Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Batman Bruce Wayne question

  1. #1

    Batman Bruce Wayne question

    This card states "When fielded, you may purchase a basic action die for 1 (This may not reduce a die’s cost below 1)." I take that as you can purchase any Basic Action Die for 1 Energy instead of what is stated on the card. But what does the statement in the brackets mean?

  2. #2
    It is a reminder of the overall rule that costs cannot go below 1 unless specifically stated. Otherwise, I could use the Red Dragon Global (Pay : the next Action die you buy costs 2 less), then field Batman, and the game would owe me 1 energy?

  3. #3
    The Red Dragon card makes sense because the cost reduces by a certain amount. But Bruce Wayne gives a new price of the Basic Action Card costs 1 so there is no possibility to go below 1 so it seems strange to have it printed.

  4. #4
    really the thing that makes this strange, is that until DC WizKids had been been forgetting to put this rule on anything that changes cost. This is simply a reminder, that should go on EVERY cost reduction or changing ability to let you know that you can't get anything for free. (half dragon being an exception)

  5. #5
    ah gotcha. in this case though it made me doubt we got the first part correct so we haven't used that Batman card yet. but thanks!

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by koolkat67 View Post
    The Red Dragon card makes sense because the cost reduces by a certain amount. But Bruce Wayne gives a new price of the Basic Action Card costs 1 so there is no possibility to go below 1 so it seems strange to have it printed.
    For people who like to squeeze every inch out of text possible (i.e. most CCG players ), I can see why it needs clarifying. Imagine this:

    "I pay a bolt, so the next action die I purchase costs 2 less. I then field Batman, which changes the purchase cost of this die to 1. Since the cost is now 1, and the next die I purchase costs 2 less than it would otherwise, that means this basic action die now costs -1."

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Another way it could happen is with Blue-Eyes global:

    I field a Sidekick, then pay a bolt to sacrifice the Sidekick, using Blue-Eyes Global, making the next die I purchase cost 2 energy less.

    Then I field Batman and purchase a Basic Action for 1, minus 2 from Blue-Eyes, for a cost of -1.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •