Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: Article: TRP Podcast 65: War of Light Favorites

  1. #1

  2. #2
    On Wonder Woman, the shields aren't wasted if they redirect anything. Even if they don't move, they were used for the effect. If it helps, think of using them to redirect combat damage as using a global to redirect it. That said, I'm not sure how I feel about the card. No, it doesn't help you actively win, but every collectible game's had good cards that do nothing to actively help you win. The question is efficiency, and I'm really not sure if a 5 purchase cost that redirects 1 from each source for a shield is enough to justify using the card.

  3. #3
    This Fatality is with Iceman Too Cool for Words, a mini Gobby for 1 Bolt energy. I see her also as another way to deal early damage as Cheetah and Gobby. Sure the SRs are still better i think just to buy them and field or attack with Gobby and Tsarina, but they are SRs and the day i will get GObby and Tsarina is, when i am old, very old!

  4. #4
    Wait a minute... What happened to Guy Gardner - Blinding Rage? He didn't make top of WoL? What madness is this!?

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Ressless View Post
    This Fatality is with Iceman Too Cool for Words, a mini Gobby for 1 Bolt energy. I see her also as another way to deal early damage as Cheetah and Gobby. Sure the SRs are still better i think just to buy them and field or attack with Gobby and Tsarina, but they are SRs and the day i will get GObby and Tsarina is, when i am old, very old!
    there's nothing MINI abut her Gobbiness. With one bolt she does a reliable 3 damage, more than one could say for a gobby. With one Ant-man fist, she gets a more reliable attack stat than Gobby, and her TFC and purchase cost are exactly the same. Heck she's even a Villain just like he is.

  7. #7
    Re: Guy Gardner-Heated

    Can you use Infiltrate BAC to give another character the Black Lantern affiliation, or are the lantern colors/corps not the same as team affiliations like Avengers or Villains?

  8. #8
    With Lyssa Drak could you name sidekick as the character? It pertains to fielding a character and once rolled on the character side they would count if fielded right?

  9. #9
    Sidekicks don't have cards, thus don't have names, thus can't be named.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Razorback View Post
    Re: Guy Gardner-Heated

    Can you use Infiltrate BAC to give another character the Black Lantern affiliation, or are the lantern colors/corps not the same as team affiliations like Avengers or Villains?
    Lantern affiliations ARE affiliations, and can be given by Infiltrate.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
    Sidekicks don't have cards, thus don't have names, thus can't be named.
    There is an interesting argument to be made here. At the time of the naming one could say that they are sidekick dice per the third die type ruling, but at the time the effect requires payment they are characters per the same ruling. I think the deadman ruling takes the card out of the equation, but here's a thought. I have Lyssa fielded and my opponent has Johnny Storm and a sidekick fielded. That sidekick being a character in the field means that it exists in a character state. Can I now name sidekick as a character and have both the naming and effect timing work together for logic checks on the ability?

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Basementcuts View Post
    There is an interesting argument to be made here. At the time of the naming one could say that they are sidekick dice per the third die type ruling, but at the time the effect requires payment they are characters per the same ruling. I think the deadman ruling takes the card out of the equation, but here's a thought. I have Lyssa fielded and my opponent has Johnny Storm and a sidekick fielded. That sidekick being a character in the field means that it exists in a character state. Can I now name sidekick as a character and have both the naming and effect timing work together for logic checks on the ability?
    There are multiple cards and ruling stating that you can't "name" sidekicks. Only Character dice have names. Not sidekick dice that are characters, but dice that are character dice.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
    There are multiple cards and ruling stating that you can't "name" sidekicks. Only Character dice have names. Not sidekick dice that are characters, but dice that are character dice.
    I am searching the forum first on name from the ability then on sidekicks and finding nothing that suggests a ruling on naming character dice for an effect of this nature. Naming didn't take place till later than AVX so I assume it's not in the FAQ. I don't disagree with you but submitted a forum question anyways.

  14. #14
    In a ruling for Constantine: Hellblazer, WizKids mentions that you cannot name Sidekick for his ability.

    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5359

    As a sidenote, your opponent may not name Sidekick for Constantine.

    -The Dice Masters Rules Team

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by pishposh View Post
    In a ruling for Constantine: Hellblazer, WizKids mentions that you cannot name Sidekick for his ability.

    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...hp?f=10&t=5359
    Perfect! Thanks for the link. On a side note, very sad that my search of the forums didn't return this result since both keywords I used are right there "name" and "sidekick". WTh? Lol

  16. #16
    I love this game so much. A brilliant super rare become nullified by a 4 cost common starter card I feel like you wouldn't see that in a lot of other games. Captain america the first avenger is perfect counter for SR lantern construct. Not saying I'm not gonna run that card but I am gonna say cap probably will become staple on most teams due to as dave said "taxing to do just about everything in the game"

    Nevermind just listened to it again pay life. What a world we live in where paying taking dmg are incredibly relevant

  17. #17
    I'm only halfway thru the internet radio program, but I believe Dave DID say Starfire.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Razorback View Post
    Re: Guy Gardner-Heated

    Can you use Infiltrate BAC to give another character the Black Lantern affiliation, or are the lantern colors/corps not the same as team affiliations like Avengers or Villains?
    Based on the ruling of Phoenix force, I would wager yes. However, I have a hard time thining it would be useful. Guy would be a 9/9 max, but +3D on a character would likely only get you one or two damage if overcrush was involved.

    He would be a very effective beatstick for large blockers though. Especially if a force block global was to be used.

    Just my opinion of course.

  19. #19
    Is it me or getting the words bigger and bigger. The less there is to say in text form, the more is speak form hurray! I cant wait for it now. I bought yesterday the WOL Comics and still thinking which i should get too. I want my Red Lanterns slaughter all with the help of Love Star Sapphires!

  20. #20
    So, with the Wonder Girl that was discussed on the episode by Shadowmeld: Can you use the BEWD Global on her, then redirect it to an opponent's character? For a 1 Bolt KO?

  21. #21
    Omg @OddballNarwhal that is exactly how it reads. I am loving this set.

  22. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Knight View Post
    Omg @OddballNarwhal that is exactly how it reads. I am loving this set.
    Then again... I'm not sure this would work this way, since the BEWD Global seems to target the player and not a character. It's a fun thought though.

  23. #23
    @OddballNarwhal & @Green Knight

    Wondergirl cannot redirect the BEWD global knockout.

    This is because BEWD does not target a character for the knockout. The knockout is part of the cost and costs cannot target, only effects can. If BEWD did target it would be much worse since Lord of D. Ring would make it unable to be used by your opponent.

  24. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by Necromanticer View Post
    @OddballNarwhal & @Green Knight

    Wondergirl cannot redirect the BEWD global knockout.

    This is because BEWD does not target a character for the knockout. The knockout is part of the cost and costs cannot target, only effects can. If BEWD did target it would be much worse since Lord of D. Ring would make it unable to be used by your opponent.
    Ok... fine. But Ant-Man swaps?

    Ant-Man swaps.

  25. #25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •