Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Black Canary Super Rare Question

  1. #1

    Black Canary Super Rare Question

    Hello

    To help settle another debate

    Redd
    When Phoenix is engaged, you may spend [2 Bolt] to deal 4 damage to target character or opponent

    Black Canary
    Dinah Laurel Lance
    When Black Canary attacks, you may pay [1 Bolt] to prevent a target character from blocking this turn.

    So assume it would be the same rule for both these cards.
    Lets pretend you have 2 Canary dice in the field out with 3 lightning bolts to possibly use

    How many times can you use her ability?

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Any "when X pay Y to do Z" ability is one Y per instance of X.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    But could you pay 2 bolts for Phoenix's ability multiple times? I assumed 'yes', I just figured she had to be engaged to do so. I never thought is this ability as a "response ability"

  6. #6
    "When Pheonix is Engaged," pay once only.
    "If Pheonix is Engaged," Pay as many times as you want.

    DAMN YOU IF/WHEN!!!!!!!

  7. #7

    comparing a promo with a super rare

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Yeah, Black Canary has a significantly better die with superior stats and costs across the board. Also, with the Superwoman and Iceman globals available, I think she's actually better for not being a bolt energy since she fits better into a bashy fist composition instead of being forced into a bolt team where most strategies are going to be burn focused or include their own blocker removal a la Blue Dragon or Magic Missile.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
    "When Pheonix is Engaged," pay once only.
    "If Pheonix is Engaged," Pay as many times as you want.

    DAMN YOU IF/WHEN!!!!!!!
    Really? I would have interpreted Redd as working per blocker. Granted that is still 2 bolts per blocker.

  11. #11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •