Namor: The Sub-Mariner (Character Card)

Uncanny X-Men
Collector #:
<< 48 >>
<< The Sub-Mariner >>
If you have at least two other characters fielded, Namor cannot be blocked.


  • The two other characters minimally required for Namor: The Sub-Mariner's ability must be different characters.[1] Cards that count characters must count unique, active characters. Namor cannot be blocked if you have at least two other characters fielded. If you have 1 Green Goblin die, 2 Venom dice, and a Namor: The Sub-Mariner die he can't be blocked.[2]
  • Generally character count abilities fall into two categories:
    1. The more the merrier. If it is something that gives a bonus based on multiple things in play, then "character" implies uniqueness and it ignores duplicates. In future releases, a card like Basic Action Teamwork would be worded as follows: "Each of your fielded characters gains +1A and +1D for each other active character you control that shares a team affiliation with it." The word active lets you know it happens no matter how many copies of that die are in the field.
    2. Leave me alone. If it is something that requires it to be the only thing in the field, then "character" is typically actually referring to individual dice and it will consider other dice, even if they are duplicates, to be "present" for purposes of determining whether the effect will trigger. This occurs on cards like the solo attack Wolverines, in the future cards like this will typically use language similar to, "If a Wolverine die attacks alone it cannot be blocked." Namor falls into the More the Merrier category.[3]





Artist: Ron Lim, Scott Koblish, Rob Ro
Source: Fantastic Five (Vol 2007) #1[4]


  1. ^ Uncanny X-Men Namor The Sub Mariner. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-19-2015
  2. ^ Teamwork FAQ Question. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 7-16-2015.
  3. ^ Uncanny X-Men Namor The Sub Mariner. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-19-2015
  4. ^ Fantastic Five Vol 2007 #1. Marvel Database Wikia. Retrieved 31 October 2016.

Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments