Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Lantern Ring: Limited only by Judge rulings...

  1. #1

    Lantern Ring: Limited only by Judge rulings...

    So, my roommate and I were going over Wizkids Rules Forums posts and noticed this:


    General Rulings - 9/30/2015

    Postby dmrulesteam » Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:59 pm
    Hi Dice Masters Fans!

    We've gotten a number of questions about the below and wanted to clarify how some interactions work and the reasons why.

    How does redirecting costs work?
    You cannot redirect costs. Under Fundamental Rules in the rulebook, it states:
    “You cannot avoid paying costs. For example, if the cost of something is spinning a die down one level, and all you have are level 1 characters that can’t be spun down you can’t pay that cost.”
    For example, you couldn’t use Blue Eyes White Dragon: Monstrous Dragon’s Global Ability in conjunction with Wonder Girl: Cassie Sandsmark. KOing your own character for Blue Eyes White Dragon is a cost to you, you cannot avoid paying it. To further clarify this, future rulebooks will include:
    When doing something in isolation would typically be detrimental to the player using it, it is a cost.

    How do Global Abilities that require something else to happen work?
    Cards like War Machine: Combat Comrade and Mera: Queen of Atlantis can only have their Global Abilities used once for each time the effect would apply. So a single Shield character die could attack for 6 damage, go unblocked, and have both Mera and War Machine’s Global Abilities used on it (each once). If two 6A Shield character dice attacked (unblocked) each Global Ability could be used twice. These effects are paid for at the appropriate time, not before.
    The rulebook says the following, which applies here:
    “Players are allowed to use Global Abilities that react to events at the appropriate time (for example, a Global Ability that allows you to redirect damage when one of your characters takes damage).”

    How does ignoring text/abilities work when action dice add abilities to characters and their dice?
    Treat additional abilities from action dice as abilities on those characters. Those abilities can be ignored, prevented, and modified as if they were character abilities. If an effect would give a character die +2A and Overcrush, but that character die’s abilities are being ignored, it couldn’t use Overcrush but would still get +2A. The attack bonus isn’t an ability.
    Future rulebooks will define Ability Damage as follows:
    “Ability Damage: Damage from a character that isn’t combat damage.”
    For example, Magneto: Magnetic Monster ignores Lantern Ring’s effect on character dice with Purchase Cost 3 or lower. For another example, Human Paladin’s Global Ability could reduce the damage from character dice benefitting from Lantern Ring.
    Magneto: Magnetic Monster
    “Zombie - when fielded, KO all non-[Zombie] Magnetos.
    While active, opposing characters with Purchase Cost 3 or lower lose their abilities. Professor X can't be fielded.”
    Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination
    “Continuous: While active, when your characters attack, they deal 1 damage to target player for each energy symbol in your Reserve Pool that matches their type.”
    Human Paladin Global:
    "Global: Pay [1 Shield] . Reduce the damage you take from a character's ability to 1."

    -The Dice Masters Rules Team
    In order to keep this thread easy to process, comments won't be approved by further clarification may be provided in a new post.

    Looking at the Bolded sentence, the rules team has stated that the Lantern Ring can IN FACT deal more than one damage, leading us to believe, and our store judge to agree, that the Lantern Ring works exactly like the card reads now. Hope this helps you guys out some in the future.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    After reading your post this is my unofficial judge ruling. I believe the process to resolve this card correctly goes like this:
    1) while active, your characters are granted the ability to trigger this effect when they attack.
    2) However unlike other multiple when attacks triggers, this is generated by a single while active die. Meaning will only resolve once.
    3) damage is calculated by per die in the reserve pool that matches with atleast one attacker. Example 4 bolt + 1 fist character attack with 2 bolt + 2 fist energy deals 4 damage.
    4) While the ability is generated by the lantern, the source of the damage is collectively from the attacking characters.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Shapeshifter View Post
    After reading your post this is my unofficial judge ruling. I believe the process to resolve this card correctly goes like this:
    1) while active, your characters are granted the ability to trigger this effect when they attack.
    2) However unlike other multiple when attacks triggers, this is generated by a single while active die. Meaning will only resolve once.
    3) damage is calculated by per die in the reserve pool that matches with atleast one attacker. Example 4 bolt + 1 fist character attack with 2 bolt + 2 fist energy deals 4 damage.
    4) While the ability is generated by the lantern, the source of the damage is collectively from the attacking characters.
    I disagree with you here. Since the ring grants the ability to all attackers, it does trigger off each attacking die. Granted, this is the more powerful option, but with so many counters it really isn't a problem.

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by bahamut7 View Post
    I disagree with you here. Since the ring grants the ability to all attackers, it does trigger off each attacking die. Granted, this is the more powerful option, but with so many counters it really isn't a problem.
    Sidenote: It could be read as : Attacking Characters-> Only 1 die of type for that energy.
    But then you need some more words of clarification.
    So i disagree too!

    My proof of evidence is the Lantern Battery Common:
    Continuous: For each energy in your Reserve Pool, prevent 1 damage from each character with that energy type each turn. (For example, with two mask in your Reserve Pool, three unblocked mask character dice with 2 A would deal 0 damage.)
    (Note: THe Lantern Battery is better explained)
    and the fact that you wont get in a WOL Draft or Limited Event not much energy in your Reservepool(except for lategame)to deal so much damage. Probably 4-6 Damage maybe.


    Conclusion: In the Set itself is the lantern ring legit not broken^^ outside well.... Iceman TCFW+Nova ....^^

  7. #7
    I find the English to be almost as clear as it needs to be. When THEY attack deal damage for EACH matching energy symbol. So each attack triggers LR, IMO.

    However! I do see where there can be some misunderstandings. It should say "each attacking die" in stead of "they". In reality we will need to wait for the WKRF to FINALLY make a ruling. I know I've asked for a clarification multiple times already. Please! Flood the Mod with requests to solve this card so we can move forward.

  8. #8
    For another example, Human Paladin’s Global Ability could reduce the damage from character dice benefitting from Lantern Ring.

    Thought the fact that this says "character dice" would mean that individual dice would get the benefit anyway. Like I said, works very similar to the Colossus ability, and since each die can do more than 1 damage, the card works as printed. At least, that's what I'm taking away here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •