Phoenix: Redd (Character Card)

Avengers vs. X-Men
Collector #:
<< 86 >>
<< Redd >>
When Phoenix is engaged, you may spend to deal 4 damage to target character or opponent.

Global: Pay . Target character must attack.


  • Phoenix's ability cannot be purchased multiple times. Certain abilities, such as that of Phoenix, and the global abilities of Human Torch: "Flame On!" and War Machine need something to happen for them to react to. They may only react in the appropriate window and only react once. After the first use, you're no longer reacting to the initial damage, you're reacting to an increase in damage or in War Machine's case you're reacting to a Global and not a character dealing damage to your opponent during the Attack Step.[1][2]

  • “Target character must attack” effects—such as the global ability on Phoenix: Redd—can be paid with their respective energy during the Main Step of your opponent’s turn to force a single target character die to attack this turn. For example, during an opponent’s Main Step, a player could use Phoenix: Redd’s global ability by paying and choosing an opposing player’s active character die. That character would be forced to attack during that player’s attack step. Players can activate “target character must attack” effects during the Attack Step, but since attackers have already been assigned (during the Assign Attackers phase of the Attack Step) the opportunity for those characters to attack has already passed and the net result would be paying for an effect, choosing a target, and the effect of the Global Ability would do nothing.[3]





Artist: Greg Land
Source: X-Men: Phoenix - Endsong (Vol 2005) #1[4]


  1. ^ Human Torch "Flame On" Global Ability. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-20-2015
  2. ^ How Many Times Can I Pay for a Global/Ability?. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-27-2015
  3. ^ Marvel Dice Masters FAQ. Retrieved 7-14-2015.
  4. ^ X-Men: Phoenix - Endsong Vol 2005 1. Retrieved 30 August 2016.

Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments