Thread: New Player - Any Tips?

New Player - Any Tips?

Hey all!

I'm new to dice masters and the reserve pool (but what a community you have here!!!!) and am entering my first OP event at the weekend. I know such an incredibly vague solicit isn't the most helpful, but I was just wondering if anyone had any tips?

My store plays cross property constructed, and I'm going in with a complete UXM and a partial AvX collection (no super rares, and only a handful of rares but think complete commons and uncommons).

Any advice you can give a first timer would be great, either on what I should look to bring, any in game tactics or any thing I should try to keep an eye on on my opponents' sides of the table.

Thanks in advance!!!!

Hmm...

With only UXM and partial AvX you're at a significant disadvantage, so, I would recommend not worrying too much about being competitive and go in looking to learn.

Tell your opponents that you're new to the game. The majority of players are more than willing to help a newbie out, and if your opponents use any cards you don't recognise take the time to read them carefully, particularly any globals they may have, and their basic actions.

If you haven't already, take some time to practice the turn structure, knowing when to pass priority, and figure out when the best time to use the Professor X global is, so you can at least keep the game flowing nicely.

Most importantly, have fun!

And, good luck.

Also, bring your whole collection to trade any extras you have. Even snagging some DnD commons can give a huge boost in competitive level. Get yourself a human paladin and your Wolverine FWTen becomes that much larger of a threat.

Thanks for that!

Yeah I know I'm nowhere near competitive by limiting myself to marvel. I already planned on taking my spares to trade as I have a healthy amount of spares from the first two marvel sets including rares and super rares although ideally I'd be looking to fill my avx holes before picking up other sets .