[top]Definition

A reference to the Global Ability found on the Common Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants and Professor X: Trainer from Marvel Dice Masters: Uncanny X-Men:
Global: Pay . Move up to 2 Sidekick dice from your used pile to your prep area.


[top]Card(s)



[top]Strategy

[top]DiceAnon 12 Dec 14

http://www.diceanon.com/professor-x-global/
Professor X, his Global (doin’ the Thing), and his counter
Over and over people ask us how to conquer the Global of Professor X in Uncanny X-Men. The first answer is in the form of a question: Why? The second answer – a bit delayed – is usually something no one wants to hear. So, Shawn and I worked through some points people might be missing. We hope it helps. We have co-authored this article to spread some light on this Global.

On Oct 22nd (oops, I mean Oct. 29th) Wizkids released a card that would forever change the state of the game. All builds have changed. Characters with 7 costs can be purchased on turn 2 or 3. The mindset of keeping your sidekicks on the table, has changed, sidekicks are now better off in your bag, or in the Used Pile. Whole turns are based around how many Masks get rolled. In some of the WKO drafts, (where only AVX Basic Action Cards were allowed, with UXM as the drafted set) whole games were played and won without purchasing a character. They would purchase only Power Bolts. Granted, the change to the Used Pile, adding in the “Transition Zone” can be part of the reason, but we now have a more clearly defined time as to when a turn ends.

I’m slightly confused why people don’t like this Global. I’ve heard everything from “the shuffling of dice every turn is getting annoying,” to “I just want a better game.” What does the latter even mean? I understand the former… mostly.

The state of the game before the Prof. X Global (PXG)

Maybe it’s been so long we’ve all forgotten what it was like not to have any PXG around. Let me be the first to remind you of this past hell:

Attachment 1025

Let’s see, Distraction, Beast, and a taunt from someone such as Mr. Fantastic. Oh wow, did we all just love these 50 minute games. #sarcasm

There were all of two real ways to churn dice in AVX: Beast and the Johnny Storm/Quasar combo. The rest were just plain silly, or inefficient. Sure Silver Surfer did churn also, and was great at triggering Hulk, but we’re talking about real churn, not killing one’s self from said churn.

Prior to PXG, one would set up a Beast wall then force an opposing character to attack and block with all Beasts, distract the attacker back and churn an inordinate amount of dice. Twenty seven turns later, maybe someone won… Maybe time was called!

The Significance of PXG

This is real churn. Yes, the “shuffling” of dice might be annoying. However, being able to have more than one 6+ cost card on a team, and being able to purchase that card any given game is something only realized with PXG’s consistency.

Maybe some aren’t fully understanding how to utilize this Global. Here are some standard rules of thumb:


There is this one.


Then this one.


If you are cool, you might even have one of these.


What does the Global mean? What does it do?

Pay 1 Mask, move up to 2 Sidekick dice to the Prep Area.

With the cost of 1 Mask, you can add 2 to the amount of dice you can add to your dice in the next turn. This is a basic 2 for 1, and sometimes even a 1 for 1. In extreme cases, this might even be a 1 for 0.

Mask = Shenanigans. The Mask is definitely the energy type for making crazy things happen. There are several abilities that a Mask can trigger, here are a few of the popular ones:
•The ability to move a blocker out of the way
•Stop an attacker in his tracks
•Taunt a character to be forced to attack
•Turn a villain into energy
•and now with Xavier, move up to 2 sidekicks to the Prep Area

How does it work?

During a step where a Global can be used (or before that point) announce to the other player that you will be using a Global. Once the priority is yours (if applicable), pay 1 Mask energy to move up to 2 sidekick dice from your used pile to your Prep Area. The Global can be repeated. However, according to the Rules addition from WizKids regarding the Transition Zone, there are a few stipulations when targeting dice in the Used Pile.

Helpful Advice.
•If you have another energy type from a sidekick die in your Reserve Pool, and you are able to use it, use it before using PGX.
•e.g.: if you have a bolt and a Mask in your reserve pool, and access to a Global that costs a bolt, use the Global, spending the bolt first. This gives you access to that sidekick die as an additional target for the PXG if needed.

•If your opponent is saving a ton of Masks to use PXG with, clearly announce that you are done with your Main Step. If your opponent does not use the Global, determine if it might be better off to not attack and force your opponent to waste their energy, rather than ramp up to a larger energy pool on the following turn. This might look like a jerk move, but as long as you are clear in letting the opponent know you were done with your main step and your opponent did not use a Global, your opponent is the one attempting to bend the rules if they chooses to go back to your main step.
•If you do not declare an Attack Step and instead simply end your turn after declaring the end of your Main Step, then it is bypassed completely and there is no opportunity for your opponent to use their dice for Globals at that point.
•If you have a non-sidekick die with Mask energy, and a sidekick die with Mask energy, always use the sidekick die first. This gives you an opportunity to get more targetable dice into the Used Pile to use for PXG.
•The Global can be used to move 0, 1, or 2 sidekick dice. If you have multiple Sidekick dice in the reserve, you can spend 1 of them to move “up to 2 sideckicks”. With 0 sidekicks, this would seem like a waste, but if you can use your other Mask energy to move sidekicks, this could be important.
•e.g: I have no dice in the used but I have 3 sidekick dice rolled into Masks in the Reserve Pool. If I have nothing else to spend them on, I should use the first one to activate the PXG and move nothing, now my second and third Masks have targets and I guarantee two sidekick dice in the Reserve Pool on the next turn.

•You should be Ramping! I can hardly think of a time where it’s better to spend the energy on something over saving 1-2 Sidekicks and paying for the Global.
•It’s simple math! I save one, I get two. Unless you’re purchasing your win-condition, you should be ramping, not spending. Eventually your dice will fall right, and you’ll get just what you wanted. Purchase then!

•If you’re rolling with less than 6 dice every turn, you’re doing it wrong. I consistently roll with 7-8 dice… if not 10 dice per turn. Every turn. Yes there are exceptions, but for general purposes, just keep rolling more dice!

When do you do it?

“So, I’m gonna do the thing”

Tell me we’ve all heard or said this! I watch Hangout games and I realized it wasn’t just us Americans saying this. When anyone uses the PXG they seem to always say “I’m gonna do the thing,” or “aaaand, the thing.” It’s hilarious!

The Global can be used at any time a Global can be played. Keeping in mind used energy goes to transition on your turn, and there is no transition during an opponent’s turn, the opponent’s turn would be the ideal time to use the ability. There might be a reason other than that time to use it, but it definitely works best during the opponent’s turn. This has created a false presumption of there being an “end of your turn” part of the turn. Let us be perfectly clear. There is not! This is not Magic. Those rules do not apply directly. Instead, this is done during the opponent’s Main Step preferably, after the active player has finished all actions and passes precedence the the inactive player.

With that being said, both players have 2 parts of a turn that Globals can be used. The Main Step, and the Attack Step. If there is no Attack Step, there is no opportunity for the inactive player to use Globals. So, the inactive player should always use this Global during the main step, unless there is certainty that the active player will attack. Once the active player announces the end of the main step, if an attack does not happen, the inactive player cannot go back and decide to use Globals after the fact. All is fair in love and war, if the active player announces the end of the main step and the inactive player chooses to save enrgy for the Attack Step, and an attack does not happen, the energy is lost, Clear and Draw.

How to counter PXG
1.Don’t bring it! This seems simple enough, but if you don’t want a Global available, see to it you don’t bring that Global yourself.
2.Know how to use it better than your opponent. Utilizing some of the ideas above, do not let the opponent out-ramp you.
3.Bring the Global-slower-downer:
•It’s not perfect. This is known. However, once he is out, their Global either comes to a crashing stop, or they kill themselves paying two life every turn. Both options are good in my book!

4.Hope and pray they don’t have it…?

I wish there were solid Global counters, however, this early in the game’s infancy, we just don’t have it yet!

As for now, go play and enjoy that which is with us to stay!

May the rolls be forever in your favor,

Mathew~ (and Shawn)

[top]DiceAnon 21 Dec 14

http://www.diceanon.com/strategy-pxg-dice-count/
Quickie Strategy: Counting Dice w/ PXG

While in a casual Google+ Hangout with Scott Hill and Freddy Ortiz, we talked a little about Professor X. Those of you who follow Diceanon know that we definitely give Professor X’s Global (PXG) too much attention. Well we’re doing one more strategy guide for everyone looking to enhance their game with this Global.

The latter half of my first article was dedicated to how to use the ability well.

My Patch article includes a step by step example of openings that help kickstart your PXG Ramp.

Mathew and Shawn collaborated on the timing nuances involved with using and countering PXG.

I wanted to add on just a little bit more. For readability’s sake, I’ll make this into a Top 3 List of numbers to be aware of while managing your usage of PXG. The following article concentrates entirely on using PXG to prep 2 dice as much as possible. Obviously, there will be times when you use PXG to prep one die at a time.

1. The Optimal Number of Sidekick Dice in the Used Pile

[Optimal # of SK in Used] = [# of SK Masks for PXG] + 1

Remembering this will allow you to figure out exactly how many sidekicks you should try to swing into your opponent with in order to maximize your ramp. If you are safe to do so, you should always try and take sidekicks off your field in order to hit those optimal ramp numbers.

# of PXG Uses # of SKs in Used
4 5
3 4
2 3
1 2

I added 4x PXG even though you can’t actually do it with only sidekicks because I felt the minimum number of sidekicks you can start with in used in order to prep all 8 sidekicks is useful.

2. Max Number of Sidekicks Fielded for Each Optimal PXG Use

# of PXG Uses Max # of SK Fielded
4 0
3 2
2 4
1 6

Once again, this is very straight forward. You can only prep up to 8 sidekicks in a 2 player game. However, if you do not have Mask energy characters, your Max # of SKs available is effectively reduced by 1 because the final sidekick used cannot target itself. It goes without saying, for 4x Optimal Uses, mask characters are needed. The practical max # of sidekicks you can field is reduced further by your bag limitations. You will take damage if you don’t have enough sidekicks in your bag.

3. Using PXG on Turn 2 (and Beyond) Without Burning Yourself

This one is kind of complicated. It assumes you used PXG once on turn 1, while buying a cheap character and plan to use it more than once on turn 2. Once again, my Patch article includes an example of this. On turn 2, the following are the relevant moves you can do without burning yourself:

PXG Uses Dice Purchases # of SK Fielded
2 1 1-2
2 2 1-3
3 1 0
3 2 1

In general, you won’t burn yourself if you use PXG less than twice. Notice that if we intend to field the first couple characters we buy, the number of sidekicks we can keep fielded stays below the max seen in Table #2 for a long time. We need characters in the bag replacing the sidekicks to avoid taking burn damage. Keeping count of your dice goes a long way in this respect.

[# of SK to keep in Used Pile] = 4 – [Characters in Used Pile] – [Dice in Bag] – [Dice Left in Reserve]

Pretty obvious stuff, but I find it faster to do this kind of math than simulating/dry running your PXG usage. I see the last bit neglected a lot when people try to do that.

Bonus: Taking the Burn

This isn’t a part of the list because I can’t make a table for it. It’s very simple though. Every time you leave a sidekick in your Used Pile to avoid taking burn in the Clear and Draw phase, you are losing half the ramp from PXG. After all, you get 1 Generic Energy when you don’t have enough dice to draw. In AvX, there were a whole lot of people using Silver Surfer. They paid 1 Energy and 2 Life to get one more energy for the next turn.

Under this context, it’s a bit silly to not pay half an Energy and 1 Life to get one more energy the next turn. That one extra energy often saves you MUCH more than one life. Basically, any situation in which you would use Silver Surfer is a situation you should be willing to use PXG to the point of burning yourself. Some teams’ strength is directly related to how quickly they can field their core 6-cost character. Those teams need every bit of extra energy consistency that they can get. Essentially, you can just often ignore Table #3. It’s up to you to decide if keeping that sidekick on the field will save you more than one life. If not, you may probably want to just add it to the roll to make sure you get the energy you want.

Closing

I hope that with this, we will have finally managed to completely cover PXG. Sorry to anyone who is tired of the subject, but this article was frankly a lot easier for me to pump out than the stuff I’ve been tinkering with in the pipeline. Till next time.

-Nicholas Pham


[top]Wizkids Rules Forum




Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments