Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Lord of D. Ring

  1. #1

    Lord of D. Ring

    As we're all familiar:
    Lord of D.: Dragon Protector
    While this monster is active, it cannot be the target of opposing action dice or abilities.
    Your monsters with "Dragon" in the name cannot be the target of opposing action dice or abilities.

    Ring of Magnetism: Action Attraction
    Continuous. Play on a monster. Your opponent's action dice and abilities can only target that monster.

    WIZKIDS RULES FORUM on Lord of D.
    Cards that require you to make a set number of choices, or cards that specifically use the word target do not work on Lord of D. Imprisoned, and Force Beam are two examples of Basic Action Dice that work on Lord of D.

    WIZKIDS RULES FORUM on Lord of D. Lord of D. Ring Combo
    Effect A: Your opponent can't target this monster.

    Effect B: Your opponent can only target this monster.

    This can't and this can are not at odds with one another. Someone staring down a Lord of D. equipped with Ring of Magnetism would check for the ability to target a character (with Swords of Revealing Light for example). Effect A would stop you from choosing Lord of D. Effect B would stop you from choosing one of the player's other monsters. The end result is no legal targets.
    1. Does Lord of D. Ring force abilities that would target a player to target Lord of D instead? For example:,

    Firestorm: Jason and Ronnie: While active, when you field a character (including Firestorm), deal 2 damage to target character or player.

    Human Torch: Johnny Storm
    : While Human Torch is active, each time you field a character, Human Torch deals 1 damage to your opponent and one to a target character (not 1 damage per Human Torch die).

    Cheetah: Cursed Archaeologist: When Cheetah attacks, she deals 1 damage to the defending player.

    2. Does Lord of D. Ring prevent an opponent from using PXG?
    Last edited by Crestfallen; 07-29-2015 at 09:07 PM.

  2. #2
    I would say Lord of D Ring would shut down Firestorm and Human Torch, since they can target characters (therefore must target Lord of D). I do not think it would work on Cheetah since she does not make a choice.

    PXG also, I would say, does not "target" as you do not really have a choice as to who/what you are moving.

  3. #3
    If a character die is a legal target for an ability, it would fizzle. If only the opponent can be targeted then you're good.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave View Post
    If a character die is a legal target for an ability, it would fizzle. If only the opponent can be targeted then you're good.
    So, since PXG requires you to make a set number of choices (1-2), you can't use it if your opponent has Lord of D Ring?

    Would Human Torch still deal the 1 damage to the opponent but the 1 to a character fizzles?

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Always ask the question "does this target a character?" If the answer is yes, than Lord of D ring fizzes it out. Otherwise it is good.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by IsaacBV View Post
    Always ask the question "does this target a character?" If the answer is yes, than Lord of D ring fizzes it out. Otherwise it is good.
    Certainly, but does PXG meet the definition of targeting a character?

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Crestfallen View Post
    Certainly, but does PXG meet the definition of targeting a character?
    PXG affects Sidekick dice, not Character dice.

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpion0x17 View Post
    I think this answers the PXG question:

    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...&t=4121&p=9782
    Nice find.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave View Post
    PXG doesn't effect anything that's active.
    PXG may be exempt from the effects of Lord of D Ring but I'm not certain it's because the Sidekicks are inactive. Is targeting limited only to dice that are active? Nothing about Wizkids' ruling seems to make that distinction.

    Human Torch: Matchstick: While Human Torch is active, each time you field a character, you may roll one Human Torch from your used pile (not one that paid to field that die). If you roll a character side, place it in your reserve pool; otherwise place it in your used pile.

    Ghost Rider: Brimstone Biker: When fielded, select a die from your used pile and place it into your prep area (you cannot select a die that paid to field this die).

    Iron Man: Phoenix Buster: Each time Iron Man takes damage, you may move 1 Sidekick from your used pile to your prep area.
    Would I still be able to perform these effects if my opponent had Lord of D Ring active?

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Crestfallen View Post
    As we're all familiar:


    1. Does Lord of D. Ring force abilities that would target a player to target Lord of D instead? For example:,

    Firestorm: Jason and Ronnie: While active, when you field a character (including Firestorm), deal 2 damage to target character or player.

    Human Torch: Johnny Storm
    : While Human Torch is active, each time you field a character, Human Torch deals 1 damage to your opponent and one to a target character (not 1 damage per Human Torch die).

    Cheetah: Cursed Archaeologist: When Cheetah attacks, she deals 1 damage to the defending player.

    2. Does Lord of D. Ring prevent an opponent from using PXG?

    1A) Firestorm: Jason and Ronnie's ability will have no effect due to the fact the ability reads deal 2 damage to target character or player. The target character and the or are important here.
    1B) Human Torch: Johnny Storm's ability does as much as it can. Human Torch will deal the 1 damage to your opponent and the damage to target character will fail. The 'and' is important to why this is so.
    1C) Cheetah: Cursed Archaeologist ability is not effected.

    2) PX's Global is not effected.

  13. #13
    PXG does not, in any way, target a Character or a Character Die. It moves Sidekick Dice from the Used Pile to the Prep.

  14. #14

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Barbain View Post
    You'll be able to do all of the abilities above.
    Why? Wizkids says that Lord of D Ring affects abilities that "require you to make a set number of choices." How do these particular abilities not meet that criteria?

  16. #16
    You can only "target" dice that are in the field.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by Crestfallen View Post
    Why? Wizkids says that Lord of D Ring affects abilities that "require you to make a set number of choices." How do these particular abilities not meet that criteria?
    How about you ask yourself what would be the implications and ramifications to the game of Dice Masters as a whole should all choices of a set number truly equal targeting in the manner of the Lord of D Ring combo?

  18. #18
    Would you not be able to accomplish the same thing by playing 2 Rings on 2 different characters? Unless the action lets you target twice, the effect would fizzle, right?


  19. #19

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Barbain View Post
    How about you ask yourself what would be the implications and ramifications to the game of Dice Masters as a whole should all choices of a set number truly equal targeting in the manner of the Lord of D Ring combo?
    Whatever I conclude about the implications of defining "target" doesn't necessarily reveal Wizkids' intent or how the game should be played. Assertions without rationale or precedent don't help in understanding and interpreting rules/rulings. It's similar to giving someone an answer to a complex math equation without providing the formula used to derive the answer. Maybe it's the correct answer to that particular equation but it doesn't enable one to solve similar problems.

  21. #21
    As scorpion mentioned, you can generally only target something that is in the field.

    AoU rulebook, page 20, under Fundamental Rules:

    Unless otherwise stated, game effects can only target character dice that are in the field.
    While there is a degree of semantics involved, and since they haven't explicitly stated one way or the other to the best of my knowledge, abilities that make a selection of something that is not in the field are not considered targeting, such as:



    The way that Polymorph works with Storm's redirect global helps inform this, too. Storm can only redirect the target in the field, not what is going to be brought in from the used pile (which implies that the thing in the used pile is not actually a target of the ability). You can change the target of the die being swapped out to a different character in your opponent's field, or to a character in your field, but once the fielded character is targeted, the Polymorph controller makes a selection of a die that is in used to complete the ability.

  22. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by alleyviper View Post
    As scorpion mentioned, you can generally only target something that is in the field.
    This is helpful. As provided by @Scorpion0x17 , the ruling on BAC Monster Reborn is that it does not target so it can't be affected by Ring of Magnetism. It's logical to conclude that PXG is the same.

    The rule you cite does allow for exceptions to targeting being restricted to active characters.

    Regardless of whether or not dice in the Used Pile are considered to be targeted in any situation, my understanding is that Lord of D Ring prevents Polymorph because an active character is part of the swap. Is this fair?

  23. #23
    Right. If Lord/Ring is active, using Polymorph would try and swap Lord out, Lord can't be targeted, and it fizzles. But the only part of the Polymorph ability that does any targeting is the portion that chooses something in the field.

  24. #24
    Would Lord of D effect Cerebro Supercomputer or Professor X Charles Francis Xavier in any way, I don't think it would but want to know what other people think.

  25. #25
    Cerebro is placed on a character card, it doesn't target anything, so Lord doesn't affect it at all.

    Not sure what kind of interaction you were thinking Lord has with CFX but he doesn't affect it in any way either.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •