Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wind Rider ability vs The First Avenger

  1. #1

    Wind Rider ability vs The First Avenger

    Scenario:

    Player A has Capt. America - The First Avenger at lvl3 (w/ burst) and 2 sidekicks.
    Player B fields Wind Rider and re-rolls the 2 sidekicks, both are now energy.


    Does Capt. America gain 1 life for each sidekick turned energy limiting the overall damage to Player A to 2?

    OR

    Wind Rider's ability resolves as 4 damage, so now Capt. America can now only gain 1 life and the overall damage dealt to Player A is 3?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain America
    While active, whenever you take non-combat damage, spin this character up one level.

    * Also gain 1 life.
    Quote Originally Posted by Storm
    When fielded, reroll up to 2 opposing characters. Each die that does not roll a character goes to your opponent's used pile. Storm deals 2 damage to your opponent for each die moved.
    I would say that it is one instance of non-combat damage, dealing 4 damage. Captain America's ability would process once, attempting to spin up (unsuccessfully, since he's already at level 3), and his burst ability would trigger once. So, 4 damage + 1 life = net 3 damage (unless you were only at 4 life, in which case you'd be dead before the life gain happened).

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Very similar situation, but I think the question is more about Storm's ability than Captain America's. Does Storm's ability result in two separate instances of 2 damage each, or one instance of 4 damage?

    My interpretation is one instance of 4 damage.

  5. #5
    Don't have the link handy but there is a Wind Rider/Human Paladin ruling that says you can spend one shield on Pally's global to reduce 4 Wind Rider damage to 1, which I think pretty clearly informs that she if she deals 4 damage it's one instance of triggering Cap (or Hulk, or whomever) and not two.

  6. #6
    2015 Canadian and 2016 US National Champion
    360

    Location
    Akron, OH
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by alleyviper View Post
    Don't have the link handy but there is a Wind Rider/Human Paladin ruling that says you can spend one shield on Pally's global to reduce 4 Wind Rider damage to 1, which I think pretty clearly informs that she if she deals 4 damage it's one instance of triggering Cap (or Hulk, or whomever) and not two.
    I think it's this one, and I'd agree completely.

    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...72c3e65#p11605

  7. #7
    Thanks for the replies! I ran into this situation a few days ago. I was 90% sure wind rider would be resolved as a solid 4 damage, but some still speculated that it was 2 instances of 2 damage. Thanks again guys!

  8. #8
    Yep, completely agree with all the above.

    Wind-Rider deals 0, 2, or 4 damage, as a single effect, in my opinion.

    Likewise for Apocalypse Earth-295.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •