Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Article: June 23-25 Rules Forum Update

  1. #1

  2. #2
    "For what it seems, the word “when” refers to the instance that something happens. The means it is a reaction based ability. You can only react to something once, unless otherwise stated."

    How does that work with multiple Black Canary dice, though?

  3. #3
    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5903
    Use an action die means that you activate the action as per the corresponding card. Pretty straight forward.
    It's actually a little more specific than that:

    To “use a basic action die” means to use that basic action die’s ability after rolling an action (i.e., non-energy) face on the die.
    Which means that Doctor Strange: Master of the Mystic Arts is not triggered by Beholder: Master Aberration.





    Or maybe it is, but this makes me wonder.

  4. #4
    Quote: " If I bring Fireball, they have to use it too, triggering the Imprisoned to end. Excellent."

    wouldn't the Beholder'er just use fireball first?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by SarkhanMad View Post
    Quote: " If I bring Fireball, they have to use it too, triggering the Imprisoned to end. Excellent."

    wouldn't the Beholder'er just use fireball first?
    Yea... but what happens the next time Beholder attacks? This means your opponent can't just keep triggering Imprisoned after Imprisoned without freeing everything in between.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Randy View Post
    Yea... but what happens the next time Beholder attacks? This means your opponent can't just keep triggering Imprisoned after Imprisoned without freeing everything in between.
    I would assume each time they would use Fireball first then Imprisoned, so while they would release them, they would then immediately re-Imprison them. No?

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by pk2317 View Post
    I would assume each time they would use Fireball first then Imprisoned, so while they would release them, they would then immediately re-Imprison them. No?
    I think the beholder ability(using all 4) has to resolve completely, before the triggered release would happen.

    so do you then have to keep separate the ones imprisoned this turn?

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by digitallimit View Post
    You'll notice in the Master Aberration ruling that Master Aberration triggers Angel and Flash, so it stands to reason that it triggers Strange, too.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by SarkhanMad View Post
    I think the beholder ability(using all 4) has to resolve completely, before the triggered release would happen.

    so do you then have to keep separate the ones imprisoned this turn?
    Not quite. They all have to be activated, but as per every case of simultaneous occurrences, the active player chooses the order of resolution. As such, they could choose Fireball, resolve it, which would be damage your opponent. This would free all the imprisoned character. Then go on to Imprison them and use the remaining two actions.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by digitallimit View Post
    Doctor Strange: Master of the Mystic Arts is not triggered by Beholder: Master Aberration.
    Actually, he is. Beholder definitively procs Doctor Strange as per this ruling:
    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=6973

    It explicitly states that Beholder would proc Angel's effect and the wording used in Doctor Strange's effect is the same. As such, Doctor Strange + Beholder = minimum 8 damage to your opponent (12 if you bring Power Bolt and Magic Missile).

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Necromanticer View Post
    Not quite. They all have to be activated, but as per every case of simultaneous occurrences, the active player chooses the order of resolution. As such, they could choose Fireball, resolve it, which would be damage your opponent. This would free all the imprisoned character. Then go on to Imprison them and use the remaining two actions.
    I understand that they are simultaneous and the active player chooses the order, but the release of prisoners is a triggered event. does it not trigger AFTER the beholders ability resolves? my understanding is that you can't pause in the middle of 1 ability to do another. just because beholder does 4 things doesn't change it from being 1 ability.

  12. #12
    if beholders ability was a "this turn" "continuous" , then I agree. but it's not. it says immediately...

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by SarkhanMad View Post
    I understand that they are simultaneous and the active player chooses the order, but the release of prisoners is a triggered event. does it not trigger AFTER the beholders ability resolves? my understanding is that you can't pause in the middle of 1 ability to do another. just because beholder does 4 things doesn't change it from being 1 ability.
    "When" abilities are reactive and trigger the moment their conditions are met. They interrupt the normal order of play. Just as I can pay a to trigger Doomcaliber Knight's global while assigning attackers or Nova would deal damage to my opponent the moment he was hit with a Fireball in the attack step, so too does the Imprisoned release trigger the exact moment that the opposing player takes damage. Even as the active player, you're not allowed to dictate reactive triggers because they are resolved at the exact time of their trigger.

    Think of it this way: I can use the Magic Missile global 3 times on my turn to trigger my level one Hulk - Green Goliath, the first time he takes damage, he will immediately react to that damage and deal 3 damage to my opponent's field. If my opponent has a Hulk - Jade Giant out, it will immediately react to that damage in turn and knock my own Hulk. This is because reactions resolve differently than regular effects. Beholder only states immediately so that you know you trigger it at that moment rather than at the usual time for assigning attacker effects.

  14. #14
    BEWD

    EDIT: huh? What? I have no idea what BEWD h has to do with this conversation... sorry, had just woke up...

    but what about cone of cold?
    can I pause between selecting characters to trigger "when damaged" effects?

    I still feel as if there is some rule about completely resolving effects before moving into others, just can't pinpoint a good example...

    http://www.thereservepool.com/thread...lve+completely
    Last edited by SarkhanMad; 06-27-2015 at 10:08 AM.

  15. #15


    so if I use this to force a character other than beholder to attack, is beholder now NOT the first die assigned to attack...? (I don't think this works, but a fun idea!)

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by SarkhanMad View Post


    so if I use this to force a character other than beholder to attack, is beholder now NOT the first die assigned to attack...? (I don't think this works, but a fun idea!)
    No because the active player still chooses which characters he will assign to attack and in which order, Mr Fantastic just says "one of the ones you choose has to be this guy."

  17. #17
    I find it amusing that my three part Catwoman question only had the first part printed and answered.

  18. #18
    Yeah, I loved that Obelisk card at first sight, but the combo almost seemed too good to be true so I had to ask. Add in Gobblin Attack Force with Green Goliath and you can easily Johnny Swarm into a realtivly fast kill. Toss in Webslinger to speed things along, and Kwonnon for spot reoval and you still have room for some lockdown like RoM or Jinzo.

  19. #19
    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5947
    This is good. We learned that damage from Overcrush is not considered damage from an ability. Overcrush merely affects the way a character deals its damage. Good to know.
    Wait a second, that's not how I read it at all. Overcrush is an ability, they even refer to it as such in their response. What they said was that the damage to the blocking character is not Overcrush damage, therefore Magic Helmet doesn't protect the character from it. The player, however, does take damage from the Overcrush ability, if there is any.

    This is important, because it means that Treant's global should still work.

    Global: Pay Shield. Prevent the next 2 damage that you (the player) take from an ability or action die this turn.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Necromanticer View Post
    Actually, he is. Beholder definitively procs Doctor Strange as per this ruling:
    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=6973

    It explicitly states that Beholder would proc Angel's effect and the wording used in Doctor Strange's effect is the same. As such, Doctor Strange + Beholder = minimum 8 damage to your opponent (12 if you bring Power Bolt and Magic Missile).
    Interesting! Thanks Necro; these rules continue to be hard to nail down.

  21. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by geneinkc View Post
    Wait a second, that's not how I read it at all. Overcrush is an ability, they even refer to it as such in their response. What they said was that the damage to the blocking character is not Overcrush damage, therefore Magic Helmet doesn't protect the character from it. The player, however, does take damage from the Overcrush ability, if there is any.

    This is important, because it means that Treant's global should still work.
    But only specifically in the case where a character with Overcrush is blocked by a character with lower defense than the attacking character's attack.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •