Hulk: Anger Issues (Character Card)

IP:
Marvel
Set:
Avengers vs. X-Men
Collector #:
<< 7 >>
Rarity:
Starter
Character:
Hulk
Card:
<< Anger Issues >>
Cost:
7
Affiliation:
Max:
4
Ability:
While Hulk is active, when either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk gets +2A and +2D (until the end of the turn).
Hulk gets +3A and +3D instead.




[top]Clarifications

  • If a character has a game effect that is triggered by taking damage, the ability would trigger even if the character die takes enough damage to be knocked out. If the character is knocked out by a game effect, the ability does not trigger. Effects that KO characters (or ones that move characters to different zones) are not considered damage dealt to the character.[1]
  • Hulk's ability can be activated multiple times per turn. For example, if your opponent has Hulk and Human Torch: Johnny Storm fielded, Hulk could be dealt 1 damage each time your opponent fields a character, causing Hulk's ability to activate each time he takes damage.
    • Note that if something increases the amount of damage dealt to be "more" damage, Hulk wouldn't trigger an additional time.[2]

  • A card effect cannot be triggered multiple times by the same effect. For example, if both you and Hulk take damage, Hulk's effect will only happened once regardless of how many times the requirement for his effect is met. If any other source would then deal damage to you (Hulk’s controller) or Hulk, Hulk’s ability would trigger again.[3]
  • Any damage Hulk: Anger Issues takes would be assigned before his ability activates. For example, if level 1 Hulk takes 5 damage in an attack step, the damage is assigned and then his ability activates, and the defense gained keeps him alive. The additional attack gained by the ability does nothing to the die attacking/blocking Hulk since attack damage has already been assigned.[4] This isn't contradictory to the FAQ ruling[5] on other Hulks:

    Q: Can anything happen to a character after it deals damage but before it goes to the Used Pile? Could Hulk KO characters (with damage) who would normally be sent to the Used Pile?

    A: Short answer: No. Damage resolves, damage replacement effects are applied, and any characters with lethal damage are KO’d and moved to the Prep Area at the same time as characters who were unblocked go to the Used Pile. After that, other effects are applied (such as Hulk, Green Goliath’s). Characters go to the Used Pile as soon as they deal damage, before any other effects take place. All other effects then take place.

    The emphasis of FAQ item above is that unblocked characters can't have an ability stop them from going to the Used Pile unless specifically stated. The ability triggers when the damage is applied to the Hulk, at that point it takes 5 damage but at the same time gains 2 or 3 defense and 2 or 3 attack. Since it has already assigned attack damage, the additional attack does nothing, but the defense bonus will save it. Prior to the damage being applied, it could have been prevented or redirected, resulting in no damage to the Hulk and no stat changes.[6]



[top]Strategy

[top]Uses

[top]Counters



[top]Artwork

Artist: Mark Bagley
Source: Avengers Assemble (Vol 2) #6[7]
Art:


[top]References

  1. ^ Marvel Dice Masters FAQ. Wizkids.com. Retrieved 7-14-2015.
  2. ^ Can Johny Storm activate Green Goliath more than once?. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  3. ^ Marvel Dice Masters FAQ. Wizkids.com. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  4. ^ Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  5. ^ Marvel Dice Masters FAQ. Wizkids.com. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  6. ^ Hulk Anger Issues Timing Question. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  7. ^ Avengers Assemble Vol 2 6. Marvel Wikia Database. Retrieved 9 September 2015.



Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments