue: Anna Marie: When fielded, capture an opposing action die from the used pile or reserve pool. When Rogue attacks, you may use that action for free (with no bursts). Return it to the used pile after the attack step.
  • Rogue: Anna Raven: When fielded, you may capture an opposing die in the used pile (return it at the end of the turn). Spin it to level 1. Rogue copies that die's stats.
  • Rogue: Can't Touch This: When fielded, capture an opposing fielded character (until the end of the turn). Rogue copies that character's stats and abilities.
  • Thor: Odinson: When fielded, capture all opposing characters (return them at the end of the turn).
  • Ultron: Creation: When fielded, capture a target non-Villain character die (return it at end of turn).
  • Ultron Drone: Swarm of Destruction: If this character is KO'd, one of your other fielded characters may capture an opposing character (return it at end of turn).

Damage Reduction
Damage Reprisal
  • Captain America: Man Out of Time: While active, each time you take non-combat damage, deal 1 damage to an opponent.
  • Hulk: Green Goliath: While Hulk is active, whenever either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk deals 2 damage to each opposing character (no matter how many Hulks are fielded).
    He deals 3 damage instead.

Forced Attack
Forced Block
Knock Out
  • Batarang: Tool of the Bat: KO a level 1 character.
    Instead, KO a level 1 or level 2 character.
    Instead, KO a level 1 or level 2 character and place this die in your Prep Area after using it.
  • Cerebro: Cybernetic Intelligence: Place Cerebro on an X-Men die's card. It remains there until you or a card effect removes it (it is still in the field). When you field a die from that card, knock out one opposing die.
  • Crush Card Virus: Basic Action: Knock out one of your monsters in the field to knock out an opponent's monster up to 1 level higher than yours.
  • Cyborg: Vic Stone: When Cyborg attacks, KO an opposing character that is the same level as Cyborg.
  • Deadpool: Jack: When Deadpool attacks, you may assign an opposing character to block him. At the end of the turn, knock out that character.
  • Punisher: McRook: When Punisher assigns to attack, knock out one target opposing character. Your opponent may prevent this effect by paying 2 life.
  • Purple Worm: Greater Beast: Overcrush (deal excess damage to opponent)
    When assigned to attack, knock out a character (either player's), then deal damage to your opponent equal to that character's level.
  • Psylocke: Kwannon the Assassin: When fielded, you may pay to knock out one character.
  • War Machine: James Rhodes: When fielded, if you have Iron Man fielded, knock out an opponent's character.

Prevent Fielding
  • The Joker: Clown Prince of Crime: When fielded, choose an opponent's character card, cancelling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while The Joker is active.
  • Loki: Gem-Keeper: When fielded, choose an opponent’s character card, canceling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while Loki is active. This effect lasts until you field another Loki.
  • Umber Hulk: Lesser Beast: When fielded, choose an energy type. Your opponent cannot field characters of that type next turn.

  • Emma Frost: White Queen: When fielded, you may pay to replace an opposing character with a Sidekick from the opponent's used pile.
  • Polymorph: Basic Action: Swap a fielded character with a non-NPC character from that player's used pile. Spin the character to level 1. This does not trigger "when fielded" effects.
  • Storm: African Priestess: When fielded, reroll a target opposing character. If the result is not a character, place that die in your opponent’s used pile.
  • Storm: Goddess of the Plains: When Storm attacks, reroll each of your opponent's characters. Place any die that does not result in a character in your opponent's prep area.


Artist: Ivan Reis, Joe Prado, Rod Reis
Source: Aquaman (Vol 7) #12[4]

We don't have the source for this artwork!. You can help the Dice Masters Wiki by locating it.
Information needed: Artist(s), Original Source (Comic Book Issue?), Website reference


  1. ^ Does "Retaliation" stack?. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-29-2015
  2. ^ Clarification on Retaliation please. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-18-2015.
  3. ^ Black Manta's Retaliation. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 7-30-2015.
  4. ^ Aquamann Vol 7 #12. DC Database Wikia. Retrieved 30 July 2015.

Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments