Thread: Are you allowed to look at opposing characters special abilities?

Are you allowed to look at opposing characters special abilities?

Hi! I'm new to dicemasters and have a question that may seem obvious, yet the answer isn't in the rule book. It is: can your opponent look at your character cards and their special abilities and vice versa?

I'm a seasoned magic and other CCG player so I naturally default to this. My friend that I play this game with tho wants to play by the rules.

Do you keep your characters abilities hidden until combat happens and surprise your opponent? Or are u able to view the character cards preemptively before you attack or block?

Since it's not in the rule book, can you all just chime on how you play? I really wanna play again!!

Thanks!!

Justice League rule book page 25

In official play, reveal all the cards and dice you chose at the same time, simultaneously as your opponent.

There is no hidden information in Dice Masters. All details can be visual seen, or deduced, by both players at all times. In Dice Masters, the only things you don't know are you opponents plan and how the dice are going to roll.

Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
    There is no hidden information in Dice Masters. All details can be visual seen, or deduced, by both players at all times. In Dice Masters, the only things you don't know are you opponents plan and how the dice are going to roll.
    This is something that really opens up the possibilities for play testing ahead of time. I think it's great that two friends can sit down with two completely different (or similar) teams and "table talk" on strategies and possibilites of the current or future turns. Although nothing can really be discussed until the dice are rolled and rerolled. Keep rolling UberGuber, we're glad to have ya!

Little off topic:

Here is a variant to try to add some mystique (pardon the pun) to your game: