Jocasta: Patterned After Janet (Character Card)

IP:
Marvel
Set:
Age of Ultron
Collector #:
<< 137 >>
Rarity:
Super Rare
Character:
Jocasta
Card:
<< Patterned After Janet >>
Cost:
4
Affiliation:
Max:
4
Ability:
The first time Jocasta would be dealt damage, instead deal that damage to your opponent.




[top]Clarifications

  • Jocasta: Patterned After Janet’s ability may only trigger once per turn regardless of how many Jocasta dice take damage. Put differently, the ability refers to the first time that the character Jocasta takes damage, and not the first time a particular Jocasta die takes damage. "The intent underlying this card—and any other card that triggers the first time each turn a character is dealt damage—is that the ability trigger once per turn at the most. As a result, if you block two 1A 1D Sidekick dice with 2 Jocasta dice (1 per attacking Sidekick), your opponent would take 1 damage."[1]
    • While Jocasta's ability appears to be self-referential like that of Black Widow: Tsarina or Beast: Mutate #666, Wizkids has ruled that the phrase "the first time" indicates that other Jocasta dice taking damage cannot fulfill the condition: "Tsarina's ability triggers when she attacks, and each of her dice may attack to cause the ability to happen. After one of Jocasta's dice have been damaged, other of her dice to receive damage are no longer fulfilling the first time Jocasta takes damage requirement for her ability."
    • If two or more Jocasta dice take damage simultaneously, the player who controls Jocasta would decided which die triggers her ability: "Damage happens simultaneously. Then, Jocasta's ability tries to go off if it was the first time any of that player's Jocasta dice would take damage. 'If simultaneous effects are controlled by the same player, that player chooses the order of those effects.' -p. 21 of the Marvel Dice Masters: Amazing Spider-Man rulebook. So the player with Jocasta chooses which instance of her ability triggers (for the 1 damage or the 8 damage), and the remaining instances would not (since they are no longer first). ... The same is true for Basic Action Cards that would deal damage to multiple Jocasta dice (Force Beam, Fireball); the Jocasta player chooses an instance of her ability to go first - none of the others happen."[2]

  • Human Paladin's Global Ability can reduce the damage deal from Jocasta: Patterned After Janet’s ability to one. Damage resulting from Jocasta: Patterned After Janet’s ability is damage from a character ability. Certain cards state that they “redirect” damage (e.g., Iron Man: Inventor, Nova: Bucket Head, Stargirl: Yankee Poodle Fangirl). Jocasta, on the other hand, does not include such language. As a result, the effect of Jocasta’s ability has two parts, (1) the original damage to Jocasta being prevented, and (2) Jocasta deals an amount of damage equal to the amount presented to the opposing player.[3]
  • If Loki: Loki Laufeyson targets Jocasta: Patterned After Janet, as much of Loki's ability should be resolved as possible before any other effects can happen. 1 damage would be dealt to Jocasta at the same time as she loses her abilities. Jocasta would take the 1 damage. These are two components of the same effect, Loki making a character lose its abilities is not contingent on the damage being successful (it could be prevented with other effects). If the player with Loki is not the active player, there is a chance that something happens to Loki before his ability can be used by the player.[4]


[top]Strategy

[top]Uses

[top]Counters

Ability Nullification
  • Loki: Loki Laufeyson: While Loki is active, once per turn you may pay to deal 1 damage to a character die. That character die loses all of its abilities until end of turn. You may use this ability whenever you could use a Global Ability.[5]
  • Prismatic Spray: Lesser Spell: All of your opponent's characters lose all their card text until the end of the turn.

Capture
  • Deadman: Boston Brand: When fielded, capture an opposing character. This capture lasts until Deadman leaves play.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Apprentice Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again.
  • Gelatinous Cube: Master Ooze: Whenever a character is knocked out during the attack step, you may pay to have Gelatinous Cube capture it. This capture lasts until it is used again.
    Gelatinous Cube may block any number of NPCs.
  • Imprisoned: Basic Action: This die captures any number of opposing characters with a total fielding cost of 2 or less. This effect lasts until canceled or you damage your opponent (return the captured die to the field).
  • Loki: Trickster: When fielded, capture an opposing die of equal or lower level (return it to your opponent's field at the end of the turn).
  • Mind Flayer: Epic Humanoid: When fielded, capture an opposing non- character. This capture lasts until Mind Flayer leaves the field.
  • Minotaur: Paragon Humanoid: When assigned to attack, Minotaur captures one opposing die of a lower level. This die remains captured until the capturing die leaves the field or uses the ability again.
  • Rogue: Anna Marie: When fielded, capture an opposing action die from the used pile or reserve pool. When Rogue attacks, you may use that action for free (with no bursts). Return it to the used pile after the attack step.
  • Rogue: Anna Raven: When fielded, you may capture an opposing die in the used pile (return it at the end of the turn). Spin it to level 1. Rogue copies that die's stats.
  • Rogue: Can't Touch This: When fielded, capture an opposing fielded character (until the end of the turn). Rogue copies that character's stats and abilities.
  • Ultron Drone: Swarm of Destruction: If this character is KO'd, one of your other fielded characters may capture an opposing character (return it at end of turn).

Damage Reduction
Forced Attack
Knock Out
Prevent Blocking
Prevent Fielding
  • The Joker: Clown Prince of Crime: When fielded, choose an opponent's character card, cancelling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while The Joker is active.
  • Loki: Gem-Keeper: When fielded, choose an opponent’s character card, canceling all previous choices. Your opponent cannot field that character while Loki is active. This effect lasts until you field another Loki.
  • Umber Hulk: Lesser Beast: When fielded, choose an energy type. Your opponent cannot field characters of that type next turn.

Prevent Purchase
Removal
  • Polymorph Global Ability: Global: Pay . Spin one of your characters down a level to spin another character up a level.
  • Storm: African Priestess: When fielded, reroll a target opposing character. If the result is not a character, place that die in your opponent’s used pile.
  • Storm: Goddess of the Plains: When Storm attacks, reroll each of your opponent's characters. Place any die that does not result in a character in your opponent's prep area.


[top]Artwork

Artist: Andre Lima Araujo, Frank D'Armata
Source: Avengers A.I. (Vol 2013) #7.INH[7]
Art:


[top]References

  1. ^ Jocasta SR trigger. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 1-7-2016.
  2. ^ Jocasta SR trigger
  3. ^ Human Paladin vs Jocasta. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-14-2015.
  4. ^ Jocasta VS Loki. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-14-2015.
  5. ^ Jocasta VS Loki. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-14-2015.
  6. ^ Human Paladin vs Jocasta. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 8-14-2015.
  7. ^ Avengers A.I. Vol 2013 #7.INH. Marvel Wikia Database. Retrieved 4 November 2016.



Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments