Professor X: Powerful Telepath (Character Card)

IP:
Marvel
Set:
Avengers vs. X-Men
Collector #:
<< 87 >>
Rarity:
Uncommon
Character:
Professor X
Card:
<< Powerful Telepath >>
Cost:
5
Affiliation:
Max:
4
Ability:
While Professor X is active, your opponent cannot use actions or global abilities. He or she can pay 2 life to prevent this effect for the rest of the turn.




[top]Clarifications

  • While active” effects are static effects that are in play as long as that character is in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is a subset of the Field Zone, so “While active” effects are still active when a character is in the Attack Zone. “While active” effects are not cumulative, i.e. the effects only occur once regardless of how many of that character is active in a player’s Field/Attack Zone (however, if both players have the same character active, the effects will occur once for each player).[1]
  • Professor X: Powerful Telepath requires the opposing player to pay life to circumvent his effect. This 2 life is considered a cost and not the equivalent of taking damage. As a result, character effects that depend upon the opposing player taking damage would not trigger (e.g., Hulk: Green Goliath).[2]


[top]Strategy

[top]Uses

[top]Counters

Ability Nullification
  • Loki: Loki Laufeyson: While Loki is active, once per turn you may pay to deal 1 damage to a character die. That character die loses all of its abilities until end of turn. You may use this ability whenever you could use a Global Ability.
  • Prismatic Spray: Lesser Spell: All of your opponent's characters lose all their card text until the end of the turn.

Prevent Fielding


[top]Artwork

Artist: Stuart Immonen
Source: Ultimate X-Men (Vol 2000) #58[3]
Art:


[top]References

  1. ^ Marvel Dice Masters FAQ. Wizkids.com. Retrieved 7-14-2015.
  2. ^ Paying Life vs. Taking Damage. Wizkids Rules Forum. Retrieved 6-23-2015
  3. ^ Ultimate X-Men Vol 2000 #58. Marvel.com. Retrieved 4 October 2016.



Posting Permissions

Posting Permissions
  • You may not create new articles
  • You may edit articles
  • You may not protect articles
  • You may not post comments
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your comments