Human Torch: Flame On (Character Card)

Avengers vs. X-Men
Collector #:
<< 10 >>
Human Torch
<< "Flame On!" >>
While Human Torch is active, he deals 1 damage to a character or player each time you field a character (not 1 damage per die).

Global: Pay when you deal damage with an action die or global ability to deal one extra damage to one target.


  • Human Torch: Flame On's ability is a "While active" effect that is triggered by fielding other characters. As such, it cannot be prevented by character abilities that stop "When fielded" effects, e.g., Human Paladin: Master Lords Alliance[1]
  • Human Torch's ability would trigger when one Summons a Monster as if they had fielded a character. Character dice and monster dice are interchangeable. Sidekicks in the Field Zone count as Monsters and Characters.[2]
  • Hulk: Green Goliath's ability can be activated multiple times per turn by Human Torch. For example, if your opponent has Hulk and Human Torch: “Flame On!” fielded, Hulk could be dealt 1 damage each time your opponent fields a character, causing Hulk to deal 2 damage to your characters each time he takes damage. Note that if something increases the amount of damage dealt to be "more" damage, Hulk wouldn't trigger an additional time.[3]
  • The Human Torch: "Flame On!" global ability is not a new source of damage and can only increase damage being dealt. It can only add damage to a character who is already taking damage.[4]
  • Human Torch's Global Ability cannot be purchased multiple times. Certain global abilities, such as that of Human Torch and War Machine need something to happen for them to react to. They may only react in the appropriate window and only react once. After the first use, you're no longer reacting to the initial damage, you're reacting to an increase in damage or in War Machine's case you're reacting to a Global and not a character dealing damage to your opponent during the Attack Step.[5]




Ability Nullification
  • Constantine: Hellblazer: While Constantine is active, before your opponent's Clear and Draw Step, you may name a character. If that character is fielded this turn, ignore its text until end of turn and it cannot attack this turn.
  • Loki: Loki Laufeyson: While Loki is active, once per turn you may pay to deal 1 damage to a character die. That character die loses all of its abilities until end of turn. You may use this ability whenever you could use a Global Ability.

Damage Reprisal
  • Captain America: Man Out of Time: While active, each time you take non-combat damage, deal 1 damage to an opponent.
  • Hulk: Green Goliath: While Hulk is active, whenever either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk deals 2 damage to each opposing character (no matter how many Hulks are fielded).
    He deals 3 damage instead.

Forced Attack
Forced Block
Knock Out
Prevent Fielding
  • The Joker: Clown Prince of Crime: When fielded, choose an opponent's character card, cancelling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while The Joker is active.
  • Loki: Gem-Keeper: When fielded, choose an opponent’s character card, canceling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while Loki is active. This effect lasts until you field another Loki.
  • Umber Hulk: Lesser Beast: When fielded, choose an energy type. Your opponent cannot field characters of that type next turn.

Prevent Purchase
  • Polymorph: Basic Action: Swap a fielded character with a non-NPC character from that player's used pile. Spin the character to level 1. This does not trigger "when fielded" effects.
  • Storm: African Priestess: When fielded, reroll a target opposing character. If the result is not a character, place that die in your opponent’s used pile.
  • Storm: Goddess of the Plains: When Storm attacks, reroll each of your opponent's characters. Place any die that does not result in a character in your opponent's prep area.


Artist: Bryan Hitch, Cam Smith, Andrew Currie, Karl Kesel, Paul Mounts
Source: Fantastic Four (Vol 1961) #563[6]


  1. ^ Human Paladin: Master Lords Alliance ability. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-18-2015
  2. ^ Marvel and YuGiOh Dice Masters keyword differences. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  3. ^ Can Johny Storm activate Green Goliath more than once?, Human Torch "Flame On" Global Ability Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  4. ^ Human Torch "Flame On" Global Ability. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  5. ^ How Many Times Can I Pay for a Global/Ability?. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  6. ^ Fantastic Four Vol 1961 #563. Marvel Database Wikia. Retrieved 1 November 2016.

Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments