Constantine: Hellblazer (Character Card)

IP:
DC Comics
Set:
Justice League
Collector #:
<< 137 >>
Rarity:
Super Rare
Character:
Constantine
Card:
<< Hellblazer >>
Cost:
2
Affiliation:
No Affiliation
Max:
4
Ability:
While Constantine is active, before your opponent's Clear and Draw Step, you may name a character. If that character is fielded this turn, ignore its text until end of turn and it cannot attack this turn.




[top]Clarifications

  • While active” effects are static effects that are in play as long as that character is in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is a subset of the Field Zone, so “While active” effects are still active when a character is in the Attack Zone. “While active” effects are not cumulative, i.e. the effects only occur once regardless of how many of that character is active in a player’s Field/Attack Zone (however, if both players have the same character active, the effects will occur once for each player).[1] Thus, having multiple Constantine: Hellblazer dice fielded does not permit the player to name multiple characters for Constantine's ability.[2]
  • If Constantine is active and his ability used, the effect remains even if he is knocked out at some point in the turn. “While active” only applies to the card’s first sentence, i.e., when the card is named. The remainder of the ability (“If that character is fielded this turn...”) does not require Constantine to be active. If Constantine needed to still be active, the second sentence would read, “While Constantine is active, if that character is fielded this turn…”). Similarly, Deadpool: Jack may force a character to block and subsequently knocked out the character at the end of the turn.[3] Even if Deadpool is knocked out, the effect remains because it resides on the target character, not on Deadpool. Constantine's effect resides in the named die as Jack's resides in the blocker.[4]
  • Sidekicks may not be targeted by Constantine: Hellblazer's ability.[5]
  • Constantine's ability will affect all copies of the named character already in the field if that character is fielded.[6]
  • The use of Constantine: Hellblazer’s ability to name a character is not considered “targeting” a character because the ability does not involve selecting any specific die in play. For example, Constantine can be used to name Superman™: Not a Bird or a Plane ("Superman cannot be targeted by opposing action dice or abilities")[7]
  • Spider-Man: "Tiger" ability ("pay a to prevent Spider-Man from being affected by an ability or game effect") cannot be used to avoid Constantine's ability because the text on Spider-Man’s card is ignored the moment he is fielded, and thus Spider-Man’s ability does not exist for game purposes at that point.[8]


[top]Strategy

[top]Uses

Prevent "When Fielded" Effects
For example:

[top]Counters

Ability Nullification
Capture
  • Deadman: Boston Brand: When fielded, capture an opposing character. This capture lasts until Deadman leaves play.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Apprentice Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Master Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again. Gelatinous Cube may block any number of NPCs.
  • Imprisoned: Basic Action: This die captures any number of opposing characters with a total fielding cost of 2 or less. This effect lasts until canceled or you damage your opponent (return the captured die to the field).
  • Loki: Trickster: When fielded, capture an opposing die of equal or lower level (return it to your opponent's field at the end of the turn).
  • Mind Flayer: Epic Humanoid: When fielded, capture an opposing non- character. This capture lasts until Mind Flayer leaves the field.
  • Minotaur: Paragon Humanoid: When assigned to attack, Minotaur captures one opposing die of a lower level. This die remains captured until the capturing die leaves the field or uses the ability again.
  • Rogue: Anna Marie: When fielded, capture an opposing action die from the used pile or reserve pool. When Rogue attacks, you may use that action for free (with no bursts). Return it to the used pile after the attack step.
  • Rogue: Anna Raven: When fielded, you may capture an opposing die in the used pile (return it at the end of the turn). Spin it to level 1. Rogue copies that die's stats.
  • Rogue: Can't Touch This: When fielded, capture an opposing fielded character (until the end of the turn). Rogue copies that character's stats and abilities.
  • Ultron: Bringing Order: When fielded, capture an opposing character die with a fielding cost 0 (return it at end of turn).
  • Ultron: Creation: When fielded, capture a target non-Villain character die (return it at end of turn).
  • Ultron Drone: Swarm of Destruction: If this character is KO'd, one of your other fielded characters may capture an opposing character (return it at end of turn).

Forced Attack
Forced Block
Prevent Fielding
  • The Joker: Clown Prince of Crime: When fielded, choose an opponent's character card, cancelling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while The Joker is active.
  • Loki: Gem-Keeper: When fielded, choose an opponent’s character card, canceling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while Loki is active. This effect lasts until you field another Loki.
  • Umber Hulk: Lesser Beast: When fielded, choose an energy type. Your opponent cannot field characters of that type next turn.


[top]Artwork

Artist: Ivan Reis, Joe Prado, Rod Reis
Source: Constantine (Vol 1) #1[9]
Art:


[top]References

  1. ^ Marvel Dice Masters FAQ. Wizkids.com. Retrieved 7-14-2015.
  2. ^ Multiple DC Contantine Hellblazers. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-7-2015.
  3. ^ Deadpool, AVX #70. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-26-2015
  4. ^ Constantine SR Ignore Timing. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-26-2015
  5. ^ (DC) Constantine: Hellblazer. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-26-2015
  6. ^ (DC) Constantine: Hellblazer. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-26-2015
  7. ^ Questions about Superman and Constantine. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-26-2015
  8. ^ Questions about Superman and Constantine. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-26-2015
  9. ^ Constantine Vol 1 #1. DC Database Wikia. Retrieved 15 July 2016.



Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments