To place under your die and temporarily remove from the game. When you Capture a die, move the captured die to your field and place your capturing die on top of it. The captured die no longer exists for game purposes. Once the capturing ends, place the die wherever it came from (the text on the capturing die’s card will tell you where you captured it from). Unless otherwise noted, capturing ends at the end of the turn, or when the capturing die is knocked out.

When character dice are captured, dice that are attached to them (such as Ring of Magnetism) go with them. Such attached dice are also considered to not be in play for game purposes, and they return to the Field Zone with the die they were originally attached to. The same is true for dice that have the Equip keyword in Dungeons & Dragons: Battle for Faerûn. When characters that Continuous dice are attached to are KO’d, or sent to the Used Pile, the Continuous die follows.


[top]Clarifications

  • Only character dice can be captured, unless specifically otherwise stated.[1] For example, Rogue: Anna Marie is able to capture action dice, even if they're on an energy face. They die maintain their identity as action dice. A player may have an action die in his or her reserve pool on your the opponents turn if its an energy face.[2]
  • Imprisoned: Basic Action Card takes into account the total fielding cost of all the characters it is trying to capture. It only looks at the die's face that is showing. So a level 1 Professor X would not be safe from Imprisoned but a level 3 Professor X would be. Imprisoned's effect ends when cancelled, removed from the field, or through its own effect (you dealing your opponent damage). Fielding a second Imprisoned die doesn't cancel the first one.[3]
  • When Imprisoned is used, both the capturing (Imprisoned) and captured (characters) dice are physically moved to the capturing player’s Field Zone, with the capturing die on top of the captured die/dice. The captured character(s) are considered out of play but the capturing die (Imprisoned) is considered to be in the player's Field and may be targeted by other game abilities as a result.[4]
  • The active player decides the order of effects that take place due to damage dealt. If simultaneous effects are controlled by the same player, that player chooses the order of those effects. For example, if Imprisoned is used to capture all opposing blockers and Thor: Legendary Warrior attacks ("When Thor damages your opponent, knock out an opposing character."), the attacking player can choose the order in which effects occur and either let the captured characters return to the field and KO a character, or have Thor miss his chance to KO one of them, and then release the captured characters.[5]
  • If a KO'd character die has Regenerate its ability would trigger first and, if successful, would prevent Gelatinous Cube from capturing it.[6]
  • Gelatinous Cube's ability is a “While active” ability. "While active" abilities are static effects that are in play as long as that character is in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is a subset of the Field Zone, so “While active” effects are still active when a character is in the Attack Zone. “While active” effects are not cumulative, i.e. the effects only occur once regardless of how many of that character is active in a player’s Field/Attack Zone (however, if both players have the same character active, the effects will occur once for each player).[7]
  • Each Minotaur: Paragon Humanoid and Mind Flayer: Epic Humanoid die can capture an opposing die (but only one).[8]
  • Beholder: Master Aberration's ability resolves completely before any blockers are declared. For example, Beholder could attack and use Basic Action Imprisoned, capturing sidekicks before blockers are assigned.[9] Similarly, Beholder could use Imprisoned to capture an opponent's dice and then pay for the Distraction global to pull Beholder back from the Attack Zone, preventing damage to the opponent and keeping the dice captured.[10]

[top]Sets Including this Keyword

[top]References

  1. ^ Imprisoned. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-12-2015.
  2. ^ Capture an action die with Rogue. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-24-2015
  3. ^ Imprisoned. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-12-2015.
  4. ^ Imprisoned Card and captured dice. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-7-2015.
  5. ^ Thor and Imprisoned. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 7-14-2015.
  6. ^ Gelatinous Cube - Apprentice Ooze and Regeneration. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015
  7. ^ Marvel Dice Masters FAQ. Wizkids.com. Retrieved 7-14-2015.
  8. ^ Minotaur: Paragon Humanoid. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-2-2015.
  9. ^ Beholder Master Aberration Timing Question. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015
  10. ^ Beholder (Master Aberration) and Imprison w/Distraction. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015

[top]Subcategories

There are 1 subcategories in this category, which are shown below.

C

[top]Pages in category "Capture"


Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments