Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Felicia Hard(l)y makes sense.

  1. #1

    Felicia Hard(l)y makes sense.

    Sorry for the terrible pun. But how on earth does Black Cat - Felicia Hardy resolve?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MDM4_02Common-037-Black-Cat_Felicia-Hardy.png 
Views:	59 
Size:	500.6 KB 
ID:	4032

    We were using her in a game yesterday and got confused a few times about her ability. So questions:

    1. If she knocks out a character is that character still re-rolled? If it is, and rolls an energy, I assume it goes to the reserve pool where the owner can use the energy however they wish.

    2. If the character is knocked out and rolls a character face does that character, A. go back to the field, B. continue to the used pile, as normal, C. Go to the reserve pool where it is unable to be fielded, or D. Does it go back to the field, and get re-KO'd (possibly triggering retaliation or some such effect) because it still holds the damage done to it previously? We played it using choice B.

    3. How does Black Cat interact with the distraction global ability? It says that Black Cats ability takes place after combat damage is resolved but is the re-roll dependent on some form of combat damage being done? Or does it work like Deadpool - Jack, in that once engaged always engaged, therefore the re-roll will happen regardless of whether Black Cat is still in the Attack Zone when combat damage is resolved?

    Other relevant card texts:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1056173.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	253.8 KB 
ID:	4033 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MDM_Starter-252.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	150.7 KB 
ID:	4034

  2. #2
    Questions 1 & 2:
    Black Cat and the dice engaged with her must survive to be rerolled. If Black Cat is KOd, or the engaged die is KOd, no reroll takes place (see rulings below).

    Question 3: Since Black Cat's ability states "characters that blocked", I would assume that any blocker who engaged with Black Cat would be rerolled (if they or Black Cat were not KO'd). Her ability is not dependent on combat damage being inflicted. The phrase "after resolving combat damage" indicates when in the turn sequence you would conduct the reroll. Deadpool is a similar effect, as you noted.

    If Black Cat were Distracted, she would have still have been blocked = reroll blocker(s).

    Relevant rulings and analysis:

    http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb...hp?f=10&t=2169

    Deadpool, AVX #70 (12Feb2015)
    Q: If I attack with Deadpool Jack and nominate a character to have to block him, but Deadpool gets knocked out before the end of combat, is the blocking character still knocked out?
    A: Yes, that character would be. The effect resides on the blocking character, not on Deadpool.

    Per the Rule Book, Tournament Rules section: Once blocked during an attack, a character remains blocked, even if the blocking character gets knocked out somehow. Thus, if Deadpool used his ability on a character die to force them to block, but is subsequently KOd (thus no longer active), the die forced to block would still be KOd at the end of the turn. This is essentially a time delayed effect and is not predicated on Deadpool still being engaged with the blocker.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by archivist View Post
    Questions 1 & 2:
    Black Cat and the dice engaged with her must survive to be rerolled. If Black Cat is KOd, or the engaged die is KOd, no reroll takes place (see rulings below).

    Question 3: Since Black Cat's ability states "characters that blocked", I would assume that any blocker who engaged with Black Cat would be rerolled (if they or Black Cat were not KO'd). Her ability is not dependent on combat damage being inflicted. The phrase "after resolving combat damage" indicates when in the turn sequence you would conduct the reroll. Deadpool is a similar effect, as you noted.

    If Black Cat were Distracted, she would have still have been blocked = reroll blocker(s).

    Relevant rulings and analysis:

    http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb...hp?f=10&t=2169

    Deadpool, AVX #70 (12Feb2015)
    Q: If I attack with Deadpool Jack and nominate a character to have to block him, but Deadpool gets knocked out before the end of combat, is the blocking character still knocked out?
    A: Yes, that character would be. The effect resides on the blocking character, not on Deadpool.

    Per the Rule Book, Tournament Rules section: Once blocked during an attack, a character remains blocked, even if the blocking character gets knocked out somehow. Thus, if Deadpool used his ability on a character die to force them to block, but is subsequently KOd (thus no longer active), the die forced to block would still be KOd at the end of the turn. This is essentially a time delayed effect and is not predicated on Deadpool still being engaged with the blocker.
    Exactly this. This Black Cat was MADE for distraction. She even gives you masks if you miss her. On top of that she's got GREAT stats for costs and can punish your opponent by swinging in or allow her to eliminate anyone she blocks by spending a mask to keep her alive, but still have a 50% chance of eliminating their character (to the used pile effectively, since they become energy).

  4. #4
    Great, this is exactly how I wanted her to work. I just wasn't sure because of Wizkids wording.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowmeld View Post
    Exactly this. This Black Cat was MADE for distraction. She even gives you masks if you miss her. On top of that she's got GREAT stats for costs and can punish your opponent by swinging in or allow her to eliminate anyone she blocks by spending a mask to keep her alive, but still have a 50% chance of eliminating their character (to the used pile effectively, since they become energy).
    Yes! Her starts are great exactly for this. You may actually want to block her as well, as opposed to the 2 cost storm from AvX.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •