Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Electro - Massive Discharge

  1. #1

    Electro - Massive Discharge

    Electro - Massive Discharge reads:

    If another character you control is KO'd during the attack step, you may spend any number of "Bolts". For each that you do, deal 1 damage to target opposing character.

    Does electro have to be active to use this effect? It does not say "while active"

  2. #2
    It doesn't have to say 'while active' as all character abilities require an active character to be used unless specified (of which there are only 2 so far: Curse of Dragon: Skeletal Structure being the only character that specifies otherwise, and Thanos being ruled to).

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by IgwanaRob View Post
    It doesn't have to say 'while active' as all character abilities require an active character to be used unless specified (of which there are only 2 so far: Curse of Dragon: Skeletal Structure being the only character that specifies otherwise, and Thanos being ruled to).
    There is also some question about Maria Hill: Trained Agent (The first time you draw Maria Hill in a turn, you may roll a different [Shield] character from your Used Pile and place it in your Reserve Pool.) It's been submitted to WizKids, but no answer yet.

  4. #4
    ASM Rulebook, page 20:

    "Usually Character Dice need to be fielded or in the Field Zone to use their game text."

    This is in section about free to field characters, but I think it's not unreasonable to extend this more generally.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Joepancreas View Post
    There is also some question about Maria Hill: Trained Agent (The first time you draw Maria Hill in a turn, you may roll a different [Shield] character from your Used Pile and place it in your Reserve Pool.) It's been submitted to WizKids, but no answer yet.
    It doesn't need to be answered, it's the same thing as her common ruling. Nothing about her ability specifies or suggests that it would work contrary to the well established rule.

  6. #6

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Jwannabe View Post
    I'm not sure what you mean by this. You do what the card says. Why over complicate it.

    If you draw Maria do X.

    You're suggesting there has to be another one in the field?
    It's not complicated at all. All character abilities work the same - If you want to use a character's ability, then that character needs to be active. No fielded character die, no ability to trigger.

  9. #9

  10. #10
    The default is for abilities to only work when the character is in the field. So, that is the starting point. Any unclear effects should then be clarified via the WizKids Rules Forum. But until done so, we should assume the default.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •