Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Hulk Vs Fireball

  1. #1

    Hulk Vs Fireball



    Ok, I launch a Fireball while I have hulk of the table. How much damage do I take, my creatures take, my opponent take and his creatures take? Also, Is that 1 damage thing global, or can I only do that when I use the fireball?

    If I understand it correctly, assuming I don't roll the 2 stars, My creatures and I only take 2 damage each and my opponent and his creatures will take 6. (2 from fireball, 2 from hulk being damaged and another 2 from hulk when I am damaged) I am also thinking the extra damage is part of the text and there fore not global and I use it when I use the fireball.

  2. #2
    Hulk would not trigger twice.

    If a single source deals damage to both Hulk and his controller simultaneously that results in Hulk only triggering the once.

    And the extra "...spend to deal 1 damage..." text is indeed not a global.
    Last edited by Scorpion0x17; 07-31-2015 at 04:54 PM.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpion0x17 View Post
    Hulk would not trigger twice.

    If a single source deals damage to both Hulk and his controller simultaneously that results in Hulk only triggering the once.

    And the extra "...spend to deal 1 damage..." text is indeed but a global.
    It is a global?

    Also, what if Hulk and I tske damage from 2 different sources, such as 2 different attacking creatures?

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Critenstein View Post
    Also, Is that 1 damage thing global, or can I only do that when I use the fireball?
    Not a global. Globals have Red text, and that ability is clearly worded to be used in conjunction with the rest of the card's ability text.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Critenstein View Post
    It is a global?
    Sorry. Auto-correct error that I didn't spot.

    It is indeed NOT a global.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Critenstein View Post
    Also, what if Hulk and I tske damage from 2 different sources, such as 2 different attacking creatures?
    There is some debate over this.

    Some say that because combat damage is dealt simultaneously, it is considered to be a single source.

    Others say that that it is clearly multiple sources and should be considered as such.

    Unless I've missed/forgotten a ruling, WizKids have yet to clear this up.

    Personally, I would treat damage from two attacking characters as two separate and distinct sources.

  7. #7
    It's simultaneous. Its from one die itself. Even the name is called Fireball meaning once source, with one fire jet stream. But its multiple times when spending a bolt pinging Hulk.

  8. #8
    In Addition. If it would be 2 Sources, the Active player, so he is the agressor for it, choses which effect of what card gets first.

    Sure there are Ping Pong Ball- Effects like Firestorm Matter Master, Nova Human Rocket, White Queen Super Rare,...

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpion0x17 View Post
    There is some debate over this.

    Some say that because combat damage is dealt simultaneously, it is considered to be a single source.

    Others say that that it is clearly multiple sources and should be considered as such.

    Unless I've missed/forgotten a ruling, WizKids have yet to clear this up.

    Personally, I would treat damage from two attacking characters as two separate and distinct sources.
    Two attacking characters are considered separate sources per this ruling:

    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5936

    When a card’s ability is triggered multiple times by the same, simultaneous game effect, the card’s ability only triggers once. Here, there is a single game effect (the attacking Martian Manhunter’s attack damage) which resolves simultaneously. As a result, a card ability triggered by that game effect (Hulk) only triggers once. In your example, Hulk would only deal 3 damage to opposing characters.

    Some people have been confused about what constitutes multiple game effects. A second copy of Martian Manhunter, dealing damage directly to the player, would be an additional game effect. Emphasis mine

  10. #10
    And here is the "Whenever" for Hulk and the Player.... back to the Paper for Thanos.... Really i never considered that an Unblocked and a blocked character trigger him 2 Twice. But ok... .

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by pk2317 View Post
    Two attacking characters are considered separate sources per this ruling:

    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5936
    AH! Thank you! I had a niggling feeling in the back of my mind that I was forgetting a recent ruling, and that was it!

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpion0x17 View Post
    Sorry. Auto-correct error that I didn't spot.

    It is indeed NOT a global.
    Happens to the best of us.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpion0x17 View Post
    Sorry. Auto-correct error that I didn't spot.

    It is indeed NOT a global.
    Happens to the best of us.

  14. #14
    What about if fireball is rolled on the double burst side? The way that I read it, the fireball does 2 damage to everything, then subsequently does an additional 1 damage to everything. I would think that if the intent was for the fireball to deal 3 damage, the wording would be "** Instead, fireball deals 3 damage to...", or "** Increase that damage by 1", or something like that. When it says "deal 1 additional damage", I read that as a second, smaller blast. So, two questions - 1) am I right in that a double-burst fireball deals 2 damage then 1 damage, and 2) would this trigger hulk twice?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •