Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dracolich - Paragon Undead Dragon

  1. #1

    Dracolich - Paragon Undead Dragon

    I'm reading this card because I created a team on it. I need to make sure I'm getting its ruling. I was thinking over how this effect occurs while at work forming the team. I'm most likely wrong but what I interpret is (step by step) I roll an action. I get the character face, I deal 1 damage. Another instance, I roll the action and get energy and leave it as energy, I do 1 damage.(most likely completely wrong)

    Completely confused because of this ruling with Manticore - Paragon beast

    "With Manticore Paragon Beast, if you roll a non double bolt, and then reroll into a double bolt will the 2 damage still apply? Or do you need to roll the double bolt on the 1st roll of the dice?"

    The DM's response "In this case, whenever you roll the double Bolt satisfies the Manticore's effect."

    In this case what? "if you roll a non double bolt" meaning one bolt or a character face? I thought it was roll a double bolt the first time to activate the damage.

    http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/vie...dbed4d0#p11601

  2. #2
    Every time an action die is rolled, for any reason, no matter what face comes up, it deals damage.

    Anytime an action die is re-rolled, it will not deal damage.

  3. #3
    My understand is your opponent takes 1 damage when you roll the action face on an action die and then do not reroll that die.

    So:

    Roll action face, do not reroll = 1 damage.
    Roll action face, reroll to energy face = no damage.
    Roll action face, reroll to action face = 1 damage.
    Roll energy face, do not reroll = no damage.
    Roll energy face, reroll to energy face = no damage.
    Roll energy face, reroll to action face = 1 damage.

    Manticore works the same way, except swap "action face" for "double bolt", and "energy face" for "non-double bolt".


    Man, scratch that!

    Shows how long it is since I played my Dracolich team!

    Manticore works as I describe, above.

    Dracholich doesn't.

    @pk2317 is correct with regard to Dracolich.

  4. #4
    So weird. I was just talking to other TRP staff guys about this same thing. Is there a chance that the "but not reroll" is only regarding to the Roll and Reroll step? Stranger things have been ruled.

    Still, using a bunch of gear, and adding it to your Roll with Zemo could be great.

  5. #5
    I think the intent was so that if you draw and roll an Action die, and then re-roll it, you would only deal the damage once.

    However, the way that it's worded, it only counts on "initial" rolls, and not re-rolls. So if you drew a die with Gearing Up, for example, it would count. If you used Parallax's Global, it wouldn't.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpion0x17 View Post
    My understand is your opponent takes 1 damage when you roll the action face on an action die and then do not reroll that die.

    So:

    Roll action face, do not reroll = 1 damage.
    Roll action face, reroll to energy face = no damage.
    Roll action face, reroll to action face = 1 damage.
    Roll energy face, do not reroll = no damage.
    Roll energy face, reroll to energy face = no damage.
    Roll energy face, reroll to action face = 1 damage.

    Manticore works the same way, except swap "action face" for "double bolt", and "energy face" for "non-double bolt".


    Man, scratch that!

    Shows how long it is since I played my Dracolich team!

    Manticore works as I describe, above.

    Dracholich doesn't.

    @pk2317 is correct with regard to Dracolich.
    When it says non-double bolt I keep thinking character face/one bolt face.

  7. #7
    For Manticore, the triggering effect is rolling a specific die face ( ).

    For Dracolich, the triggering effect is rolling a specific type of die.

  8. #8
    Roll double bolt, do not reroll = 2 damage.
    Roll double bolt, reroll to non-double bolt = no damage.
    Roll double bolt, reroll to double bolt = 2 damage.
    Roll non double bolt, do not reroll = no damage.
    Roll non-double bolt, reroll to non-double bolt = no damage.
    Roll non-double bolt, reroll to double bolt = 2 damage.
    Last edited by VastSpartan; 09-15-2015 at 04:31 PM.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by VastSpartan View Post
    Roll double bolt, do not reroll = 2 damage.
    Roll double bolt, reroll to non-double bolt = no damage.
    Roll double bolt, reroll to double bolt = 2 damage.
    Roll non double bolt, do not reroll = no damage.
    Roll non-double bolt, reroll to non-double bolt = no damage.
    Roll non-double bolt, reroll to double bolt = 1 damage.
    Manticore - Paragon Beast: While active, whenever you roll two lightning bolts on a die and do not reroll the result, deal 2 damage to a character or player.
    All your examples are correct except the last one - it would be 2 damage (his ability is either 2 or none).

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by pk2317 View Post
    All your examples are correct except the last one - it would be 2 damage (his ability is either 2 or none).
    I copy pasted and just re-worded it.

    Fixed.

    As for Dracolich its anytime regardless of what rolls.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •